Author Topic: Is this normal?  (Read 712 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gorney66

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Is this normal?
« on: January 10, 2024, 06:22:10 AM »

Offline Dinobot2

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 395
Re: Is this normal?
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2024, 07:16:39 AM »
Which thing in particular are you referring to?

Offline MrDJ

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 221
Re: Is this normal?
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2024, 01:52:42 PM »
Are you paying for the avast cleanup premium addon.
if so then i guess thats normal

a bit more info than just a header question would help
Clevo P502 Laptop i7 3720QM 2.60GHz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GTX 680M, Crucial 512 SSD, Windows 10 Pro 64bit, over 12 years old and still super fast.

Offline New_Style_xd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 397
Re: Is this normal?
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2024, 02:18:18 PM »
From what I understood from my friend's post, he means that because Avast has a lot of open processes running in the background, I also noticed that my Avast has several processes open, unlike other security software like KASPERSKY and ESET NOD32, the two mentioned do not open so many processes in the background.
OS: Windows 10 PRO / Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6500U CPU 2.60 GHz.
Real Time: Avast Premium Security: 24.2.6104 (compilação 24.2.8904.819) IU: 1.0.799
Moble: Avast Security: 24.3.0-1004091
VPN: Avast SecureLine VPN: 5.29.9498
On Demand: Malwarebytes: 4.6.9.314

Offline MrDJ

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 221
Re: Is this normal?
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2024, 02:45:28 PM »
this is mine. i dont have the added cleanup installed.

actually, looking again i see its the free version he has installed. no idea if this gives you the free trial of cleanup or not as never used the free version.
did he previously have a paid version loaded? and now moved onto the free version.
maybe remnance files of the previous version still on his computer somewhere.

i cant help with all the processes running in the background as have'nt got a scooby doo (clue).
« Last Edit: January 10, 2024, 02:52:58 PM by MrDJ »
Clevo P502 Laptop i7 3720QM 2.60GHz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GTX 680M, Crucial 512 SSD, Windows 10 Pro 64bit, over 12 years old and still super fast.

Offline Dinobot2

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 395
Re: Is this normal?
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2024, 03:59:16 PM »
Mine looks even simpler, as I don't have any of the add-ons or firewall installed. What's interesting is that I don't even have a separate process for "Avast Free Antivirus", so maybe that's roped into one of the Avast Antivirus processes. Or it only shows up if you have other Avast products installed.
« Last Edit: January 10, 2024, 04:06:45 PM by Dinobot2 »

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89052
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Is this normal?
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2024, 04:15:09 PM »
From what I understood from my friend's post, he means that because Avast has a lot of open processes running in the background, I also noticed that my Avast has several processes open, unlike other security software like KASPERSKY and ESET NOD32, the two mentioned do not open so many processes in the background.

Simply being open doesn't mean they are using system resources, just check your own Task Manager or look at the images already displayed and you will see that.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.3.6108 (build 24.3.8975.762) UI 1.0.801/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security