Author Topic: DNS Leak due to Real Site  (Read 1162 times)

Offline MrDJ

DNS Leak due to Real Site
« on: February 14, 2022, 04:10:11 PM »
Sorry if this is posted in wrong section.

Im a novice when it comes to IP addresses and changing settings but as my Avast package is due for renewal in 10 days im not really wanting to pay another £58 for 1 pc for 1 year if this issue is down to avast, and it looks like it is.

Avast Premium Security
Win 10 pro
Nord VPN

Ive had nord vpn for 2 years now. around 6-8 months ago ive notice a DNS leak. nothing new was changed except for program software updates.

Over the weekend ive changed all IP settings on nord and also on my laptop and still a leak.
deleted all Nord software and re installed and just left on default settings with the leak.

On another forum i asked for advice as i had no idea what was causing the issue. after trying many leak tests there was one thing strange i noticed. Avast name was showing up in the tests as my ISP.
I was then shown an article on Reddit which said Avast was the cause and specifically Real Sites.

So tested and there ya go, Real sites on and leak.
real sites off and no leak. (pictures attached)

So my dilemma. do i pay for another year and put up with the leak or leave real sites off which defeits the purpous of having it there in the first place.
Or do i download the full package of Norton which is supplied free from my real ISP.

Ive been a loyal customer of Avast for many many years and if this issue could be solved then i may be swayed to stick around.

so over to you the experts.
Thanks

Clevo P502 Laptop i7 3720QM 2.60GHz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GTX 680M, Crucial 512 SSD, Windows 10 Pro 64bit, over 12 years old and still super fast.

Offline Asyn

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: DNS Leak due to Real Site
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2022, 11:02:36 AM »