Author Topic: IE won't load a site with Avast running  (Read 21280 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline FranckM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: IE won't load a site with Avast running
« Reply #30 on: April 08, 2008, 11:59:04 AM »
I'm using IE or Firefox depending on what for website I'm visiting.


Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3866
  • Just an avast user
Re: IE won't load a site with Avast running
« Reply #31 on: April 08, 2008, 12:03:41 PM »
Ah, trying to make extra work for me huh?  It is just past 3am for me here and time to get some sleep.  I will respond later.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2008, 12:05:51 PM by alanrf »

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3866
  • Just an avast user
Re: IE won't load a site with Avast running
« Reply #32 on: April 08, 2008, 11:49:07 PM »
The intent of the suggested setup is:

a) To remove a potential conflict between the avast browser intercept and any other application placing a similar intercept

b) To allow browser accesses still to be scanned by avast

I have tested this proposed configuration on my system (Win XP Pro SP2) and the configuration is in effect and working as intended as I post this.  This is not a solution to the problem but is a workaround for it.

1) avast

The avast Webshield needs to be running but not attempting to intercept port 80 so we will set avast to scan a different port (it really does not matter which one – so I am using 88 in this example)

In the avast Webshield click “Customize” and then (Basic tab) in the "Redirected HTTP port(s)" box:

change port 80 to be port 88. 

Click “OK”.  To be sure this goes into effect Terminate and Start again the Webshield.

2) Firefox

Tools > Options > Advanced tab > In the “Connections” box click on “Settings”
Select “Manual proxy configuration” and in the “http proxy” box enter:

localhost

In the “Port” box enter:

12080

Click on OK

3) IE

Windows Control Panel > Internet Options > Connections tab > Lan Settings

In the “Proxy Server” section check the box “Use a proxy server …”

In the “Address” box enter:

localhost

In the “Port” box enter:

12080

Click OK, OK

If you now use your browser and check the Webshield of avast you should see the last scanned URL showing.

Please remember to keep these instructions so that you can go through the reverse process to remove the changes if needed - hopefully soon if a resolution can be found for the conflict.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2008, 11:53:47 PM by alanrf »

Offline gopha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: IE won't load a site with Avast running
« Reply #33 on: April 09, 2008, 07:04:58 AM »
Well the install of Avast seems to be correctly working now on my Vista comp. I really have no idea how it was fixed. I went home after work yesterday and just started surfing.

Odd.....

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3866
  • Just an avast user
Re: IE won't load a site with Avast running
« Reply #34 on: April 09, 2008, 07:19:55 AM »
I think we call that serendipity ... to be savoured and enjoyed (even though I prefer such mysteries to have a rational explanation).

Offline jwinckelmann

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: IE won't load a site with Avast running
« Reply #35 on: April 12, 2008, 01:01:50 PM »
Any news on these problems?

My notebook with Vista (SP1) also has problems loading web sites via the IE7, at the same time Firefox works fine. After disabling the WebShield also the IE7 loads the sites correctly.

I reinstalled Avast 4.8 from scratch, there are no other virus protection software installed.

Bye,
Jan

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: IE won't load a site with Avast running
« Reply #36 on: April 14, 2008, 12:04:14 AM »
My notebook with Vista (SP1) also has problems loading web sites via the IE7, at the same time Firefox works fine. After disabling the WebShield also the IE7 loads the sites correctly.
Can you activate logging in WebShield?
1. Disable avast self-defense module: Program settings > Troubleshooting tab of settings.
2. Edit <avast>\data\avast4.ini file with Notepad.
3. Find the section [WebScanner]
4. Add the line:
    EnableLogging=1
5. Restart Web Shield in XP\Vista (terminate and start again) or whole PC in case of Win98
6. Browse (trying to access some webpages)

The log file are <avast>\data\log\ashwebsv.log and ashwebsv.ws.
They would be accessible when WebShield is terminated again.
Post them here or send by mail to rypacek (at) asw.cz
After that, disable the logging to avoid a big log file.

Oh, enable the self-defense module again after that.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2008, 12:06:06 AM by Tech »
The best things in life are free.

Offline FranckM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: IE won't load a site with Avast running
« Reply #37 on: April 15, 2008, 11:08:50 PM »
Log file sent !

Please keep this post updated.

Offline FranckM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: IE won't load a site with Avast running
« Reply #38 on: April 22, 2008, 12:08:56 PM »
Hello,

I'm still waiting informations from you. I assume youreceived my email last week (17/04:2008).


Offline Wanglese

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: IE won't load a site with Avast running
« Reply #39 on: April 24, 2008, 01:06:25 PM »
I'm not having the issue, but I've just got off the phone with my nephew, who emailed me a few days ago saying he was having these issues.
I setup his Avast, and it's the same config as mine.

We are both runninx XP Pro, all SP and patches.

If Avast Webshield is running, he cannot load any webpages in IE7, or Firefox.

We tried repair, and customizing the settings, but it seems to just be simply : turn off webshield. Not desirable.


Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: IE won't load a site with Avast running
« Reply #40 on: April 24, 2008, 02:11:38 PM »
I'm still waiting informations from you.
Not from me but from Lukas... hope he can take a look on it.
The best things in life are free.

Offline PHDB

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: IE won't load a site with Avast running
« Reply #41 on: April 26, 2008, 11:11:11 AM »
Hello,

Since I installed Vista SP1 I experience connection problems with IE or Firefox.
In fact I still have an active connection both on my box and on some applications like Live Messenger which are still connected...

However web browsers seem blocked, unable to refresh pages.
If I shutdown Firefox, the process still appears in the running processes and I cannot kill it (though I'm Administror). How is that possible?

The only solution I had was a reboot which I sometimes had to perform brutally with the shutdown button as Windows wouldn't shut with the Menu.

While reading some other forums (in particular this one-in French-
http://www.geckozone.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=63916) a workaround was found

-either by stopping Avast "web shield" service
-either by suspending the whole Avast protection and reactivating it.

Sometimes the first solution worls, sometimes only the second...and sometimes neither of them !

Any idea what could be the problem ?

I have sent you (rypacek (at) asw.cz) the <avast>\data\log\ashwebsv.log log file.

My config
*Avast 4.8.1169 (latest version compatible with SP1)
*ZoneAlarm Pro 7.1.254.000
*MotherBoard Nvidia nForce 430 with latest driver

Thanks for your help

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: IE won't load a site with Avast running
« Reply #42 on: April 26, 2008, 01:57:55 PM »
I bet in some problem with ZA Pro (and privacy features of it) and WebShield.
Which are your settings?
I'm using Vista SP1+ and no problems with WebShield. Oh, I use PCTools firewall while in Vista.
Now I'm on Linux ;)
The best things in life are free.