Author Topic: cab archive is corrupted  (Read 38550 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4143
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: cab archive is corrupted
« Reply #45 on: March 13, 2008, 07:35:56 AM »
Hmm... comodo shouldn't make that much of a differenc. I put it on one a while back, hardly any difference. Which version did you use? I see a lot recommending 2.4

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=33530.msg280989#msg280989

Link for version 2.4

http://www.personalfirewall.comodo.com/download_firewall.html#fw2.4

Offline windward

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Re: cab archive is corrupted
« Reply #46 on: March 13, 2008, 10:22:21 AM »
Comodo Firewall Pro 3.0 - Download
Comodo Firewall Pro 3.0 - Latest and greatest version of this superb firewall
32-bit Setup (Available in English language only)
Click here to download
Size: 20.0 MB (21,014,784 bytes)
MD5: 320c74fa6f8296a00f7a820589a01d87
SHA1: 4c386d2ea2db711ccaa656a610a435dae24f8391

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84603
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: cab archive is corrupted
« Reply #47 on: March 13, 2008, 12:40:13 PM »
I believe there are modules in the latest comodo firewall that would run be default that could be disabled, sorry I can't be much practical help as I don't use comodo firewall.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.1.2449 (build 21.1.5968.561) UI-1.0.597/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline psw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
Re: cab archive is corrupted
« Reply #48 on: March 13, 2008, 01:47:52 PM »
I believe there are modules in the latest comodo firewall that would run be default that could be disabled, sorry I can't be much practical help as I don't use comodo firewall.
Yes, Defense+ can be disabled. But there are crossrefereces between Defense+ settings and firewall settings. So manual firewall settings adjustment is required in this case.

Offline malcolmp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: cab archive is corrupted
« Reply #49 on: March 28, 2008, 10:56:06 PM »
My routine avast! weekly scan today gives this result:

C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\Setup Files\RdrBig709\ENUN\Data1.cab\AXE8SharedExpat.dll   Unable to scan CAB archive is corrupted
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\Setup Files\RdrBig709\ENUN\Data1.cab\Bib,dll_NON_OPT   Unable to scan CAB archive is corrupted
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\Setup Files\RdrBig709\ENUN\Data1.cab\/rdrNsgSplash.pdf   Unable to scan CAB archive is corrupted
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\Setup Files\RdrBig709\ENUN\Data1.cab\pdfshell.dll   Unable to scan CAB archive is corrupted
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\Setup Files\RdrBig709\ENUN\Data1.cab\ImageViewer.API_NON_OPT   Unable to scan CAB archive is corrupted
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\Setup Files\RdrBig709\ENUN\Data1.cab\SVGCore.DLL   Unable to scan CAB archive is corrupted
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\Setup Files\RdrBig709\ENUN\Data1.cab\svgrsrc.dll2   Unable to scan CAB archive is corrupted
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\Setup Files\RdrBig709\ENUN\Data1.cab\SVGViewer.dict2   Unable to scan CAB archive is corrupted
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\Setup Files\RdrBig709\ENUN\Data1.cab\ddrvSOFT.x3d   Unable to scan CAB archive is corrupted
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\Setup Files\RdrBig709\ENUN\Data1.cab\Psapi.Dll   Unable to scan CAB archive is corrupted
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\Setup Files\RdrBig709\ENUN\Data1.cab\DataMatrix.pmp   Unable to scan CAB archive is corrupted

I've read some of the forum posts on this subject, but don't understand them enough to know if I should be concerned about the above scan result or not?

My system runs Windows 2000 Prof.
I also routinely run UniBlue Registry scans and fixes.
Your advice please?


Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: cab archive is corrupted
« Reply #50 on: March 28, 2008, 10:59:41 PM »
Don't worry about that files. They're inert.
By the way, Acrobat 7 was updated to Acrobat 8 ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline malcolmp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: cab archive is corrupted
« Reply #51 on: March 28, 2008, 11:22:21 PM »
Thank  you - I hadn't expected so speedy a reply.
And I'll upgrade Adobe.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: cab archive is corrupted
« Reply #52 on: March 29, 2008, 02:23:55 PM »
Thank  you - I hadn't expected so speedy a reply.
Be used to avast forum speed ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline powerpack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: cab archive is corrupted
« Reply #53 on: April 10, 2009, 07:35:35 PM »
Hi,
I am a new user of AVAST Anti-Virus. I am witching it from AVG. And now I am comfortable with Avast and it works good for me.
But, I have a question about scan result that was found after boot scan this morning.
Here is the result:

04/10/2009 01:32
Scan of all local drives


Scanning aborted
Number of searched folders: 35
Number of tested files: 233
Number of infected files: 0

----------------------------------------
04/10/2009 09:03
Scan of all local drives

File C:\Users\Jay Mataji\Desktop\Downloads\Commandos.3.DB\Commandos.3.DB\Coman3.Install\Commandos3Alt.exe\%MAINDIR%\Data\Wofip\Main_Release.bik Error 42146 {Installer archive is corrupted.}
File C:\Windows\Downloaded Installations\{AD501749-CD49-499A-AD54-51DC42A57434}\PC Suite for Sony Ericsson.msi\Data1.cab\sync.chm4\$FIftiMain Error 42136 {CHM archive is corrupted.}
File C:\Windows\Downloaded Installations\{AD501749-CD49-499A-AD54-51DC42A57434}\PC Suite for Sony Ericsson.msi\Data1.cab\sync.chm11\$FIftiMain Error 42136 {CHM archive is corrupted.}
File C:\Windows\Downloaded Installations\{AD501749-CD49-499A-AD54-51DC42A57434}\PC Suite for Sony Ericsson.msi\Data1.cab\sync.chm22\$FIftiMain Error 42136 {CHM archive is corrupted.}
File C:\Windows\Downloaded Installations\{BD6D62DE-DA03-4C1A-A312-C31F814B768F}\PC Suite for Sony Ericsson.msi\Data1.cab\sync.chm4\$FIftiMain Error 42136 {CHM archive is corrupted.}
File C:\Windows\Downloaded Installations\{BD6D62DE-DA03-4C1A-A312-C31F814B768F}\PC Suite for Sony Ericsson.msi\Data1.cab\sync.chm11\$FIftiMain Error 42136 {CHM archive is corrupted.}
File C:\Windows\Downloaded Installations\{BD6D62DE-DA03-4C1A-A312-C31F814B768F}\PC Suite for Sony Ericsson.msi\Data1.cab\sync.chm22\$FIftiMain Error 42136 {CHM archive is corrupted.}
File C:\Windows\SoftwareDistribution\Download\0ac704fbc981242e850776ac903a6621\BITA899.tmp\mpasdlta.vdm Error 42127 {CAB archive is corrupted.}
Number of searched folders: 16860
Number of tested files: 578418
Number of infected files: 0

 ??? Now, I wonder if you give some comments of this corrupted Archives. What should be proper step for it and what exactly it is for?
I have vista home 32bits system and also used Spybot-Search and destroys, Malwarebytes-Antimalware, and ccleaner frequently.

Thanks in advance.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84603
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: cab archive is corrupted
« Reply #54 on: April 10, 2009, 08:03:04 PM »
I think that has been done in this topic already as it would apply to any archive file (compressed file as the .cab ia a cabinet file, an archive).

The correct step is do nothing, as I doubt you have a means of actually checking if the "Data1.cab" with in yer another archive file .msi "PC Suite for Sony Ericsson.msi" and even if you found it to be corrupt there is little you could do short of removing and downloading the suite installation file \PC Suite for Sony Ericsson.msi\ again.

Even then it may turn out the same as has been said before it could simply mean avast is unable to unpack that .cab file possibly because it is within yet another archive.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.1.2449 (build 21.1.5968.561) UI-1.0.597/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: cab archive is corrupted
« Reply #55 on: April 12, 2009, 10:34:03 PM »
Now, I wonder if you give some comments of this corrupted Archives. What should be proper step for it and what exactly it is for?
Files that can't be scanned are just that, not an indication they are suspicious/infected, just unable to be scanned.
Also, the packaging of the file could have some error, or use a non-standard pattern...
The best things in life are free.