Author Topic: Discs division  (Read 5722 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lcano

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • I'm a llama!
Discs division
« on: March 08, 2004, 01:42:41 PM »
Hello,
In first, please excuse me for my very approximate English ;)

I have 2 machines under Windows 98SE in network with division of discs. When Avast! is configured in level high on the machine whose discs are divided, at the time of assembling the discs on the second machine... the first plants itself systematically!!! :'(
If I regulate Avast! in average protection, all is OK.
A solution?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:Discs division
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2004, 11:41:47 PM »
Hello lcano, wellcome to forums?

What do you exactly mean?
Are you trying to access one machine from the other and you are in trouble?
Can't you access the disks?

Please, try to write again, specially the words: assembling (do you mean: accessing?) and plants.
The best things in life are free.

Offline lcano

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • I'm a llama!
Re:Discs division
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2004, 08:46:26 AM »
Hello,
Yes it is exactly that ;)
Assembling = accessing and plants = trouble
I am obliged to start again the machine = plants

Laurent

PS: I have used Avast! HE for a few months without any problem except this one :( It's a very good AV ;)

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11773
    • AVAST Software
Re:Discs division
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2004, 01:44:20 PM »
So, to make sure I understand it correctly (if not, correct me, please):

  • You have 2 computers (let's call them A and B, for example), both running Windows 98 SE and avast! 4.1 Home Edition, latest build (357).
  • Computer A has a shared drive.
  • The resident protection of avast! (Standard Shield provider) on computer A is set to "High".
  • When computer B is trying to read a file from the shared drive of computer A, computer A crashes and must be restarted.
  • When you lower the level of resident protection on computer A to "Normal", everything works correctly.
Is it right?

If the information above is correct, I would like to ask:
  • How exactly does computer A crash? Does a bluescreen appear, does it reboot immediatelly, does it freeze? Is there any error message?
  • Does the problem happen every time when you access the drive for the first time? Or, does it happen only sometimes... allows to read a few files from the drive maybe? Does it make any difference what file exactly you are accessing - some files can be accessed, the other cannot? (and if you are reading the file or writing)?
  • You say you have used avast! HE for a few months - was the problem always there, or has it appeared with the recent update?

Offline lcano

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • I'm a llama!
Re:Discs division
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2004, 02:51:11 PM »
Hello Igor,

Afflicted for my English :(
You understood well.
I use the last version. The problem appears systematically when I try to access the shared drive of computer A for the first time from the computer B.
The computer A freeze without message.
I do not know if that is due to the last version. I noted it since I wanted to regulate protection to "High".

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:Discs division
« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2004, 04:49:55 PM »
Igor, you understood... Just to write my experience: a network with Windows XP (computer A) and Windows 98 (computer B) worked fine for me. Both with avast! Home Edition 4.1.357.
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11773
    • AVAST Software
Re:Discs division
« Reply #6 on: March 10, 2004, 04:33:07 PM »
It also doesn't cause any problems here...  :-\

Can you download HijackThis, run it on computer A and post its log here? Maybe we can find something suspicious running on the machine...

Btw, you only moved the "slider" of the Standard Shield configuration from "Normal" to "High", right? No other changes to the Standard Shield configuration?

Offline lcano

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • I'm a llama!
Re:Discs division
« Reply #7 on: March 10, 2004, 04:41:24 PM »
Hi,

Absolutely, no other changes to the Standard Shield configuration.
I have to test again yesterday evening, that freeze each time  :'(
I run HijackThis and i post log tomorrow...

Laurent

Offline lcano

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • I'm a llama!
Re:Discs division
« Reply #8 on: March 11, 2004, 10:39:35 AM »
Hi,

Here the log:

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://www.microsoft.com/isapi/redir.dll?prd=ie&ar=iesearch
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.sytadin.tm.fr/index_iti.php
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.microsoft.com/isapi/redir.dll?prd={SUB_PRD}&clcid={SUB_CLSID}&pver={SUB_PVER}&ar=home
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://www.microsoft.com/isapi/redir.dll?prd=ie&ar=iesearch
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.microsoft.com/isapi/redir.dll?prd=ie&pver=6&ar=msnhome
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://www.microsoft.com/isapi/redir.dll?prd=ie&ar=iesearch
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar,LinksFolderName = Liens
O1 - Hosts: 172.40.20.5 office
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1.1\SDHELPER.DLL
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O3 - Toolbar: (no name) - {F2E259E8-0FC8-438C-A6E0-342DD80FA53E} - (no file)
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Stat 'n' Perf] C:\Program Files\StatnPerf\StatnPerf.exe -auto
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CriticalUpdate] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\wucrtupd.exe -startup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Tweak UI] RUNDLL32.EXE TWEAKUI.CPL,TweakMeUp
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Tweak UI] RUNDLL32.EXE TWEAKUI.CPL,TweakLogon
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ADSLAutoconnect] C:\Program Files\ADSL Autoconnect\ADSL Autoconnect.exe -z
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [avast!] C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashserv.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ProxyPlus] C:\PROGRAM FILES\PROXYPLUS\ProxyPlus.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [PersFw] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\KERIO\PERSONAL FIREWALL\PERSFW.EXE"
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [DS Clock] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\DS CLOCK\DSCLOCK.EXE"
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [SkwatAutoconnect] C:\Program Files\ADSL Autoconnect\ADSL Autoconnect.exe
O16 - DPF: {41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52/20020909/qtinstall.info.apple.com/sikes/fr/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
O16 - DPF: {917623D1-D8E5-11D2-BE8B-00104B06BDE3} (CamImage Class) - http://212.157.152.82/AxisCamControl.ocx
O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37878.2323726852
O16 - DPF: {597C45C2-2D39-11D5-8D53-0050048383FE} (OPUCatalog Class) - http://office.microsoft.com/productupdates/content/opuc.cab
O16 - DPF: {4FCFF034-6F56-4D65-8C31-70D98C475428} (ddm_download.ddm_control) - http://bins.dynamicdesktopmedia.com/cab/ddm_control.CAB


I do not think that it have odd things there :(

Laurent

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11773
    • AVAST Software
Re:Discs division
« Reply #9 on: March 11, 2004, 05:39:37 PM »
Unfortunatelly, I don't see anything syspicious either...

For the Standard Shield, setting the level of protection to "High" means just turning on the scanning of "created/modified" files for default extensions.
Can you try to go to the detailed settings of the Standard Shield provider, uncheck the "Default extension set" box on the second page and put only some bogus extension into the "Additional extensions" (for example BLAH). Now, try to access the drives... if it's OK, try to create a file something.BLAH somewhere and access it (from the other computer). We'll see if it's really the access that causes the freeze, or if the option itself is causing troubles...
Btw, you don't have the advanced option "Show detailed info on performed action" turned on for the Standard Shield, right?

Offline lcano

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • I'm a llama!
Re:Discs division
« Reply #10 on: March 11, 2004, 05:50:39 PM »
OK, I try this evening.
Yes, I have not the advanced option "Show detailed info on performed action" turned on for the Standard Shield.

Laurent

Offline lcano

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • I'm a llama!
Re:Discs division
« Reply #11 on: March 12, 2004, 05:48:51 PM »
Hi,

I test. That does not change anything :(.
As soon as  'high' that frezze.  :'(

Laurent

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11773
    • AVAST Software
Re:Discs division
« Reply #12 on: March 17, 2004, 03:44:35 PM »
OK, let's forget about High/Normal for a while and focus on the particular options of the Standard Shield provider.

Please, open the resident protection control window (on computer A), select "Details" (if it's not chosen already), select the Standard Shield provider and press "Customize" button (it doesn't matter if the level is set to "High" or "Normal") and go to the second page of the settings.

So, do you say that if you set exactly the same options as shown on the left image, it will freeze when you access the disk of this computer from the other one - and if you set the options displayed on the right image (i.e. you turn off the "Scan created/modified files" option) - it will work correctly?
It's rather strange... because even with the setting on the left image, no extensions are selected to be scanned... so the behavior should be the same  ???

Offline lcano

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • I'm a llama!
Re:Discs division
« Reply #13 on: March 18, 2004, 08:43:04 AM »
 OK, I try this evening.

Thanks for your response :-* ;)

Laurent