Author Topic: Avast Premium Security & Quicken for Windows  (Read 4416 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pcnews

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Avast Premium Security & Quicken for Windows
« Reply #15 on: September 21, 2022, 04:49:21 PM »
Thank you for going the extra mile Kalman.

Offline IDF

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: Avast Premium Security & Quicken for Windows
« Reply #16 on: September 22, 2022, 02:16:38 AM »
Do they know how many Quicken users are affected by this? There are 8 pages of complaints in one thread I've read in the Quicken forums. For every person who posts, there will be far, far more who say nothing, or may be opening trouble tickets. I've said nothing till now, but I have the same problem that everyone else has.

In fact in my case I hadn't updated the Avast program since March, but the problem still happened, though Avast itself wasn't producing a pop-up. After I upgraded Avast, the problem continued, but now with the Avast pop-up of threat detected.

(I would update Avast more often, but the setting to notify me when a new update is available does not work and has never worked. Once in a while I remember to do a manual check - not often enough.)

Disabling Avast Shields solves the Quicken problem. Maybe just disabling exploit detection would be enough, as some have suggested (Settings > Protection > Anti-Rootkit > Anti-Exploit) but I haven't tried that yet.

I wonder why Exploits are configured as a subset of Rootkits. If you turn off the Anti-Rootkit Shield, the Anti-Exploit Shield is also disabled. Of course, I'm unlikely to understand what Avast means by an "exploit."


Offline Kalman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: Avast Premium Security & Quicken for Windows
« Reply #17 on: September 22, 2022, 04:09:28 AM »
IDF:
This was my post when I figured out what was causing the issue:
"Maybe just disabling exploit detection would be enough, as some have suggested (Settings > Protection > Anti-Rootkit > Anti-Exploit) but I haven't tried that yet." Yes it does stop the problem with Quicken.
My concern is not sure exactly what possible threats you would be open to.

Offline Kalman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: Avast Premium Security & Quicken for Windows
« Reply #18 on: September 22, 2022, 04:12:06 AM »
IDF:
This was my response to Avast Support that I never showed until now.
"David:
________________________________________
This is the second time Avast said this issue is fixed and it’s not. Avast needs to do a better job with this and push the updates quickly when they mess up this bad. You have Thousands of people complaining about this on the Quicken forum.

I realize you said 24 hours but that’s an unreasonable period of time.
On Tuesday at 04:00 am I received the first email form your group saying it was fixed and it may take up to 7 hours.
Of course it was not."

Offline r@vast

  • Avast team
  • Massive Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2760
Re: Avast Premium Security & Quicken for Windows
« Reply #19 on: September 22, 2022, 11:52:04 AM »
Hi,

Our virus specialist looked into this issue. It should now be fixed.

Offline Kalman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: Avast Premium Security & Quicken for Windows
« Reply #20 on: September 22, 2022, 02:29:44 PM »
Greetings,

Thank you for your reply.

Our virus lab specialists have determined the cause of this issue, and it should now be resolved.

Should you have any other inquiries please don't hesitate to contact me again.

Ondřej

Avast Customer Care Team
 
Avast Support Center

Offline Kalman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: Avast Premium Security & Quicken for Windows
« Reply #21 on: October 24, 2022, 02:42:41 AM »
GUYS THIS ISSUE CAME BACK TODAY...
WHAT IS THE DEAL WITH AVAST!



Offline frank479

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Avast Premium Security & Quicken for Windows
« Reply #22 on: October 24, 2022, 03:37:27 AM »
I don't know why I don't leave well enough alone.  Quicken was working for me last night.  This morning, I happened to be in Avast and noticed there was a program update pending.  I thought, "strange it didn't prompt me to install this...".  So, I manually installed it, effectively shooting off my proverbial foot.  Later, I saw the email from the Quicken forum and I immediately launched Quicken.  And lo and behold, the dreaded dialog box again about a runtime exception.  I hope this is just a simple configuration management issue that can quickly be resolved and not an entirely new issue.

Offline lorelei_49

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Avast Premium Security & Quicken for Windows
« Reply #23 on: October 24, 2022, 08:10:01 PM »
GUYS THIS ISSUE CAME BACK TODAY...
WHAT IS THE DEAL WITH AVAST!


Yep. Here too. IF I disable the shield temporarily, the error goes away on Quicken Deluxe Launch. Not the best of solutions but.....

Offline r@vast

  • Avast team
  • Massive Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2760
Re: Avast Premium Security & Quicken for Windows
« Reply #24 on: October 25, 2022, 10:27:07 AM »
Hi,

This new detection should now be fixed.

Offline Donald19

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Avast Premium Security & Quicken for Windows
« Reply #25 on: December 03, 2022, 06:06:43 PM »
C:\WINDOWS\SysWow64\rundll32.exe when running Quicken is still not resolved.