Author Topic: How do you get a blocked program to run in Exceptions  (Read 1296 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TwoRails

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
How do you get a blocked program to run in Exceptions
« on: March 17, 2023, 11:15:17 PM »
How do you get a blocked program to run in Exceptions?

The latest release of Avast Free is blocking a startup program I’ve been using for years.  It is pretty much required as it jump starts my CPU.  If it doesn’t run then my computer runs at and only 799Mhz instead of up to 4.2Ghz in turbo as needed.  Obviously it barely crawls.

Avast Version:
“Release date was March 1, 2023,12:44 PM ( ver. 23.2.6053 - build 23.2.7961.777 )”

It took me a while to figure it out as I got no warnings or messages on startup.  I found out only by trying to run the program from the Desktop.  That’s when Avast said no you don’t:  “Avast blocked a vulnerable driver”.

This is my first attempt to make an Exception, but no matter what I tried, Avast still blocked it.  I even tried adding program components and nothing worked.

I even tried disabling Avast and it still didn't work as i still got the messages.

Oh, Avast added the Website, I didn’t, and I have no idea where it got it from, and it wouldn’t let me remove it for testing.

So how do I get Avast to ignore a program???

Running Win 7 Pro 64. 

Thanks.
.




Offline Rundvleeskroket

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 508
Re: How do you get a blocked program to run in Exceptions
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2023, 02:56:00 AM »
Read this topic.

https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=322955.0

The driver does seem an actual vulnerabilty though!

Offline TwoRails

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: How do you get a blocked program to run in Exceptions
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2023, 11:44:29 PM »
Thanks for the link, Rundvleeskroket.  Seems like it’s a popular driver. 

Instead of disabling the option, I found a work around for my situation.  I checked and there is an updated version of the program that doesn’t use the WinRing driver.  It works fine starting when the computer starts and / or when started from within Windows.

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.



Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48456
  • 63 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: How do you get a blocked program to run in Exceptions
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2023, 03:21:10 PM »
Thanks for the link, Rundvleeskroket.  Seems like it’s a popular driver. 

Instead of disabling the option, I found a work around for my situation.  I checked and there is an updated version of the program that doesn’t use the WinRing driver.  It works fine starting when the computer starts and / or when started from within Windows.

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.
Posting a link to that updated version might help others. Thanks
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v22H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 23.5.6066, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline TwoRails

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: How do you get a blocked program to run in Exceptions
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2023, 07:41:14 PM »
]Posting a link to that updated version might help others. Thanks
Good idea. 

It's v9.5 at the moment:
https://www.techpowerup.com/download/techpowerup-throttlestop/

I was thinking of posting back how much better for my needs the new version is.  The old one would run at max turbo (4.2GHz for me) the whole time it was running.  Quite often I’d forget to End the Process in Task Manager until the office starting getting hot.  And then I’d have to manually fire-up the program after I put the computer to sleep.  Yes, a hassle. 

The new version, besides being compatible with Avast, will Turbo up when needed, but then idle down when not.  For instance I’m running at 800MHz as I clack this out.

Note I do Not know how to use ThrottlStop.  When I first installed it many years ago, I had to play with it for hours over days to get it to just jump start my problem motherboard.  I did not try overclocking or anything else.  I think there’s a tutorial online.

Attached is a screenshot of the settings I used.
.


Offline Rundvleeskroket

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 508
Re: How do you get a blocked program to run in Exceptions
« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2023, 06:28:47 AM »
Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

You're welcome.

Your CPU shouldn't need software like this to properly clock up and down. Normally the BIOS and/or OS do this automatically. So it's still a weird hack imo.