Author Topic: New user questions  (Read 831 times)

Offline FJ10

New user questions
« on: May 15, 2023, 02:41:31 AM »
Hello,

I bought "Avast Premium Security" today. I have mixed feelings about it. I have been using the free version of Avast for many years, but now that I have the Premium version I wonder if it makes sense for me, since I use the Vivaldi web browser.

It seems like Avast does not support Vivaldi. Bank mode is not activated on this browser, it does not protect passwords... I have many questions, some of them are:

1) Does Avast protect me while I use the internet if it does not recognize my browser?

2) I use the Avast Online Security & Privacy extension on my Vivaldi browser, how does this compare to using the "Avast Secure Browser"? (I am askinkg this because Avast supports its own browser, and I am considering switching to it)

3) Is there any way to use Ecosia as the default search engine for the address bar of Avast Secure Browser?

Overall I am surprised that Avast supports very few internet browsers, that the Avast Secure Browser supports very few search engines, and I wonder if it makes sense for me to buy Avast Premium Security. Is Avast really protecting me while I use Vivaldi?

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: New user questions
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2023, 03:30:56 AM »
1.  I'm unsure if you are talking about the Bank Mode only with Vivaldi web browser or browsing in general  ?
However, the Web Shield as far as I'm aware isn't browser specific so should also still protect against malware whilst using the Vivaldi web browser.

2.  The Avast Online Security & Privacy extension, doesn't offer the same functionality as the "Avast Secure Browser" as it is is a browser extension.   I use Firefox as my default browser and I don't use the Avast Online Security & Privacy extension with firefox.