Author Topic: HKLM:software\classes\txtfile\shell\open\command Please help this Nana  (Read 10653 times)

gkdockery

Hi I am new to Avast and need help with some issues I have on my computer. I am running Windows ME. Found virus Win32:Kuang2 and need help getting rid of it...in very simple terms please...I don't know much about a computer. Also every time I run The avast worm/virus cleaner it says I have a virus in my registry that is called,
HKLM:softward\classes\txtfile\shell\open\command
Each time the program fixes it but comes back the next scan. What do I do?  I have tried also to download the Windows update thinking it might help my security problems but can't even do that......It won't install all the needed items.
Please help me....Thanks, gkdockery

whocares

Re:HKLM:software\classes\txtfile\shell\open\command Please help this Na
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2004, 03:38:52 PM »
Hi gkdockery,

what Win do you have ?

a) please look in your other post about the Kuang stuff
b) navigate to the said registry key (with regedit.exe) and tell us what it says there (should be something like: <path to notepad.exe> %1 )

try also the avast cleaner from avast main page, maybe it cleans it up, too
 ;)

gkdockery

« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2004, 09:45:07 PM »
I have Win ME...I feel so dumb but I don't know what you mean by:
b) navigate to the said registry key (with regedit.exe) and tell us what it says there (should be something like: <path to notepad.exe> %1 )
how do I do this?
Please forgive my ignorance. My son use to help me with computer stuff and he moved to Australia...He never taught me just did it for me and now I am on my own with these problems and a 53  year old brain.... :D
I would appreciate it if  you didn't give up on me....Thanks

Offline igor

• Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
    • AVAST Software
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2004, 10:01:51 PM »