Author Topic: Avast Ubuntu 7.10 similar problems but unresolved  (Read 5939 times)

dnear1

Avast Ubuntu 7.10 similar problems but unresolved
« on: December 28, 2007, 03:47:37 PM »
I seem to have similar issues to everyone else who is using Ubuntu, but I can't seem to resolve it.
I downloaded the package and installed it.   The folders and files are there but I cannot execute them.
I tried this quote:
I have a worse problem with my installation.  After I installed it using the deb download, I can't find the program in the application menu or any menu for that matter.  I'm new to Linux, so perhaps some one could tell me how to quickly at Avast to my application menu.
These commands will install avast!'s icons&links into the Applications > Accessories > avast! Antivirus menu.
cd /usr/lib/avast4workstation/share/avast/desktop && sudo ./install-desktop-entries.sh install

and now I have the icons in the menu, but when I try to run, I get more errors:

A popup states registration is required.  I registered on Avast and got the key and typed it in manually many times but seems like it is not accepted because of the other errors..

Another pop up states "Unable to detect if another instance of Avast is running."
If I click Details, it shows these 4 messages:
Can't open file /home/dnear1/.avast/avastrc" (error 13: permission denied)
Can't open user configuration file "/home/dnear1/.avast/avastrc"
Failed to inspect the lock file "home/dnear1/.avast/lockfile-dnear1" (error 2: no such file or directory)
Unable to detect whether another instance of avast! is running

After I input the registration key in the previous window, the second error comes up with 3 messages:
Directory "/home/dnear1/.avast/chect" couldn't be created (error 13: permission denied)
Couldn't create chest in directory "/home/dnear1/.avast/chest".
Error while initializing avast! chest.