Author Topic: setiface error by unistalling  (Read 16923 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline calcu007

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 482
  • I'm lamma!
setiface error by unistalling
« on: March 07, 2008, 04:16:07 AM »
I received this error when i tried to unistall Avast

Setiface error has occured: 2
Try to reinstall or contact support, please

any ideas?
Asus Intel i7 8GB RAM , Win 8.1 64 bit, Avast IS

Offline rassel

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 469
  • Avast always the best choice
    • www.avast.com
Re: setiface error by unistalling
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2008, 09:56:03 AM »
Try to repair the avast or install it back and reinstall it ::)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67273
Re: setiface error by unistalling
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2008, 01:44:21 PM »
I suggest:

1. Uninstall avast from Control Panel first.
2. Boot.
3. Use Avast Uninstall for complete uninstallation.
4. Boot.

Why are you uninstalling?
The best things in life are free.

Offline calcu007

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 482
  • I'm lamma!
Re: setiface error by unistalling
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2008, 06:22:54 PM »
i can't uninstall from control panel because that message. i tried the uninstall utility and it didn't remove th program, the files remain in the folder even after a reboot. Maybe the utility needs a update to support latest versions. I want to uninstall because I can't install the beta it gave  me a errror "can't write to servers.def" something like that.

Note: I found the problem. I installed the beta few days ago and uninstalled but some protected registry entries remain in the system
« Last Edit: March 07, 2008, 07:32:50 PM by calcu007 »
Asus Intel i7 8GB RAM , Win 8.1 64 bit, Avast IS

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67273
Re: setiface error by unistalling
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2008, 07:43:46 PM »
Note: I found the problem. I installed the beta few days ago and uninstalled but some protected registry entries remain in the system
Which ones?
The best things in life are free.

Offline calcu007

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 482
  • I'm lamma!
Re: setiface error by unistalling
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2008, 08:50:20 PM »
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ALWIL Software\Avast\4.0  Value=Avast4DataFolder
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ALWIL Software\Avast\4.0        Avast4SkinFolder
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ALWIL Software\Avast\4.0       Avast4ProgramFolder
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Services\avast! Antivirus
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Services\avast! Mail Scanner
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Services\avast! Web Scanner
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Services\avast! Antivirus
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Services\avast! Mail Scanner
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Services\avast! Web Scanner
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\avast! Antivirus
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\avast! Mail Scanner
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\avast! Web Scanner

the last 9 has a value= imagepath. also they can't be removed by WinAso registry optimizer






Asus Intel i7 8GB RAM , Win 8.1 64 bit, Avast IS

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67273
Re: setiface error by unistalling
« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2008, 08:55:04 PM »
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ALWIL Software\Avast\4.0  Value=Avast4DataFolder
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ALWIL Software\Avast\4.0           Avast4SkinFolder
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ALWIL Software\Avast\4.0           Avast4ProgramFolder
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\avast! Antivirus
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\avast! Mail Scanner
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\avast! Web Scanner
Shouldn't be left behind...

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Services\avast! Antivirus
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Services\avast! Mail Scanner
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Services\avast! Web Scanner
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Services\avast! Antivirus
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Services\avast! Mail Scanner
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Services\avast! Web Scanner
They're there for restore purposes (Windows does so): point 001 and 002. It's normal.
The best things in life are free.

Offline calcu007

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 482
  • I'm lamma!
Re: setiface error by unistalling
« Reply #7 on: March 07, 2008, 09:06:53 PM »
Maybe is a bug of the beta. Can you try uninstalling it then installing the latest version(not beta),and then try uninstall it and check if you receive the message
Asus Intel i7 8GB RAM , Win 8.1 64 bit, Avast IS

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4143
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: setiface error by unistalling
« Reply #8 on: March 07, 2008, 09:07:32 PM »
When you used the uninstall utility was the folder path in the box? If it was, I wonder if avast self protection comes into play here?


Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67273
Re: setiface error by unistalling
« Reply #9 on: March 07, 2008, 09:09:26 PM »
Maybe is a bug of the beta. Can you try uninstalling it then installing the latest version(not beta),and then try uninstall it and check if you receive the message
I don't have to test the uninstall of avast (non-beta) as I've tried a lot of times. The Control Panel works in normal installations. The utility will do the job if Control Panel fails.
I did not test the uninstalling of beta though.
The best things in life are free.

Offline calcu007

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 482
  • I'm lamma!
Re: setiface error by unistalling
« Reply #10 on: March 07, 2008, 09:18:55 PM »
When you used the uninstall utility was the folder path in the box? If it was, I wonder if avast self protection comes into play here?



Yes. it appears be a beta problem. That is why I said the the utility needs to be updated. Now I can't install the beta because it give me a error I think it is that some self protection remain in the system even I have version .1098
Asus Intel i7 8GB RAM , Win 8.1 64 bit, Avast IS

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4143
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: setiface error by unistalling
« Reply #11 on: March 07, 2008, 09:24:52 PM »
Have you reported this in the beta section? Looking at the reg keys, it looks like some of the services are still there.

click start, run, in the run box capy and paste this line, click ok. See if the avast services are still there.

services.msc

you should let them know in beta of your problem. Include a link to this thread.
« Last Edit: March 07, 2008, 09:35:27 PM by oldman »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67273
Re: setiface error by unistalling
« Reply #12 on: March 07, 2008, 09:35:49 PM »
Yes. it appears be a beta problem.
Even replicating the post, maybe it will be good to open a new thread in beta forum like oldman said.
The best things in life are free.

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3866
  • Just an avast user
Re: setiface error by unistalling
« Reply #13 on: March 07, 2008, 09:45:49 PM »
I just uninstalled the avast 4.8 beta on my Win XP SP2 machine.

It removed itself without any errors and removed its own registry entries as well.

Although all programs were removed it did leave its Alwil Software folder structure in Program Files.  This should not be a cause of any problem though.

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4143
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: setiface error by unistalling
« Reply #14 on: March 07, 2008, 09:52:26 PM »
I wonder calcu007 has spybot? Teatimer might be causing problems. I know it can effect HJT removing reg keys. Just a shot.  ???