Author Topic: Resident Protection: Am I Missing Something?  (Read 6206 times)

Silver_Rain

Resident Protection: Am I Missing Something?
« on: April 04, 2008, 01:31:17 AM »
Hi, I'm new to avast!, so forgive me if this is a silly question/problem. I recently downloaded and installed avast! 4.8. It works quite well in its web protection, however, one thing has me worried.

I disabled all protection and then downloaded the EICAR test file (from their website). Now, I didn't expect avast! to stop me, since I disabled the protection; no problems there. However, I then re-enabled protection, and then proceeded to (1) extract the ZIP (which contained the test file) and (2) run the executable file inside. In both cases, avast! showed no alerts.

Now, I'm not sure if my configuration is wrong, but shouldn't avast! Resident Protection stop me from running the file? I read through the help files and browsed through these forums, but I couldn't find out how to make avast! block the file from executing in real-time; a manual scan detects the virus, but I'd rather not have to manually scan every file on my computer, especially ones that were created before the installation of avast!.

Alright, another issue: whenever I boot up my computer, I get the blue icon in the system tray, except it has a red slash through it. That is, resident protection is disabled. However, after about a minute, it turns on. Is there a way to speed up the startup? Maybe a registry tweak so that avast! starts immediately?  ???
« Last Edit: April 04, 2008, 01:49:51 AM by Silver_Rain »

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
Re: Resident Protection: Am I Missing Something?
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2008, 03:51:37 AM »
(1) extract the ZIP (which contained the test file)
Depending of your settings... the default ones should alert you.

(2) run the executable file inside. In both cases, avast! showed no alerts.
It should alert you... unless you've changed settings deeply.