Author Topic: Smart scan not seeing my premium  (Read 1904 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ccval77

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Smart scan not seeing my premium
« on: April 21, 2023, 06:04:44 PM »
When i run a smart scan avast asks me to go premium to resolve issues even thou i already have premium and when i press the resolve all with premium it says i am offline. I have reset my router and restarted my computer with no change there are 3 computers in my house with avast one premium all doing the same thing in addition on my laptop when running the operating system portion of the smart scan displays scanSystemHealth.progress.title
scanSystemHealth.progress.subtitle
« Last Edit: April 21, 2023, 06:31:32 PM by ccval77 »

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89217
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Smart scan not seeing my premium
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2023, 06:29:04 PM »
First you can disable such messages the Premium paid product in the UI:
Remove Adds, promotions, etc. - Avast UI > Menu > Settings > General > Personal Privacy > Offers - uncheck those you don't want to see.

Can you say what issues it is reporting  ?
Not all of those may be included in the Avast Premium product, which makes me wonder why it is called Avast Premium.

Smart Scan - Personally I don't use this as scan (or on-demand scans in general), I feel that there is nothing found there that I'm concerned about.
I also feel it is more a vehicle to promote other paid Avast Products.
Note I use Avast Free and not Avast Premium, so I can't speak from personal experience.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.4.6112 (build 24.4.9067.762) UI 1.0.803/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline ccval77

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Smart scan not seeing my premium
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2023, 06:36:23 PM »
The problem has only just started it has never displayed that message before as i have a premium subscription. There are 7 issues like data breaches not being monitored, webcam not secured and junk on PC which are all premium features.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2023, 06:57:20 PM by ccval77 »

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89217
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Smart scan not seeing my premium
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2023, 11:27:13 PM »
First I would suggest disabling the options I mentioned.

I also don't think that the Smart Scan is so Smart, I don't think it delves/pries into your system to find out.  As and when I run a Not so Smart Scan (usually after a forum question) it throws up lots of cr4p like this, I have a camera and it wasn't prying as such, I have a big sticker over it. The same for cr4p/junk I take care of my own junk.

With a resident on-access antivirus like avast, the need for frequent on-demand scans is much depreciated.
For the most part dormant/inert files are being scanned, the other active files are going to be scanned by the resident shields when they are activated and I include the Smart Scan in that (although there are areas that the on-demand wouldn't scan). However as I mentioned these appear to be more a promotion for other Avast Products (even as you say you already have).
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.4.6112 (build 24.4.9067.762) UI 1.0.803/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48611
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Smart scan not seeing my premium
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2023, 10:19:00 PM »
There's always another product to buy and there will always be a popup to promote it. :)
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline DamienMC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • I’m a geek and I take cybersecurity seriously 😎
Re: Smart scan not seeing my premium
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2023, 11:24:47 AM »
Hi,

I have the same problem and this is definitely a bug on the Avast One software. OP reported having the same issue on 3 different computers, and I am encountering the same issue myself on a clean install (Windows 11). This is not related to marketing messages or anything that could be disabled in settings.

- I have an active Avast One license. I installed Avast One on my wife’s PC, it’s a clean install with only Chrome on it.

-  The subscription is activated (it is showing both on the software and website) and all Premium fonctions are fully functional (VPN, anti track, etc…).

- However, when doing a « Smart Scan », upon completion it shows the same screen as the Avast One Free product, saying advanced issues were found with a « Resolve all with Premium » button down. This is not a normal behavior, as Premium subscribers already paid and can directly click on resolve all (I’ve been using the software for a while).

- Furthermore, upon clicking on « Resolve all with Premium », it shows a « You’re offline » error message, confirming that something isn’t right. Clicking on « Try again » puts it back into a loop. When clicking cancel, only then it confirms the scan was successful (only the basic part, as the other features were locked).

- As I said this is on a clean install, and I’ve tried the usual (repair Avast, complete uninstall/reinstall, tried on different networks) to no avail.

I think this will keep happening to a number of users until it is resolved on Avast end (either on the server or software side). It is not big issue, however it is annoying to no be able to « 1 click » fix things, as this is the main purpose of the Smart Scan. It will also cause confusion amongst users that might not understand if their Premium subscription is still active or if they have a network issue.

@DavidR can you transfer this issue to the Avast team, or should I reach them myself ? I have attached screenshots of the issue bellow. I hope this will help.

Have a great weekend and regards to the whole Forum and Avast team ;)

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48611
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Smart scan not seeing my premium
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2023, 01:52:18 PM »

Request help from Avast. https://support.avast.com/en-us/contact
If you don't have an order # use 00000000 then explain your problem.
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline DamienMC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • I’m a geek and I take cybersecurity seriously 😎
Re: Smart scan not seeing my premium
« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2023, 02:56:49 PM »
I’ll report the problem there. I have an order number (bought it from the official store).

Thanks a lot for the help and have a great Sunday  8)