Author Topic: fake windows security alert....control panel is gone  (Read 40718 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rtate69

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
fake windows security alert....control panel is gone
« on: November 23, 2007, 04:43:30 PM »
Hello, i am getting a fake windows security alert.What ever this is disabled control panel and avast is no longer running in task bar.Anyone have any ideas how to get rid of this?I used combo fix and now have control panel back.I have scanned with super anti spyware.Any ideas?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85966
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: fake windows security alert....control panel is gone
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2007, 05:43:06 PM »
For the fake security alert, try this tool, RogueRemover, available here http://www.malwarebytes.org/rogueremover.php.

What did SAS find ?

What avast processes are running in Task Manager, they begin with ash or asw, see image ?



The control panel is a strange one but probably being blocked and possibly also blocked might be task manager, regedit and msconfig. What is it you are trying to access in the control panel ?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: fake windows security alert....control panel is gone
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2007, 06:08:47 PM »
I suggest you test your machine with anti-rootkit applications. I suggest AVG or Trend Micro RootkitBuster too.
The best things in life are free.

Offline rtate69

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: fake windows security alert....control panel is gone
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2007, 08:56:14 PM »
Thanks i will try rogue remover.I ran combo fix so i do have control panel back but avast was taken out of my start up.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: fake windows security alert....control panel is gone
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2007, 08:57:19 PM »
but avast was taken out of my start up.
1. Check the option in the Appearance tab of settings.
or
2. Repair your avast installation through Control Panel.
or
3. Make a link to ashdisp.exe in your startup folder
or
4. Add the path to ashDisp.exe into a value named avast! in the Windows Registry key HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
See picture here: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=26155.msg213891#msg213891

If that does not help, please, uninstall, boot, install again, boot.
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85966
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: fake windows security alert....control panel is gone
« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2007, 10:00:14 PM »
Thanks i will try rogue remover.I ran combo fix so i do have control panel back but avast was taken out of my start up.

The most usual suspects for taking out the ashDisp.exe (avast icon and interface to settings, etc.).

What other security based software do you have that might block new startup entries, e.g. Spybot S&D (TeaTimer), AdAware (AdWatch), SpySweeper, Spyware Doctor (StartUpGuard or OnGuard), PrevX, WinPatrol, ProcessGuard, etc. ?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline rtate69

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: fake windows security alert....control panel is gone
« Reply #6 on: November 24, 2007, 04:52:40 AM »
i think i have found out what i have.One of the start up items i have is called timoty.exe(vundo?).
i tried the two things you guys suggested but to no avail.i am unable to access add/remove programs to reinstall avast.any suggestions?

Offline rtate69

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: fake windows security alert....control panel is gone
« Reply #7 on: November 24, 2007, 05:49:25 AM »
Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.0 (BETA)
Scan saved at 23:43, on 2007-11-23
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
Boot mode: Normal

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\aswUpdSv.exe
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashServ.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\Program Files\Google\Common\Google Updater\GoogleUpdaterService.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VS7Debug\mdm.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\PnkBstrA.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\snmp.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashMaiSv.exe
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashWebSv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\timoty.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\wscntfy.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\wuauclt.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Bobby\Desktop\HiJackThis_v2.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE

R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,SearchAssistant = about:blank
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = actsvr.comcastonline.com:8100
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = cdn
F2 - REG:system.ini: Shell=Explorer.exe C:\WINDOWS\system32\msanton.exe
O2 - BHO: Adobe PDF Reader Link Helper - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\SDHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: SSVHelper Class - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_10\bin\ssv.dll
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar2.dll
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Notifier BHO - {AF69DE43-7D58-4638-B6FA-CE66B5AD205D} - C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbarNotifier\2.1.615.5858\swg.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar2.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [version] C:\WINDOWS\system32\timoty.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [froody] C:\WINDOWS\system32\timoty.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-18\..\Run: [froody] C:\WINDOWS\system32\timoty.exe (User 'SYSTEM')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-18\..\RunOnce: [Magnify] Magnify.exe (User 'SYSTEM')
O4 - HKUS\.DEFAULT\..\Run: [froody] C:\WINDOWS\system32\timoty.exe (User 'Default user')
O4 - HKUS\.DEFAULT\..\RunOnce: [Magnify] Magnify.exe (User 'Default user')
O4 - Startup: setings.exe
O4 - Global Startup: startup.exe
O7 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System, DisableRegedit=1
O7 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System, DisableRegedit=1
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmsearch.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Search - http://km.bar.need2find.com/KM/menusearch.html?p=KM
O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward Links - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmbacklinks.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Cached Snapshot of Page - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmcache.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://F:\MICROS~1\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O8 - Extra context menu item: Similar Pages - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmsimilar.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate into English - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmtrans.html
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_10\bin\npjpi150_10.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_10\bin\npjpi150_10.dll
O9 - Extra button: ComcastHSI - {669B269B-0D4E-41FB-A3D8-FD67CA94F646} - http://www.comcast.net/ (file missing)
O9 - Extra button: Support - {8828075D-D097-4055-AA02-2DBFA9D85E8A} - http://www.comcastsupport.com/ (file missing)
O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MIC273~1\Office12\REFIEBAR.DLL
O9 - Extra button: Help - {97809617-3937-4F84-B335-9BB05EF1A8D4} - http://online.comcast.net/help/ (file missing)
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O16 - DPF: {1D6711C8-7154-40BB-8380-3DEA45B69CBF} -
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{A4B53E5F-4363-4266-9F43-50BE9AFA2EBB}: NameServer = 85.255.115.75,85.255.112.139
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\Parameters: NameServer = 208.67.220.220,208.67.222.222
O20 - Winlogon Notify: !SASWinLogon - C:\Program Files\SUPERAntiSpyware\SASWINLO.dll
O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Browseui preloader - {438755C2-A8BA-11D1-B96B-00A0C90312E1} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\browseui.dll
O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Component Categories cache daemon - {8C7461EF-2B13-11d2-BE35-3078302C2030} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\browseui.dll
O23 - Service: avast! iAVS4 Control Service (aswUpdSv) - ALWIL Software - C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\aswUpdSv.exe
O23 - Service: avast! Antivirus - ALWIL Software - C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashServ.exe
O23 - Service: avast! Mail Scanner - ALWIL Software - C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashMaiSv.exe
O23 - Service: avast! Web Scanner - ALWIL Software - C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashWebSv.exe
O23 - Service: Google Updater Service (gusvc) - Google - C:\Program Files\Google\Common\Google Updater\GoogleUpdaterService.exe
O23 - Service: NVIDIA Driver Helper Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
O23 - Service: Pml Driver HPZ12 - HP - C:\WINDOWS\System32\HPZipm12.exe
O23 - Service: PnkBstrA - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\system32\PnkBstrA.exe
O24 - Desktop Component 0: (no name) - file:///C:/DOCUME~1/Bobby/LOCALS~1/Temp/msohtml1/01/clip_image002.jpg

--
End of file - 6323 bytes

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: fake windows security alert....control panel is gone
« Reply #8 on: November 24, 2007, 12:39:44 PM »
Can you post this Registry key contents?

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Control Panel\don't load

If all entries are listed there, your Control Panel will be empty... (don't load)
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85966
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: fake windows security alert....control panel is gone
« Reply #9 on: November 24, 2007, 03:27:19 PM »
If it looks like Vundo, SAS is usually quite good on Vundo detections, but there is also, the Vundo Fix Tool - Aliases - WinFixer / Virtumonde / Msevents / Trojan.vundo.

Here are the cleansing instructions for Virtumonde: http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/topic18610.html

Your version of JAVA is very old, which doesn't help in securing your system. Ensure you have the latest version of JRE (JAVA Runtime Environment) because older versions can be vulnerable to malware. First remove All Older Versions From Add/Remove Programs.

Then get the latest update from here http://www.java.com/en/download/index.jsp

Or JRE version 6 update 3 http://www.majorgeeks.com/Sun_Java_Runtime_Environment_d4648.html

Your copy of HJT is also old, FileHippo Download - HiJackThis.

It is probably best not to have HJT on your desktop but in a folder of its own, download the latest version and disconnect from the internet, uninstall/remove your existing HJT and install the latest version, it should create its own folder.

You don't appear to have an active firewall, your system is an open door.

Fix:
C:\WINDOWS\system32\timoty.exe
F2 - REG:system.ini: Shell=Explorer.exe C:\WINDOWS\system32\msanton.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [version] C:\WINDOWS\system32\timoty.exe
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-18\..\Run: [froody] C:\WINDOWS\system32\timoty.exe (User 'SYSTEM')
O4 - HKUS\.DEFAULT\..\Run: [froody] C:\WINDOWS\system32\timoty.exe (User 'Default user')
O7 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System, DisableRegedit=1
O7 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System, DisableRegedit=1
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Search - http://km.bar.need2find.com/KM/menusearch.html?p=KM
O16 - DPF: {1D6711C8-7154-40BB-8380-3DEA45B69CBF} -

That is a start.

These two I'm not sure about but I'm suspicious
O4 - Startup: setings.exe
O4 - Global Startup: startup.exe
« Last Edit: November 24, 2007, 05:13:53 PM by DavidR »
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40610
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: fake windows security alert....control panel is gone
« Reply #10 on: November 24, 2007, 04:25:26 PM »
Hi David they are bad part of Virtumondo - latest version,  might need a rootkit scan to clean them

Offline Maxx_original

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1479
Re: fake windows security alert....control panel is gone
« Reply #11 on: November 24, 2007, 04:59:32 PM »
we need the suspicious files... can you send them to virtotal and in case of positive results make an password protected archive and send it to virus[at]avast[dot]com?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85966
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: fake windows security alert....control panel is gone
« Reply #12 on: November 24, 2007, 05:20:07 PM »
Hi David they are bad part of Virtumondo - latest version,  might need a rootkit scan to clean them

Thanks Martin.
What do you think of the Startup: entries ?
O4 - Startup: setings.exe
O4 - Global Startup: startup.exe

@ rtate69
Based on what Martin said, here are some more tools as there may be hidden elements to this vundo infection.

- F-Secure Blacklight may not always be available, http://www.f-secure.com/blacklight
- Panda Rootkit Cleaner - http://research.pandasoftware.com/blogs/images/AntiRootkit.zip.
- AVG Anti-Rootkit http://free.grisoft.com/doc/avg-anti-rootkit-free/lng/us/tpl/v5.

Also see, anti-rootkit, detection, removal & protection http://www.antirootkit.com/software/index.htm. Try these as they are some of the more efficient and user friendly anti-rootkit tools.

Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline rtate69

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: fake windows security alert....control panel is gone
« Reply #13 on: November 25, 2007, 08:31:24 AM »
Thanks for the help guys but,i went a head and did a fresh install of xp.I would like to know if avast has problems running with firewalls(which ones are ok).Again thanks for the quick responses.

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4142
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: fake windows security alert....control panel is gone
« Reply #14 on: November 25, 2007, 09:01:42 AM »
A discussion on free firewalls can be found here.

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=30808.0

They'll all do the job, but zone alarm free is limited in user configuarability, so I'd pass one that one. Comodo is being used by many forum users with xp. It's easy to set up and has a good help file.

It can be downloaded from

http://filehippo.com/download_comodo/

and a setup video tutorial here

http://forums.comodo.com/frequently_asked_questions_faq_for_comodo_firewall/noob_install_video_guide-t4766.0.html

I only mention the two firewalls above because it is the only 2 that I have any experience with

Regardless of which one you go with, the following avast components need internet access.

avast.setup
ashwebsrv.exe
ashmaisrv.exe

« Last Edit: November 25, 2007, 04:49:39 PM by oldman »