Author Topic: Why AVAST dont work with my settings ???  (Read 2241 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BlackSheik

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 164
  • Whats going on ?
Why AVAST dont work with my settings ???
« on: March 12, 2008, 04:21:55 PM »
 Hi,

yesterday i made an Virusscan and i set the option to scan the partitions : C, D, and F but not E.
 
And what is AVAST doing? He scan partition E too. So he need 3 and a half hour for scanning 120GB Grrrrr. The partition E isnt needed to scan because there are only Files from Backups and this files are just scanned (50GB).

Then i mean that AVAST is scanning all the Partitions 2 times but im not sure.

So maybe someone can say me what i can do ?

Greetz
Black Sheik
PC: Windows XP Professional SP3 latest patchpack 1 Time in month is PATCHDAY blerk
Notebook: Windows VISTA Ultimate 64Bit
E-Mailclient : Thunderbird - Browser : Firefox & Opera

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Why AVAST dont work with my settings ???
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2008, 04:28:39 PM »
Twice or repeated scanning shows that the user selected both Local disks and Folder selection and marked all the local disks (by their letters) again.
The best things in life are free.

Offline BlackSheik

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 164
  • Whats going on ?
Re: Why AVAST dont work with my settings ???
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2008, 04:33:24 PM »
Hi Tech,

Doublescanning: ahaaaaaaa maybe this can be. THX.

But what i dont understand is, at last before i press the Button to began the scan i can see that the partitions selected are C,D,F and AVAST is scanning E too why this ?

Greetz
Blyck Sheik
PC: Windows XP Professional SP3 latest patchpack 1 Time in month is PATCHDAY blerk
Notebook: Windows VISTA Ultimate 64Bit
E-Mailclient : Thunderbird - Browser : Firefox & Opera

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85964
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Why AVAST dont work with my settings ???
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2008, 04:42:41 PM »
What avast version are you using Home/Pro ?
What type of scan are you doing (ashquick.exe, on-demand with folder selection, etc., what ?

Why not exclude the partition from on-demand scans ?
Program Settings, Exclusions, Add and enter the drive/partition you want to exclude.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline BlackSheik

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 164
  • Whats going on ?
Re: Why AVAST dont work with my settings ???
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2008, 04:50:14 PM »
Hi David,


What avast version are you using Home/Pro ?
Home Free "actual version"
Quote
What type of scan are you doing (ashquick.exe, on-demand with folder selection, etc., what ?
1 Time in a month i do a complete scan of my system, iam open AVAST and then i search the partitions what i want to scan.
Quote
Why not exclude the partition from on-demand scans ?
Program Settings, Exclusions, Add and enter the drive/partition you want to exclude.
No i dont want to exclude it permanent but when im selecting C,D,F and not E so i think that AVAST had no reason to scan E. If he do so it is sensless to select an partition cause AVAST do what he want.

Greetz
Black Sheik
PC: Windows XP Professional SP3 latest patchpack 1 Time in month is PATCHDAY blerk
Notebook: Windows VISTA Ultimate 64Bit
E-Mailclient : Thunderbird - Browser : Firefox & Opera

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85964
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Why AVAST dont work with my settings ???
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2008, 06:10:27 PM »
OK none of those should case the scanning of E, I'm not sure if you fully understand what Tech mentioned. There are three buttons, Local Disks, Folder Selection and Removable Media. If you happen to click the Local Disks that will scan all partitions, if you also click the Folder selection and select the partitions you want to scan, they will also be scanned.

So you would notice at some point that it scanned the E partition, but possibly not that it has scanned the other partitions twice.

So if you want just a selection of your partitions it is important not to click the Local Drives and only the Folder Selection button. When you select the partitions, they are listed in the Selected Paths (see image). At that point ensure that point ensure that E hasn't been selected.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security