Author Topic: WINDOWS XP HELP  (Read 4709 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Twitch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
WINDOWS XP HELP
« on: March 15, 2004, 11:17:48 PM »
HELP!!

I installed Avast! 4 Home on my upstairs computer and now it wont boot up, all i see is a black screen! HOW DO I FIX THIS??

Offline Datagg

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 219
  • Perceive things that you cant see
    • Girlfriends Lingerie
Re:WINDOWS XP HELP
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2004, 11:50:31 PM »
A little bit more info. Are you getting a post screen ,ie details on your screen when power applied. Or is it getting to os and not loading from that point.

What os also ....
X64
GA-K8N-SLI
AMD 64 3500+
Nvidia Nforce4
e-Geforce 6800GT - PCI-E 256M
Gig of PC3200 DDR2

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re:WINDOWS XP HELP
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2004, 12:29:42 AM »
Important points:

Did you have any other antivirus application installed in your computer before you install avast?

Which is your system file (FAT32 or NTFS)?  ;)
The best things in life are free.

CoJo

  • Guest
Re:WINDOWS XP HELP
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2004, 01:01:55 AM »
A little bit more info. Are you getting a post screen ,ie details on your screen when power applied. Or is it getting to os and not loading from that point.

What os also ....

this almost sounds like what I got after the first reformat (that wasn't done right!)...had a black screen with 2 XP selections...if I picked the first, Windows loaded...if I picked the second, all I got was an error message saying video could not be displayed.
'Course the shop owner fixed it correctly!

Twitch...welcome to the forums!
Please answer the questions that Datagg and Technical asked with as much detail as you can...they are experts and willing to help but need more information...and I know that from my own experience :-[
Just a thought...are you on a dial up connection, dsl, or cable?

good luck!

cojo

Offline Summoner Yuna

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 181
  • High Summoner Yuna
Re:WINDOWS XP HELP
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2004, 01:03:26 AM »
Just a thought can you boot from the XP CD?
Intel Pentium III 700 mhz desktop
384 MB of RAM
Windows XP
And a apple iBook G3 633 Mhz / upgraded to Mac OS 10.3.9 / 384 MB of RAM

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re:WINDOWS XP HELP
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2004, 01:50:59 AM »
Just a thought can you boot from the XP CD?

Yuna, good shot!  8)
If the user can boot from the CD so some files for booting from the HDD will be missing... Probably: NTDETECT.COM, NTLDR or BOOT.INI
If you have another computer with the 'same' XP you can copy the files from there (or from the CD like Yuna said)  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline Datagg

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 219
  • Perceive things that you cant see
    • Girlfriends Lingerie
Re:WINDOWS XP HELP
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2004, 02:24:55 AM »
from cd, the choice of " load up last known good configuation"..

Should also do the trick....
« Last Edit: March 16, 2004, 04:04:20 AM by Datagg »
X64
GA-K8N-SLI
AMD 64 3500+
Nvidia Nforce4
e-Geforce 6800GT - PCI-E 256M
Gig of PC3200 DDR2