Author Topic: Error 0x000000C1  (Read 19331 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BrianA

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re:Error 0x000000C1
« Reply #15 on: March 10, 2004, 05:35:17 PM »
it couldn't be something like:
QAZ-Trojan
?

Maybe a hijackthis log might help:
www.lurkhere.com -> nicefiles

install, then click scan, then save log; post the lofgfile contents here ;)

OK it's attached

Cheers
Brian Abbott

Offline whocares

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1698
  • I'm not a llama! :-)
Re:Error 0x000000C1
« Reply #16 on: March 10, 2004, 06:13:20 PM »
Wow,
that IS a lot of stuff in your startup ...!

too much for a first glance

->
1) Install/Update/scan and fix with
ad-aware & spybot

2) Run Onlinescanners from www.trendmicro.com and www.ravantivirus.com (use IE with ActiveX enabled; pause avast's shield(s) for this)

remove found malware according to the respective virusinfos or via VGREP (see below)
then make a new hijackthis-log

3) check the running processes & filenames in the log with
http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php
Onlinescanner from www.kaspersky.com
google

if there's anything malicious or useless in there
-> Remove/fix those

example:
C:\windows\system32\msurl32.exe
F1 - win.ini: run=c:\windows\system32\msurl32.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Msurl32] c:\windows\system32\msurl32.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Msurl32] c:\windows\system32\msurl32.exe

http://www.f-secure.com/v-descs/syscenter.shtml


btw have your tried a repair of avast ?
« Last Edit: March 10, 2004, 06:20:02 PM by whocares »

Offline whocares

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1698
  • I'm not a llama! :-)
Re:Error 0x000000C1
« Reply #17 on: March 10, 2004, 06:35:18 PM »
Also suspicious/needs checking, if you don't know what it is/does:

O16 - DPF: {0FF3E97F-433D-11D2-B31A-00A0C9B135DB} (CoDetectDigitalRiver Class) - h**p://ebot.digitalriver.com/v2.0-doc/dlwizard/wizard3.0.4.3.cab

O16 - DPF: {917623D1-D8E5-11D2-BE8B-00104B06BDE3} (CamImage Class) - h**p://www.tynebridgewebcam.co.uk/camimages/AxisCamControl.ocx

O16 - DPF: {95844941-7934-4693-92D9-8202EA7B20ED} - h**p://www.stumbleupon.com/stumble.cab

O16 - DPF: {A0F0D762-D1DE-43AF-B70E-D87864743EB3} (NSLiteUpdateCtrl Class) - h**p://217.145.76.16/nslite/nslite.cab
O16 - DPF: {AD7FAFB0-16D6-40C3-AF27-585D6E6453FD} - h**p://66.230.143.209/loader/dploader.cab

O16 - DPF: {FFFF0021-0002-101A-A3C9-08002B2F49FB} - h**p://www.7adpower.com/dialer/A091AEM.exe ;)
« Last Edit: March 10, 2004, 06:43:58 PM by whocares »

Offline whocares

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1698
  • I'm not a llama! :-)
Re:Error 0x000000C1
« Reply #18 on: March 10, 2004, 06:41:37 PM »
KAV says:

nslite.cab infected by "TrojanDownloader.Win32.Agent.p" Virus.

dploader.cab infected by "TrojanDownloader.Win32.Small.dg" Virus.

 ;)

Offline BrianA

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re:Error 0x000000C1
« Reply #19 on: March 11, 2004, 10:35:34 AM »
Found It!

No virus (though going through the hijack log was interesting, I run AdAware and Spybot regularly but the nslite and dploader downloaders - now removed -seem to have been missed by them).

Anyway, the answer, found after a bit of googling, was (...drum roll ...) a file named PROGRAM in the root of my D drive.  Renamed it and rebooted and magically all is now OK again. txt files can be opened normally and Avast runs normally.

I'd love to know what dropped that in there though ...

Thanks to everyone who helped.
Brian Abbott

Offline Datagg

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 219
  • Perceive things that you cant see
    • Girlfriends Lingerie
Re:Error 0x000000C1
« Reply #20 on: March 11, 2004, 12:19:39 PM »
Glad you got it fixed....

Cheers ;)
X64
GA-K8N-SLI
AMD 64 3500+
Nvidia Nforce4
e-Geforce 6800GT - PCI-E 256M
Gig of PC3200 DDR2