Author Topic: Avast home 4.7 no longer usable on my old PC running Win98SE  (Read 9735 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Vladimyr

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1640
  • Super(massive black hole) Poster
Re: Avast home 4.7 no longer usable on my old PC running Win98SE
« Reply #15 on: October 22, 2007, 04:39:59 AM »
- Remember that one of the error messages of Win98SE is the blue error screen with an additional small yellow window saying "out of range". Can this be of help ?
Hans

Hi Hans.
Do you have an LCD display? If yes, can you change it for a CRT?
This is most likely not a "blue screen" (well it is a blue screen just not the MS type) but a message from your monitor indicating that it cannot resolve the video output. In general, larger LCD monitors are not able to display a low-res DOS error messages of the type that can pop up in 98SE.

Hope this helps.
There is a way that seems right to a man,
       but in the end it leads to death
.” - Proverbs 16:25

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4143
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: Avast home 4.7 no longer usable on my old PC running Win98SE
« Reply #16 on: October 22, 2007, 06:14:08 AM »
Hi Vladimyr

I remember this with the original 15" monitor. I can't remember if I got it with this 19" lcd.

The 'paq died about a year ago. I couldn't determine if it was mobo, cpu or video card. The original video card was intregated, so sometimes adding a separate video card still won't allow the computer to boot, sometimes it will. If Bios still reads the intregated one, if dead, won't procede to boot.

This is kind of OT, but it may help.

Offline i2hhj

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re: Avast home 4.7 no longer usable on my old PC running Win98SE
« Reply #17 on: October 22, 2007, 06:55:36 PM »
for old man and Tech

ashServer.exe
after the present boot of my pc,
there was a blue a-icon with a red dot and the blue i-icon.
when fixing the cursor over the a-icon,
the message is : 0 provider, 0 activ.
I then called ashServer.exe, this gave a second set of blue icons,
a second i-icon and a secon a-icon.
This second a-icon has no red dot,
when fixing the cusor over this a-icon,
I read : 6 provider, 5 aktiv.
this second a-icon is animated, turning round when loading data.
----- I conclude that avast is working correctly   or ?

McAfee
I had been using Virusscan v4.0.3 for Win98 an Win95 (from package v98i4031.zip) until summer 2006.
old man proposed to make use of McAffees small uninstall programm.
However the instructions given by McAfee on the indicated Web page
refers to scanner versions from 5 upwards,
so I am afraid that it is not advised to apply this uninstall programm
to m installation at present.

Hans

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re: Avast home 4.7 no longer usable on my old PC running Win98SE
« Reply #18 on: October 22, 2007, 08:39:17 PM »
this second a-icon is animated, turning round when loading data.
----- I conclude that avast is working correctly   or ?
Yes, avast seems to be working. Maybe the ashdisp.exe is being loaded to soon and Windows is not refreshing the state correctly. Maybe you could use  Startup Delayer.
This freeware controls the windows startup (Windows 98\Me\2k\XP\Vista) that does not follow a strict order.

The instructions given by McAfee on the indicated Web page refers to scanner versions from 5 upwards,so I am afraid that it is not advised to apply this uninstall programm
to m installation at present.
Your concerns seem correct. I don't think the new uninstaller applies to the old VirusScan.
The best things in life are free.

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4143
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: Avast home 4.7 no longer usable on my old PC running Win98SE
« Reply #19 on: October 22, 2007, 08:53:02 PM »

The instructions given by McAfee on the indicated Web page refers to scanner versions from 5 upwards,so I am afraid that it is not advised to apply this uninstall programm
to m installation at present.
Your concerns seem correct. I don't think the new uninstaller applies to the old VirusScan.

I'm trying to find the ones for vs4. Will post them here if I find them.

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4143
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: Avast home 4.7 no longer usable on my old PC running Win98SE
« Reply #20 on: October 22, 2007, 11:22:10 PM »
Here you go. Just blow the dust of them first.  ;D

Good luck.

http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?id=100597&lc=1033&partner=10005&type=TS

Offline Vladimyr

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1640
  • Super(massive black hole) Poster
Re: Avast home 4.7 no longer usable on my old PC running Win98SE
« Reply #21 on: October 23, 2007, 06:31:04 AM »
CORRECTION!
No problems with 95OSR2 amd 98SE for me....but with 2 provisos.
1. I only have 'Standard Shield' and 'Internet Mail' providers installed.

Just "discovered" I actually have all 6 Avast! Home providers installed & running without any problems on a 98SE machine.
There is a way that seems right to a man,
       but in the end it leads to death
.” - Proverbs 16:25

Offline i2hhj

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re: Avast home 4.7 no longer usable on my old PC running Win98SE
« Reply #22 on: October 23, 2007, 09:29:47 AM »
Vladimyr
how can I disactivate permanently one or more providers ?
Hans

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4143
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: Avast home 4.7 no longer usable on my old PC running Win98SE
« Reply #23 on: October 23, 2007, 09:53:22 AM »
Vladimyr
how can I disactivate permanently one or more providers ?
Hans

Not Vladimyr, but left click the "a" icon, select the provider you want to terminate, click the terminate button, answer yes to persist the change.

Offline Vladimyr

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1640
  • Super(massive black hole) Poster
Re: Avast home 4.7 no longer usable on my old PC running Win98SE
« Reply #24 on: October 23, 2007, 03:30:13 PM »
Vladimyr
how can I disactivate permanently one or more providers ?
Hans
Hi Hans,
I found that persisting termination was not enough with 95OSR2, but it may be fine with 98SE. What I did was a "Change" re-install from "Add or Remove Programs" to leave only the wanted providers. Or you could uninstall and custom re-install.
There is a way that seems right to a man,
       but in the end it leads to death
.” - Proverbs 16:25

Offline i2hhj

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re: Avast home 4.7 no longer usable on my old PC running Win98SE
« Reply #25 on: October 23, 2007, 03:52:39 PM »
McAfee
I downloaded the "Complete Manual Removal of VirusScan 4.0.x" proposed by om,
and followed precisely all instructions.
Result : no remaining McAfee entry was found!
Hans

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4143
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: Avast home 4.7 no longer usable on my old PC running Win98SE
« Reply #26 on: October 23, 2007, 06:10:07 PM »
McAfee
I downloaded the "Complete Manual Removal of VirusScan 4.0.x" proposed by om,
and followed precisely all instructions.
Result : no remaining McAfee entry was found!
Hans

All right, that rules that out,

BTW, I am now using 4.7.1043 with 6/7 providers running.

Offline i2hhj

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re: Avast home 4.7 no longer usable on my old PC running Win98SE
« Reply #27 on: October 23, 2007, 07:36:17 PM »
then I checked the RAM memory and did scandisk including surface test.
The present boot was OK, just see what happens tomorrow.
Hans

Offline i2hhj

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re: Avast home 4.7 no longer usable on my old PC running Win98SE
« Reply #28 on: October 24, 2007, 05:41:13 PM »
"tomorrow"
is today,
again troubles at boot of pc,
see screenshot of taskbar (attached) with 3 a-icons and 3 i-icons,
I called 'ashServ.exe' 2 times using the shortcut on desktop.
   however avast is working

are there too many tasks at startup ?
please see list of startup tasks (attached).
which tasks could be deleted and executed by hand after startup ?

thanks for suggestions
Hans
 

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4143
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: Avast home 4.7 no longer usable on my old PC running Win98SE
« Reply #29 on: October 24, 2007, 08:17:14 PM »
Every little bit counts  ;D

EPSON Status Monitor 3 Environment Check

http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php?letter=E&filter=&count=50&offset=100

Samsung LBP SM, "C:\WINDOWS\Samsung\LaserSMMgr\ssmmgr.exe" /autorun, HKEY_LM\Run

http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php?letter=S&filter=&count=50&offset=1400

Those two are for printer montoring, ie checking ink levels. They can be unchecked. They should be available when starting to print. I've got an Epson and the monitor does show when I'm printing.

I couldn't find these two, maybe someone else knows if that are needed.

TkBellExe, "C:\Programme\Gemeinsame Dateien\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe"  -osboot, HKEY_LM\Run

The two links abve are from the link I posted back on page one. How much free resouces do you have?