Author Topic: Major problem with Avast! 4.8 [Comodo 3 + Spyware Terminator scenario]  (Read 9325 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rdmaloyjr

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1864
  • The beatings will continue until morale improves!
    • The Cross
Re: Major problem with Avast! 4.8 [Comodo 3 + Spyware Terminator scenario]
« Reply #15 on: March 31, 2008, 08:16:21 PM »
I have a problem that may be associated with AVAST (web protection) or if not to Comodo 3 Firewall (can't see anything else). From times to times upon rebooting I can't properly surf on the internet. My connection is ACTIVE (I can update AVAST) but I can't surf with my browsers. Usually after a reboot the problem is gone. ???

This is obviously a problem with Comodo as avast! doesn't block browsers.

I don't see why anyone messes with Comodo, it's nothing but trouble!

There are excellent free firewalls that are easy to use.

"If you want to make a Conservative angry, tell him a lie. If you want to make a Liberal angry, tell him the truth." - Rush Limbaugh

avast! Free    Mbam Pro   Privatefirewll  WinPatrol Plus               Pentium Dual-Core  Windows 7 64bit SP1  8 gigs of RAM

Offline PiCo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • PiCo-site
Re: Major problem with Avast! 4.8 [Comodo 3 + Spyware Terminator scenario]
« Reply #16 on: March 31, 2008, 09:05:36 PM »
I'd really love to see a minidump, really. Without it, we can just speculate about what the problem really is... :-[
I guess minidump is created when you have a BSoD or a system error, in Windows/minidumb folder. I can't get a BSoD cause by saying "my system crashes", I mean "it tottaly freezes". No errors, no anything, it's like hitting the "pause" button for windows.

Only way out, was the reboot button. Even then, no minidumb file.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11765
    • AVAST Software
Re: Major problem with Avast! 4.8 [Comodo 3 + Spyware Terminator scenario]
« Reply #17 on: March 31, 2008, 09:11:46 PM »
Do you have a PS/2 keyboard? (i.e. not USB)
(not necessarily connected - but one you could connect)

Offline PiCo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • PiCo-site
Re: Major problem with Avast! 4.8 [Comodo 3 + Spyware Terminator scenario]
« Reply #18 on: March 31, 2008, 09:23:17 PM »
Do you have a PS/2 keyboard? (i.e. not USB)
(not necessarily connected - but one you could connect)
PS/2 by Logitech with it's software on. This is the exact model -> http://www.plaisio.gr/product.aspx?catalog=23&category=69978166&product=784575

I was able to move the mouse, when the system froze, but clicking on sth wouldn't do anything. Cntr+Alt+Del wouldn't do anything either, I think it gave me an error once when the system was frozen and I pressed it like a hundrend times. Said it couldn't open task manager.

Oh I would really love it if you could send me the previous setup.exe file for Avast!. The latest 4.7 version I mean. I have lost it.
My e-mail is in my profil for mods to see.

Thank u!!

Offline Giraffe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 241
  • I'm not a Lama!
Re: Major problem with Avast! 4.8 [Comodo 3 + Spyware Terminator scenario]
« Reply #19 on: March 31, 2008, 09:25:52 PM »
You can get former versions here:

http://www.filehippo.com/download_avast_antivirus/

on the RH side of the page.
W7 Pro SP1 32 bit
Intel Core i5 5675C; 4GB DDR3 1600 RAM
Avast!: 2328; Comodo Firewall

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11765
    • AVAST Software
Re: Major problem with Avast! 4.8 [Comodo 3 + Spyware Terminator scenario]
« Reply #20 on: March 31, 2008, 09:28:10 PM »
Try to invoke a memory dump by the magic shortcut, as described here... it's possible that it will work (and tell us why it froze).

There are changes in registry necessary to be made first - I guess they can be done in safe-mode.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2008, 11:15:43 PM by igor »

Offline Dieselman

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 621
Re: Major problem with Avast! 4.8 [Comodo 3 + Spyware Terminator scenario]
« Reply #21 on: March 31, 2008, 10:42:33 PM »
I have a problem that may be associated with AVAST (web protection) or if not to Comodo 3 Firewall (can't see anything else). From times to times upon rebooting I can't properly surf on the internet. My connection is ACTIVE (I can update AVAST) but I can't surf with my browsers. Usually after a reboot the problem is gone. ???

This is obviously a problem with Comodo as avast! doesn't block browsers.

I don't see why anyone messes with Comodo, it's nothing but trouble!

There are excellent free firewalls that are easy to use.



I use Comodo 3.0 and Avast 4.8 on both my desktop and laptop with no troubles. I am also a Comodo team member.

Offline tush_jainn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Hi!

I face issue with Avast and Comodo (both latest version, vista ultimate).
1. Boot is very very slow, i have dual core AMD processor and 2.5 GB RAM.
2. Internet becomes very very slow as if both are monitoring network.
I tried replacing Avast with AVG, it works fine, though i want to use Avast.
I have Threat Fire too but i doubt that it has anything to do with the issue, though i will try uninstalling it too.

Please assist.


Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
I have Threat Fire too but i doubt that it has anything to do with the issue, though i will try uninstalling it too.
I won't be so self-confident on this... I'd like to see your tests without ThreatFire...
The best things in life are free.

Offline maybeok0

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
Hi,
Just a suggestion?

Uninstall the Comodo 3.0 and download and try the older Comodo Version 2.4

I had simular problems with the Version 3.0 owing to its highly sophisticated programming

I found the 2.4 meets my needs

Regards