Author Topic: Where is the "Menu"???  (Read 5007 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

JCraigman

  • Guest
Where is the "Menu"???
« on: August 15, 2004, 07:50:02 AM »
I know I'm not blind, but I can't seem to find the "menu" in the simple user interface.  The help file suggests to open the menu from the simple user interface to do things like change skins, view last scan results, etc.  Help?
« Last Edit: August 15, 2004, 08:01:11 AM by JCraigman »

Offline radicalb21

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 438
  • Be Safe. Be Smart. Use Common Sense.
Re:Where is the "Menu"???
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2004, 08:29:37 AM »
Hey Craig,
It's radicalb21. First let me say welcome to the forum. To answer your question to get to the menu in the simple user interface. Double click your avast antivirus icon on your desktop. If you are using the default skin it is located in the upper left hand corner you will see a little up arrow or a triangle. Then click the button.  A drop down menu will appear and give you various options. if you don't like the skin other skins can be downloaded from this page:

http://www.avast.com/eng/download/skins/index.html

I hope this helps. The menu option is easier to find in the newer skins. If you have any questions please feel free to ask.
iMac 21.5 " Mid 2011 2.7 GHz Intel Core i5
4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
AMD Radeon HD 6770M 512 MB

Offline MikeBCda

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2248
Re:Where is the "Menu"???
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2004, 05:51:47 PM »
One other way - and I don't know if this works in all the skins, but it should be independent of the skin design.

When your interface is open, right-click anywhere on it and that should also bring up the menu.  Not on the tooltray icon, that's a totally different menu.
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent

ght1

  • Guest
Re: Where is the "Menu"???
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2008, 08:37:41 PM »
Sorry, i know this topic is very old  :-[

But i still have the same problem, i can't find the "Menu" in the simple user interface. How can i get to skin interface? Is it a bug?
« Last Edit: March 01, 2008, 08:39:36 PM by ght1 »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: Where is the "Menu"???
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2008, 09:10:52 PM »
i can't find the "Menu" in the simple user interface.
Right click the skin.

How can i get to skin interface?
You must check the option to see skins. Right click the blue icon > Program Settings > Common.
Start avast antivirus by the system tray icon menu or execute ashSimpl.exe from avast folder.
The best things in life are free.

ght1

  • Guest
Re: Where is the "Menu"???
« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2008, 09:23:35 PM »
Right click the skin.

This doesn't work.

You must check the option to see skins. Right click the blue icon > Program Settings > Common.

Thank you  ;)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: Where is the "Menu"???
« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2008, 09:27:23 PM »
This doesn't work.
What happens? Doesn't a context menu popup?
The best things in life are free.

ght1

  • Guest
Re: Where is the "Menu"???
« Reply #7 on: March 01, 2008, 09:36:24 PM »
Nothing. No context menu appears in the simple user interface. This is not user-friendly i think  ::)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: Where is the "Menu"???
« Reply #8 on: March 01, 2008, 09:39:22 PM »
Nothing. No context menu appears in the simple user interface. This is not user-friendly i think  ::)
It's not a problem of user-friendly but that your avast installation is bad.
Which skin are you using? Can you try (install) another one?
What happens if your run ashSimp2.exe from avast folder?
The best things in life are free.

ght1

  • Guest
Re: Where is the "Menu"???
« Reply #9 on: March 01, 2008, 09:48:04 PM »
aVist. It only doesn't work with the simple user interface, so i had no chance to get back to "menu" and "skins". But your solution is ok for me.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: Where is the "Menu"???
« Reply #10 on: March 01, 2008, 10:04:37 PM »
aVist. It only doesn't work with the simple user interface, so i had no chance to get back to "menu" and "skins".
These options are under Program Settings in the context menu of the system tray icon too.
The best things in life are free.

ght1

  • Guest
Re: Where is the "Menu"???
« Reply #11 on: March 01, 2008, 10:20:55 PM »
What happens if your run ashSimp2.exe from avast folder?

Avast starts with the simple user interface.

These options are under Program Settings in the context menu of the system tray icon too.

Perfect  ;)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: Where is the "Menu"???
« Reply #12 on: March 01, 2008, 10:23:47 PM »
Avast starts with the simple user interface.
The skinless version ;)

Perfect  ;)
So, can you change them?
The best things in life are free.

ght1

  • Guest
Re: Where is the "Menu"???
« Reply #13 on: March 01, 2008, 10:25:16 PM »
Yes, aVist looks great! :D Thank you!