Author Topic: * Introducing * - beta version of avast! Home/Pro 4.8  (Read 40194 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9359
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of avast! Home/Pro 4.8
« Reply #15 on: February 29, 2008, 11:17:03 PM »
I can't start any componet of avast! (splash screen crashes, both simple interfaces crash when i start them via trey menu or directly from avast! folder). It's weird... I'm using Vista SP1 if that makes any difference...

One of the errors from Event Viewer...
Quote
Faulting application ashSimpl.exe, version 4.7.1098.0, time stamp 0x47c70ed0, faulting module kernel32.dll, version 6.0.6001.18000, time stamp 0x4791a7a6, exception code 0xc0000142, fault offset 0x00009cac, process id 0xf84, application start time 0x01c87b2055029b3a.

...and...
Quote
Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name:   APPCRASH
  Application Name:   ashAvast.exe
  Application Version:   4.7.1098.0
  Application Timestamp:   47c6b709
  Fault Module Name:   kernel32.dll
  Fault Module Version:   6.0.6001.18000
  Fault Module Timestamp:   4791a7a6
  Exception Code:   c0000142
  Exception Offset:   00009cac
  OS Version:   6.0.6001.2.1.0.768.3
  Locale ID:   1060
  Additional Information 1:   9d13
  Additional Information 2:   1abee00edb3fc1158f9ad6f44f0f6be8
  Additional Information 3:   9d13
  Additional Information 4:   1abee00edb3fc1158f9ad6f44f0f6be8
« Last Edit: February 29, 2008, 11:20:53 PM by RejZoR »
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of avast! Home/Pro 4.8
« Reply #16 on: February 29, 2008, 11:23:19 PM »
Does the on-access scanner work?
0xC0000142 means "DLL initialization failed". Seems like one of the avast DLLs got somehow corrupted.

Can you try a repair of avast installation?
« Last Edit: February 29, 2008, 11:25:49 PM by Vlk »
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9359
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of avast! Home/Pro 4.8
« Reply #17 on: February 29, 2008, 11:24:34 PM »
Yes, on-access works perfectly, i just can't start anything on-demand.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of avast! Home/Pro 4.8
« Reply #18 on: February 29, 2008, 11:27:11 PM »
Or maybe try disabling the self-defense module (via avast settings -> Troubleshooting page). Note that you will need to restart the machine for this change to become effective.

Does that make any difference?
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline joaopr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of avast! Home/Pro 4.8
« Reply #19 on: February 29, 2008, 11:33:33 PM »
Thanks, great.

A suggestion for this new version:

Improving the beauty of the icon of the taskbar and simple interface.

They are only suggestions, but the avast is best.
Congratulations!

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9359
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of avast! Home/Pro 4.8
« Reply #20 on: February 29, 2008, 11:35:12 PM »
Vlk, repairing instalaltion did NOT helped, however, disabling Self-Protection did the trick. I've disabled S-P, restarted the PC and now i can start simple interface and also splash screen works just fine.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of avast! Home/Pro 4.8
« Reply #21 on: February 29, 2008, 11:37:48 PM »
Got the little beeps when you mouse over the different elements on the main screen - confused me for a moment
Working OK on Vista (non SP1) OK
Integrates with leachget download manager (still)

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9359
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of avast! Home/Pro 4.8
« Reply #22 on: February 29, 2008, 11:43:46 PM »
I've also noticed there is no % progress indication in skinless interface...
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline rdmaloyjr

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1864
  • The beatings will continue until morale improves!
    • The Cross
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of avast! Home/Pro 4.8
« Reply #23 on: March 01, 2008, 12:17:29 AM »
I've just downloaded the beta & doing a Quick scan, 51% complete.  Eveything is fine. :)

I've turned off & blocked the start up of Spyware Terminator to test avast!'s anti-spyware capability.  I hope it is as good or better than ST. ;)  One less program to drain resources will be a boon to the meager capacity of my Dell Hell. ;D
"If you want to make a Conservative angry, tell him a lie. If you want to make a Liberal angry, tell him the truth." - Rush Limbaugh

avast! Free    Mbam Pro   Privatefirewll  WinPatrol Plus               Pentium Dual-Core  Windows 7 64bit SP1  8 gigs of RAM

Offline sanctuary24

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 323
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of avast! Home/Pro 4.8
« Reply #24 on: March 01, 2008, 12:37:30 AM »
how long will this Beta testing last (roughly)?

ps I will wait longer if it means you can perfect it :D

Offline rdmaloyjr

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1864
  • The beatings will continue until morale improves!
    • The Cross
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of avast! Home/Pro 4.8
« Reply #25 on: March 01, 2008, 12:44:02 AM »
After 4.8 has gone Gold, can we try a beta of the Avast! firewall? ;D

Quote
4.8 is quite an important update for us.

It contains the following major improvements:
  - a built-in antirootkit module
  - a built-in self-defense module
  - starting with v4.8, avast is now officially an antispyware application, too (CheckMark certified).

The avast! Personal Firewall beta would give us a complete security package. 8)

I'm in no hurry, ZA does a great job.  I'm just curious about what the avast! firewall will be like. :)
"If you want to make a Conservative angry, tell him a lie. If you want to make a Liberal angry, tell him the truth." - Rush Limbaugh

avast! Free    Mbam Pro   Privatefirewll  WinPatrol Plus               Pentium Dual-Core  Windows 7 64bit SP1  8 gigs of RAM

Offline rdmaloyjr

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1864
  • The beatings will continue until morale improves!
    • The Cross
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of avast! Home/Pro 4.8
« Reply #26 on: March 01, 2008, 02:15:20 AM »
BTW This first beta build will be followed by another one (most likely in about a week). This is because it still doesn't contain some of the anti-rootkit functionality (so far, boot-time scan can be used to detect/remove rootkits; in the next beta, the GUI scanners will also feature antirootkit capabilities).

Any comments on this release are very welcome and appreciated!

Thanks
Vlk
In avast! settings> troubleshooting... "__Disable rootkit scan at system start up" can be checked. 

Does avast! scan for rootkits at system start up?  From the quote above it seems not, but if this option is here, maybe it does?  Or it's here in anticipation of the next beta in which it will scan for rootkits at system start up?

I am using 4.8.1137 beta.
"If you want to make a Conservative angry, tell him a lie. If you want to make a Liberal angry, tell him the truth." - Rush Limbaugh

avast! Free    Mbam Pro   Privatefirewll  WinPatrol Plus               Pentium Dual-Core  Windows 7 64bit SP1  8 gigs of RAM

Offline Go Pack Go

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 215
  • avast!
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of avast! Home/Pro 4.8
« Reply #27 on: March 01, 2008, 02:56:54 AM »
Will the anti-rootkit and self-defense modules be available to avast! Home too?
Windows 7 Professional SP1 x86\avast! Antivirus\Windows Firewall\Spybot Search & Destroy\Windows Defender\SpywareBlaster\Secunia PSI

Windows 7 Professional SP1 x64\avast! Antivirus\Windows Firewall w/ Windows7FirewallControl\Spybot Search & Destroy\Windows Defender\SpywareBlaster\Secunia PSI

Offline rdmaloyjr

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1864
  • The beatings will continue until morale improves!
    • The Cross
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of avast! Home/Pro 4.8
« Reply #28 on: March 01, 2008, 03:32:14 AM »
Will the anti-rootkit and self-defense modules be available to avast! Home too?
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=33621.msg280394#msg280394

Notice he said " avast! Home/Professional - version 4.8".

"If you want to make a Conservative angry, tell him a lie. If you want to make a Liberal angry, tell him the truth." - Rush Limbaugh

avast! Free    Mbam Pro   Privatefirewll  WinPatrol Plus               Pentium Dual-Core  Windows 7 64bit SP1  8 gigs of RAM

Offline jasper2408

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: * Introducing * - beta version of avast! Home/Pro 4.8
« Reply #29 on: March 01, 2008, 06:46:14 AM »
My testing setup:

WinXP SP2 x32
Superantispyware Pro (version 4.0.1146)
Windows firewall
Avast Beta
Sandboxie (paid for version 3.22)
KeyScrambler Pro (version1.3.3)


When I open Firefox in Sandboxie a message pops up saying that FF is already open and that I have to either close the open instance or restart. I checked for running processes and FF is not running so I restart and still get the same popup message when FF is opened with Sandboxie.

Here is what I have tried so far:

1. I have tried disabling all the modules (one at a time then checking again) in Avast but that doesn't fix it.
2. I uninstalled the beta and reinstalled the previous version I had and FF works with Sandboxie.
3. I ran FF with the proxy settings enabled and without the proxy settings enabled and it made no difference.
4. I uninstalled SAS just to be sure that wasn't the problem but still get the popup.
5. I  uninstalled/reinstalled Sandboxie but that made no difference.
6. Disabled KeyScambler and still get popup.

I also reinstalled the beta version again(just to see if maybe it was a bad install) and I get the popup window again. FF will work ok if I start it without using Sandboxie with the beta installed. Also IE7 works in the sandbox with the beta.

Everything works fine except for FF and Sandboxie. Gonna keep this beta on as it is running fine otherwise. Nothing is crashing or anything and nothing else seems out of the norm.

jasper
« Last Edit: March 01, 2008, 07:51:47 AM by jasper2408 »