Author Topic: "Standard shield provider not found..."  (Read 19790 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tiptop

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
"Standard shield provider not found..."
« on: October 27, 2007, 03:40:36 PM »
I've got a great problem... My Avast cannot open a residental security... I've got a message like that : "Standard shield provider not found".  And avast tell's me that it's closed... What can I do??

Tiptop

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: "Standard shield provider not found..."
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2007, 03:44:03 PM »
We will need more information to be able to help you:
- Which OS are you using? Is it up to date?
- What avast! version and VPS file (virus database) number?
- Which actions have you taken to try solving the problem?
- Do you use a firewall? Which one?
- Do you have any other antivirus installed in your system?
- Any other security programs that could interfere?
- Any useful information into Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Events, specially 'Errors'.
- Did you try to repair your avast installation through the Control Panel?
The best things in life are free.

Offline tiptop

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: "Standard shield provider not found..."
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2007, 03:56:57 PM »
so:):)

OS : Vista, and it is up to date
VPS: 071027-0
I don't have any other anti-vir on my computer.
I've got standard Win Firewall
I tried to update avast but it didn't help...
I think I don't have any errors on my PC... I'm quite sure :)

And current version of my Avast is 4.7.1074

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: "Standard shield provider not found..."
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2007, 04:31:38 PM »
I don't have any other anti-vir on my computer.
Had in the past? Maybe installed OEM?
Can you try to repair your installation?
Go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > avast! antivirus > Remove. Then choose Repair function in the popup window (Repair).
If this does not help, can you uninstall / boot / install / boot again?
The best things in life are free.

Offline tiptop

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: "Standard shield provider not found..."
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2007, 11:50:13 PM »
Thank you:):) Now every thing is all right :)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: "Standard shield provider not found..."
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2007, 12:09:54 AM »
Thank you:):) Now every thing is all right :)
Tiptop, your happiness is my joy.
Sometimes I feel this moments as the only ones which makes me be online 8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline Kit Kat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: "Standard shield provider not found..."
« Reply #6 on: June 24, 2009, 05:15:53 AM »
I've got a great problem... My Avast cannot open a residental security... I've got a message like that : "Standard shield provider not found".  And avast tell's me that it's closed... What can I do??

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: "Standard shield provider not found..."
« Reply #7 on: June 24, 2009, 11:33:42 PM »
I've got a great problem... My Avast cannot open a residental security... I've got a message like that : "Standard shield provider not found".  And avast tell's me that it's closed... What can I do??

I suggest an installation from the scratch:

1. Uninstall avast from Control Panel first.
2. Boot.
3. Download the latest version of Avast Uninstall and use it for complete uninstallation. If, for any reason, you can't run it, try booting in Safe Mode and doing it from there.
4. Boot.
5. Download, save and install the latest avast! version. It will be good to accept the boot time scanning on next boot.
6. Boot.
7. Check and post the results.
The best things in life are free.

Offline kishan vaishnav

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: "Standard shield provider not found..."
« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2010, 10:15:20 PM »
I've got a great problem... My Avast cannot open a residental security... I've got a message like that : "Standard shield provider not found".  And avast tell's me that it's closed... What can I do??

kishan

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: "Standard shield provider not found..."
« Reply #9 on: May 20, 2010, 04:10:03 PM »
I've got a great problem... My Avast cannot open a residental security... I've got a message like that : "Standard shield provider not found".  And avast tell's me that it's closed... What can I do??

kishan
And so? What's the problem you're facing in?
The best things in life are free.