Author Topic: Radmin 3.0 (Remote Administrator Server 3.0)  (Read 9971 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 10nico

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • I'm a gnu!
Radmin 3.0 (Remote Administrator Server 3.0)
« on: January 24, 2008, 01:13:14 PM »
Hi to all, in my company we have ADNM and 380 licenses, and suddenly avast started removing our Remote Administrator Server 3.0 installations throughout all the clients/servers because it recognizes it as a trojan.
The old installations that still use Radmin Server 2.2 ARE NOT affected, and neither the Radmin Viewer 3.0 is affected.

Obviously it is not, so I'm asking here to have Radmin Server 3.0 removed from the list of trojans in the next definition updates.

Please let me know as soon as the problem is corrected.

Thank you

Michele
Live long and prosper

Offline chocholo

  • Avast Blinking Boxes Crowd
  • Administrator
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 646
  • BSC, GSC, MCP
    • Avast
Re: Radmin 3.0 (Remote Administrator Server 3.0)
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2008, 02:53:28 PM »
Please can you provide us a copy of the file? Possibly upload it to the ftp://ftp.avast.com/ and place notice about upload here, thanks.

Offline 10nico

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • I'm a gnu!
Re: Radmin 3.0 (Remote Administrator Server 3.0)
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2008, 04:00:12 PM »
Hi, I'm unable to upload the file to the ftp server you provided.
It keeps telling me I'm not allowed to upload files.
I tried to upload in the root "/" , into "/pub" and into "incoming".
Into "/incoming" it seems to upload ok but then at the end the file disappears.
I tried with the .exe file and also by zipping it with password (to avoid content filtering).

I tried through proxy and directly through a machine with direct connectivity to internet.

HELP!

Thank you in advance,

Michele
Live long and prosper

Offline HowardBl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Radmin 3.0 (Remote Administrator Server 3.0)
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2008, 08:07:47 PM »
Also having this problem.  I have temporarily disabled the scanning of c:\windows\system32\rserver30\*.  Would appreciate a solution asap.  The file has been uploaded to te incoming folder of your FTP site.

regards
Howard
« Last Edit: January 24, 2008, 08:10:40 PM by HowardBl »

Offline 10nico

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • I'm a gnu!
Re: Radmin 3.0 (Remote Administrator Server 3.0)
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2008, 07:41:01 AM »
Also having this problem.  I have temporarily disabled the scanning of c:\windows\system32\rserver30\*.  Would appreciate a solution asap.  The file has been uploaded to te incoming folder of your FTP site.

regards
Howard


How did you manage to upload the file???
Which ftp client did you use? To me it keeps disappearing, I even tried here at home but nothing changes, the file disappears after the transfer.

By the way, the uploaded files are two: rserver3.exe and rserver3.zip (zipped with "avast" password).

Please let us know when the problem is fixed!

Thank you

Michele
Live long and prosper

Offline HowardBl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Radmin 3.0 (Remote Administrator Server 3.0)
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2008, 09:18:48 AM »
How did you manage to upload the file???
Which ftp client did you use? To me it keeps disappearing, I even tried here at home but nothing changes, the file disappears after the transfer.

By the way, the uploaded files are two: rserver3.exe and rserver3.zip (zipped with "avast" password).

Please let us know when the problem is fixed!

Thank you

Michele
Used IE7 with 'Open FTP site in windows explorer' selected from the Page button.
Then just drag and drop the file.

Regards
Howard

Offline chocholo

  • Avast Blinking Boxes Crowd
  • Administrator
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 646
  • BSC, GSC, MCP
    • Avast
Re: Radmin 3.0 (Remote Administrator Server 3.0)
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2008, 09:41:27 AM »
...
Hi, I'm unable to upload the file to the ftp server you provided.
It keeps telling me I'm not allowed to upload files.
I tried to upload in the root "/" , into "/pub" and into "incoming".
Into "/incoming" it seems to upload ok but then at the end the file disappears.
...
There is write only access to this folder, so after upload you'll not see uploaded file - we've received all radmin3.exe and radmin3.zip files, however avast! is not detecting any of those files as trojan-gen.

Offline 10nico

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • I'm a gnu!
Re: Radmin 3.0 (Remote Administrator Server 3.0)
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2008, 06:50:08 PM »
Ah, I see, it is a write-only folder!
Well, the important thing is that you did receive the files.

I've noticed that now , with the 080125-3 (dated 25-01-2008)definitions it doesn't recognize the files any longer as trojans.

The version that wrongly identified the files as trojans was the 23-01-2008 definition (I don't remember the number, maybe it was the 080125-2 but I'm not sure).

So, should I consider the problem fixed?

Thank you for your support

Michele
Live long and prosper

Offline HowardBl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Radmin 3.0 (Remote Administrator Server 3.0)
« Reply #8 on: January 25, 2008, 09:47:51 PM »
...
Hi, I'm unable to upload the file to the ftp server you provided.
It keeps telling me I'm not allowed to upload files.
I tried to upload in the root "/" , into "/pub" and into "incoming".
Into "/incoming" it seems to upload ok but then at the end the file disappears.
...
There is write only access to this folder, so after upload you'll not see uploaded file - we've received all radmin3.exe and radmin3.zip files, however avast! is not detecting any of those files as trojan-gen.

Funny!  The problem has now gone away.  I removed the exclusion from RSERVER3.EXE expecting it to fail and bobs your uncle it ran OK!  I guess the new definition fixed the problem.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2008, 09:49:35 PM by HowardBl »