Author Topic: bmail.exe  (Read 11079 times)

TimeTraveller

bmail.exe
« on: June 21, 2007, 03:37:40 PM »
I'm getting a false positive with a file called bmail.exe which I use to mail my self various logs and other information from client computers.

Bmail is a handy command line SMTP mailer which works nicely in scripts.

Can this please be fixed? And why has AVAST chosen this moment in time to nuke it after I have been running it for nearly 3 years?

Time Traveller

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: bmail.exe
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2007, 03:43:33 PM »
You could also check the offending/suspect file at: VirusTotal - Multi engine on-line virus scanner I feel virustotal is the better option as it uses the windows version of avast (more packers supported) and there are currently 32 different scanners.
Or Jotti - Multi engine on-line virus scanner if any other scanners here detect them it is less likely to be a false positive. Whichever scanner you use, you can't do this with the file in the chest, you will need to move it out.

If it is indeed a false positive, add it to the exclusions lists (Standard Shield, Customize, Advanced, Add and Program Settings, Exclusions) and Restore it to its original location, periodically check it (scan it in the chest), there should still be a copy in the chest even though you restored it to the original location. When it is no longer detected then you can also remove it from the Standard Shield and Program Settings, exclusions.

Also see False Positives, how to report it to avast! and what to do to exclude them until the problem is corrected.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.3.6108 (build 24.3.8975.762) UI 1.0.801/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2007, 11:41:47 PM »