Author Topic: suspicious message alert but no virus?  (Read 4870 times)

zhola

suspicious message alert but no virus?
« on: February 01, 2008, 06:27:22 PM »
Hi i am new to this so im sorry if i dont give enough technical info. also as my own computer is difficult to use due to this issue im writing this from memory on my works PC.

i run avast on my XP laptop i have service pack 2 and avast always updates regually my ISP is toucan i have broadband through a thompson modem (i think)

about 4 days ago i started to get a pop up from avast saying that too many identical/suspicious messages where being sent from my PC, its asks me what i want to do i always select do not send but its just constantly flashingt up if i try and use the net

i have run a full scan, a boot time scan a memory scan, a full scan in safe mode and it can find nothing. i have also run AVG and Ad-aware again no results

there are a few files that it says it cannot scan some of those i am used to seeing (search and destroy has nnever been able to be scanned by avast) but there are 3 i dont recognize they are in my windows download folder and (they start with numbers i think it was 119 then a whole load more numbers)

the messages are your usual enhance your manhood or make her want you more types that are being sent and there doesnt seem to be much of a pattern in the email address they are being sent to or from.

can any one offer any advise?

i will try to add more details from home if i can get online for long enough again im sorry i cant give more info now.

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: suspicious message alert but no virus?
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2008, 06:35:10 PM »
You appear to have an undetected or hidden trojan spambot on your system. These mass mailers are often hidden by a rootkit.