Author Topic: Probing your FW security?  (Read 5062 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline polonus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 31627
  • malware fighter
Probing your FW security?
« on: October 01, 2007, 02:50:55 PM »
Hi malware fighters,


Here are some ways to probe your FW: http://www.matousec.com/downloads/windows-personal-firewall-analysis/

Some say that home owners are well off with Normal User rights and the Windows FW, because they do not fully understand the workings of a real FW, an alternative for them could be ZA. Is not it so that so many exploits works in other ways, that the inbuilt Windows FW should be enough? Well that iswhat you hear.

polonus
Cybersecurity is more of an attitude than anything else. Avast Evangelists.

Use NoScript, a limited user account and a virtual machine and be safe(r)!

Offline gdiloren

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 1178
Re: Probing your FW security?
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2007, 10:12:01 PM »
What do you think of Comodo beta 3, Polonus? :D
Avast protects well!!!

Offline polonus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 31627
  • malware fighter
Re: Probing your FW security?
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2007, 08:10:54 PM »
Hi gdiloren,

I have a hardenend version of COMODO running.
With the test your avast is going to howl...

polonus
« Last Edit: October 02, 2007, 08:12:57 PM by polonus »
Cybersecurity is more of an attitude than anything else. Avast Evangelists.

Use NoScript, a limited user account and a virtual machine and be safe(r)!

Offline gdiloren

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 1178
Re: Probing your FW security?
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2007, 09:23:57 PM »
Comodo 3 beta is running fine with Avast Home Edition on Vista Home Premium. Seems the wedding goes fine. No major problems, only minor issues with Defense+ and HPIS!!! :)
Avast protects well!!!

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re: Probing your FW security?
« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2007, 11:20:29 PM »
Comodo 3 beta is running fine with Avast Home Edition on Vista Home Premium. Seems the wedding goes fine. No major problems, only minor issues with Defense+ and HPIS!!! :)
Mine is not working.

Edited due to changes, for good, in Comodo Forum policy and the help from the Moderators there.  ;)
« Last Edit: October 03, 2007, 11:56:37 PM by Tech »
The best things in life are free.

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 41289
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Probing your FW security?
« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2007, 01:06:17 AM »
Quote
1. I've opened a new thread asking for help. They've moved my thread and messed it with tons of bugs reports.
I've gone through the same experience on that forum.
I guess that some Mods think it's great work to shuffle  posts without a good reason. It does seem to make
them feel important.  :(
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re: Probing your FW security?
« Reply #6 on: October 03, 2007, 01:19:12 AM »
I've gone through the same experience on that forum.
Edited:
I understand. But seems that the policy there is changing, Bob.
See here.
« Last Edit: October 04, 2007, 12:01:11 AM by Tech »
The best things in life are free.

Offline 19monty64

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
Re: Probing your FW security?
« Reply #7 on: October 03, 2007, 02:44:08 PM »
I stopped using Comode products because of their forum!!! Half the reason I use Avast is because of the help I know I can get if I need, plus I hear of great softwares from here. An Avast firewall would be the cat's meow!!!  ;D

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re: Probing your FW security?
« Reply #8 on: October 03, 2007, 02:50:43 PM »
Trying again... here.

Edited: I'm receiving help there.
« Last Edit: October 03, 2007, 11:59:59 PM by Tech »
The best things in life are free.

Offline polonus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 31627
  • malware fighter
Re: Probing your FW security?
« Reply #9 on: October 03, 2007, 06:02:06 PM »
Hi friends,

We all have to try to feed back the avast people with all they want to know to be able to come out with their great firewall. Some firewalls can be a very good initiative, like this non-commercial one the Dutch "vuurmuur": http://www.vuurmuur.org/trac/
 This is a good frontend for IPTables, which a lot of people find difficult to implement.

polonus
« Last Edit: October 03, 2007, 06:04:02 PM by polonus »
Cybersecurity is more of an attitude than anything else. Avast Evangelists.

Use NoScript, a limited user account and a virtual machine and be safe(r)!

Offline Marc57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1943
  • KISS Rules The World!!!
    • KISS Army
Re: Probing your FW security?
« Reply #10 on: October 03, 2007, 11:18:54 PM »
Quote
1. I've opened a new thread asking for help. They've moved my thread and messed it with tons of bugs reports.
I've gone through the same experience on that forum.
I guess that some Mods think it's great work to shuffle  posts without a good reason. It does seem to make
them feel important.  :(


Agreed, it's so bad I deleted my account and stopped using their products.  Tech, have you tried Vista firewall control?                         http://www.sphinx-soft.com/Vista/

This turns on outgoing control in Vista's firewall, and in my tests it uses very few resources and makes Vista's firewall easy to control.
« Last Edit: October 03, 2007, 11:30:35 PM by marc57 »
You Wanted the Best You Got the Best the Hottest Band in the World KISS!!!

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re: Probing your FW security?
« Reply #11 on: October 03, 2007, 11:59:04 PM »
Agreed, it's so bad I deleted my account and stopped using their products.
I've edited my posts. I'm receiving help from them and I apologize for the inconvenience of my early posts.

Tech, have you tried Vista firewall control?                         http://www.sphinx-soft.com/Vista/
I tried. Not flexible. Just yes or no. I don't like software that I can't configurate.
Besides, I trust Comodo firewall and will stay with them. At least, until Alwil has one ;D
The best things in life are free.