Author Topic: Avast Free 23.5 creates new registry keys for safeprice plugin. - SOLVED/FIXED  (Read 11602 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dinobot2

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 436
Right, but that comes after the update itself. I just don't know what "different update channel" means, which is why I asked about that specifically.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48698
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Right, but that comes after the update itself. I just don't know what "different update channel" means, which is why I asked about that specifically.
No, a restart forces that update if it's available.
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline Ron1958

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Avast Free 23.5 creates new registry keys for safeprice plugin.
« Reply #47 on: June 07, 2023, 12:21:48 PM »
Hello, fix of the issue with the repeated SafePrice plugin offer was just released. Once you have version 23.5.8195.786 the issue should be gone. PC restart is needed. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by this bug.

Jan

When I right click on the Avast icon it tells me this is what I am running 23.5.6066 (build 23.5.8195.786) - still everytime I open chrome browser or firefox browser (both using chrome search engine as default) the Avast Safeprice tab opens along with my other start up tabs



Offline Nunzio77

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 465
Re: Avast Free 23.5 creates new registry keys for safeprice plugin.
« Reply #48 on: June 07, 2023, 01:29:01 PM »
Hello, fix of the issue with the repeated SafePrice plugin offer was just released. Once you have version 23.5.8195.786 the issue should be gone. PC restart is needed. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by this bug.

Jan

When I right click on the Avast icon it tells me this is what I am running 23.5.6066 (build 23.5.8195.786) - still everytime I open chrome browser or firefox browser (both using chrome search engine as default) the Avast Safeprice tab opens along with my other start up tabs

Try clearing your browser's cache, deleting temporary files, cookies, etc... Then restart your PC.  It doesn't bother me anymore.
Thank you and good day!
Nunzio
----------------------------
Avast Free - Windows 10 Pro-32 Bit, Intel Core2 Duo CPU T7500, RAM 4 Gb, SDD 512 Gb, ATI Mobile Radeon HD 2400 - Avast Mobile Security Free - Smartphone Android

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48698
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast Free 23.5 creates new registry keys for safeprice plugin.
« Reply #49 on: June 07, 2023, 02:31:29 PM »
Hello, fix of the issue with the repeated SafePrice plugin offer was just released. Once you have version 23.5.8195.786 the issue should be gone. PC restart is needed. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by this bug.

Jan

When I right click on the Avast icon it tells me this is what I am running 23.5.6066 (build 23.5.8195.786) - still everytime I open chrome browser or firefox browser (both using chrome search engine as default) the Avast Safeprice tab opens along with my other start up tabs
Do you have SafePrice installed? Check your extensions. If you don't want it, remove the extension.
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline Dinobot2

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 436
Right, but that comes after the update itself. I just don't know what "different update channel" means, which is why I asked about that specifically.
No, a restart forces that update if it's available.

Ok I'm probably just misunderstanding you, so are you saying that the restart forces the update to simply be available? Meaning, if I click "check for updates" before I restart, nothing will happen, and I need to restart simply to get access to the update?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89428
  • No support PMs thanks
Right, but that comes after the update itself. I just don't know what "different update channel" means, which is why I asked about that specifically.
No, a restart forces that update if it's available.

Ok I'm probably just misunderstanding you, so are you saying that the restart forces the update to simply be available? Meaning, if I click "check for updates" before I restart, nothing will happen, and I need to restart simply to get access to the update?

As previously mentioned the fix to this problem is delivered after a uupdate check (not the regular program update function), this is done on a 4 hourly basis, by restarting the system it effectively initiates this check and starting/resetting the clock/delay again.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.6.6121 (build 24.6.9241.848) UI 1.0.809/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Dinobot2

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 436
Ok I don't quite know what uupdate is (I thought that was a typo at first), so if that could be explained a bit more that'd be great.

Regardless, I'm still on Avast 23.4 because I didn't update to 23.5 because of this issue. So if I want to get to the 23.5 version that fixed that issue (the build that ends in .786), what's the course of action I need to take? Should I just restart my computer, then do a manual update and that'll get me the version I want? Do I need to manually update, restart, then manually update again? Should I simply wait another few weeks for 23.6, (as you told me before that i'll get the latest version automatically if I do that, regardless of the previous version I had)?
« Last Edit: June 08, 2023, 03:48:35 AM by Dinobot2 »

Offline Alice7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Restarting the computer doesn't force update checks for me, all it does/did was making the browser opens up the plugin page for Avast addon again. I've tried for several days, including turning my computer on/off manually or use the restart function so I can confirm this.

Reinstalling the program using the installer works though so anyone still encountering this problem. Redownload the installer from Avast website and install it again (your account won't be logged out and such, you just need to restart the computer).

Offline Dinobot2

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 436
Ok, so it looks like I was successful! I was on 23.4 still, and I restarted my computer last night, then this morning I updated through the UI, now when it was done updating I noticed the new version was ending in .783 and I was like "uh oh. Let's hope the post-update restart fixed that", and so I restarted and now I have version/build 23.5.8195.786. I open up Chrome and no annoying extensions or pop-ups.

Now, just to make sure there was no funny business with the registry, where do I go to make sure that was the case? I have zero experience with anything registry related.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48698
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Ok, so it looks like I was successful! I was on 23.4 still, and I restarted my computer last night, then this morning I updated through the UI, now when it was done updating I noticed the new version was ending in .783 and I was like "uh oh. Let's hope the post-update restart fixed that", and so I restarted and now I have version/build 23.5.8195.786. I open up Chrome and no annoying extensions or pop-ups.

Now, just to make sure there was no funny business with the registry, where do I go to make sure that was the case? I have zero experience with anything registry related.
If you know nothing about the registry, the safest thing to do is to leave it alone.
One wrong move in the registry and your system may not boot. Your computer, your choice.
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline Dinobot2

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 436
I wouldn't go in there without specific instructions from someone who is more of an expert.