Author Topic: Antimalware Service Executable running in processess  (Read 735 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dopeyperson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Antimalware Service Executable running in processess
« on: June 19, 2023, 09:17:04 AM »
Hi

I reset windows 11 pro, ticked to remove personnel files and programs etc. Downloaded from the cloud.
Windows 11 pro OS   Version 22H2    build 22621.1848 is installed.

In processes Antimalware Service Executable is running.
Security Intelligence update for Windows Defender Antivirus is updated through Windows Update.

Under Windows security Avast Anti Virus is turned on.
Version 23.5.6066  Build 23.5.8195.786   UI version 1.0.768

Under Windows Security (WD)
Real time protection is turned off
Cloud delivered protection is on
Automatic sample submission is on
Tamper Protection is on
Periodic scanning is off

 Should I be concerned Avast is working fine. Have had no problems so far

Cheers


Offline Mr. Consumer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 134
Re: Antimalware Service Executable running in processess
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2023, 05:38:07 PM »
It is normal in Windows 11 when freshly installed. Now I learned that it happens for reset also.
Anyway, this is how it is in Windows 11. Even though the Microsoft Defender service is running, it is not active. It will update signatures daily via Windows Update and remain dormant. It won't use any CPU, only a few megabytes of ram. If Windows Security shows Avast as your real-time AV then everything is fine.

Offline dopeyperson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Antimalware Service Executable running in processess
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2023, 06:33:50 PM »
It is normal in Windows 11 when freshly installed. Now I learned that it happens for reset also.
Anyway, this is how it is in Windows 11. Even though the Microsoft Defender service is running, it is not active. It will update signatures daily via Windows Update and remain dormant. It won't use any CPU, only a few megabytes of ram. If Windows Security shows Avast as your real-time AV then everything is fine.

Mr. Consumer  :)
Thanks very much for your information. much appreciated.

Cheers