Author Topic: Is it possible to hijack Avast  (Read 877 times)

Offline cannonmc

Is it possible to hijack Avast
« on: April 08, 2023, 12:07:29 PM »
Version: 22.9.6034 (build 22.9.7554.762)
Virus definition:  230407-0
UI Version: 1.0.757

Using Windows 7 32

I ask because a couple of nights ago I got what looked like a genuine Avast pop-up giving me three choices:
1 Update virus definitions
2 Update program
3 Update Windows

A bit unusual perhaps but I've been using Avast for many years. So I chose 1 but it wasn't until after I noticed the update date was for 7 May 2023. Everything seemed to freeze. I couldn't stop the pop-up. I tried to restart Windows but it just hung. Eventually I had to switch power off and then reboot.

It was only then that I noticed the computer date had been set at 7 May. Opened browser but every link was untrusted. Things were not working and eventually I had to power off again. BTW each time the Avast icon didn't appear in system tray. Things still not right so I did a system restore to four days previously.

Things seemed to return to my usual setting. After a further restart even Avast icon appeared and I carried on.

Sorry if this is a little vague but I was not thinking about noting everything down - panic! And the problems could be caused by something else but I had been doing nothing out of the ordinary. It was only after that I thought I had never got an Avast pop-up like that before

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Is it possible to hijack Avast
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2023, 01:07:59 PM »
Somewhat difficult to respond with so little information.

But the main question is in your title "Is it possible to hijack Avast."
I would never say never, but very difficult with all of the different components and the Avast Self-Defence module.