Author Topic: setiface error by unistalling  (Read 16917 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3866
  • Just an avast user
Re: setiface error by unistalling
« Reply #15 on: March 07, 2008, 09:57:10 PM »
I am a little suspicious of the registry settings that calcu007 reported earlier with values set to imagepath.

Offline calcu007

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 482
  • I'm lamma!
Re: setiface error by unistalling
« Reply #16 on: March 07, 2008, 09:58:25 PM »
I just uninstalled the avast 4.8 beta on my Win XP SP2 machine.

It removed itself without any errors and removed its own registry entries as well.

Although all programs were removed it did leave its Alwil Software folder structure in Program Files.  This should not be a cause of any problem though.


Alafr you forgot the reinstall version 4.7 and uninstall it. the error came when you unistall version 4.7. This are the steps.
1. Intall beta. reboot
2. Uninstall beta, reboot
3. Install version 4.7 (not beta)
4. Try to uninstall it.


Oldman I dont have Spybot
Asus Intel i7 8GB RAM , Win 8.1 64 bit, Avast IS

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3866
  • Just an avast user
Re: setiface error by unistalling
« Reply #17 on: March 07, 2008, 10:37:58 PM »
1) uninstalled the avast 4.8 beta on my Win XP SP2 machine.

It removed itself without any errors and removed its own registry entries as well. Although all programs were removed it did leave its Alwil Software folder structure in Program Files.  Restarted system.

2) installed avast 4.7

It installed successfully.  Restarted system.  avast brought VPS files up to date.

3) uninstalled avast 4.7

It removed itself without any errors and removed its own registry entries as well. Although all programs were removed it did leave some of its Alwil Software folder structure in Program Files.  Restarted system.

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4143
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: setiface error by unistalling
« Reply #18 on: March 08, 2008, 12:55:31 AM »
alanre wrote:
Quote
I am a little suspicious of the registry settings that calcu007 reported earlier with values set to imagepath.

What is suspicious? I'm not being a smarta** here, I'm just trying to learn more.  :)

I'm not sure if this is what he meant by image path and just left the lines out.

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Services\mrxsmbb]
"ImagePath"="System32\\drivers\\mrxsmbb.sys"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet003\Services\mrxsmbb]
"ImagePath"="System32\\drivers\\mrxsmbb.sys"


The above are just sample keys from another thread. These are a part of SR.

Offline bcool

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • No sweat!
Re: setiface error by unistalling
« Reply #19 on: March 09, 2008, 02:17:03 PM »
I just uninstalled the avast 4.8 beta on my Win XP SP2 machine.

It removed itself without any errors and removed its own registry entries as well.

Although all programs were removed it did leave its Alwil Software folder structure in Program Files.  This should not be a cause of any problem though.

I see the issue being discussed is more complicated than being able to successfully remove 4.8 Beta and return to 4.7.1098 without problems so I will butt out.  Sorry.
« Last Edit: March 09, 2008, 02:22:13 PM by bcool »

Offline calcu007

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 482
  • I'm lamma!
Re: setiface error by unistalling
« Reply #20 on: March 10, 2008, 11:54:54 AM »
i continue receiving the setiface error message when trying to uninstalling Avast 4.7. Used the uninstall utily in safe mode, it removed avast, then i reinstalled and when I try to unistall it gave me the error. I read something  in the forum about copy the setiface.ovr in setiface.dll, i dont how is that done.
Asus Intel i7 8GB RAM , Win 8.1 64 bit, Avast IS

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67273
Re: setiface error by unistalling
« Reply #21 on: March 10, 2008, 02:00:06 PM »
I read something  in the forum about copy the setiface.ovr in setiface.dll, i dont how is that done.
1. Rename setiface.dll to setiface.old
2. Copy and paste setiface.ovr in the same folder
3. Rename "Copy of setiface.ovr" to setiface.dll
The best things in life are free.

Offline calcu007

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 482
  • I'm lamma!
Re: setiface error by unistalling
« Reply #22 on: March 10, 2008, 08:18:58 PM »
I read something  in the forum about copy the setiface.ovr in setiface.dll, i dont how is that done.
1. Rename setiface.dll to setiface.old
2. Copy and paste setiface.ovr in the same folder
3. Rename "Copy of setiface.ovr" to setiface.dll
well, it didn't work. So i will to wait for the new version to see if it fix it
Asus Intel i7 8GB RAM , Win 8.1 64 bit, Avast IS