Author Topic: Error with avast! 4.8 [antirootkit-related]  (Read 47096 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MauriceW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
Re: Error with avast! 4.8 [antirootkit-related]
« Reply #15 on: April 01, 2008, 01:23:39 AM »
DavidR,

Sorry but it is a show stopper for me.

At the cold boot this morning (after a chkdsk),
WinPatrol, Sandboxie and Avast! all were hung - but Online Armor seemed OK. Event viewer reported the aswan error, although I had disabled the rootkit startup scan.

Managed to disable Sandboxie at startup - after a forced shutdown, restart produced same problems.
Attempt to get to Avast settings produced a window reporting RPC Error, and FAQ button started IE which was then hung.

Managed to kill WinPatrol in Program Manager,
meanwhile (5mins) somehow Sandboxie and Avast had come good.

Cold restart - Avast Ok this time -

Tried "Delay loading Avast Services ..." - reboot - Avast not started.
"The AAVM subsystem reported a RPC Error"

All in all, most unsatisfactory, so its back to Avast! 4.7 for me
at least until Vlk can report success with the fix for the root kit scan.

very dissappointed

Maurice

P.S. On more thing to try - Disable Avast! Raw disk Access at Boot.

Win7 Home 4GB RAM on HPdv7 dual HD
Office2007; Regular ERUNT
Security:-  Avast! 5 , All browsing in Sandboxie 3.46 Occasional SAS, MBAM
OS fairly stable - no malware.

Offline jwa

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Error with avast! 4.8 [antirootkit-related]
« Reply #16 on: April 01, 2008, 01:36:26 AM »
I am having many of the same problems. I have three programs in common with you; Avast, WinPatrol, and Online Armour. I am using xp home and am only using one partition (NTFS)
I started a post called trouble with start up with 4.8 before I saw this.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2008, 01:39:02 AM by jwa »

Offline MauriceW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
Re: Error with avast! 4.8 [antirootkit-related]
« Reply #17 on: April 01, 2008, 02:20:23 AM »
jwa, et al

Update on previous post:-

Disabled "Raw disk access in Avast! boot-time scan"
Re-boot - (chkdsk) - WinPatrol, Avast! and OA all OK.
IE and OE OK in Sandboxie.

Re-enabled "rootkit scan on system startup"
Re-boot - (no chkdsk) - hung with blank desktop until mouse moved then desktop filled - WinPatrol, Avast! and OA all OK.
IE and OE OK in Sandboxie.

So, maybe attention needed to raw disk access at boot-time scan.

In both cases, Sandboxie control was NOT set to start when Windows starts - (starts when needed by IE and OE which are forced processes).

Reset Sandboxie to start when Windows starts.

Will reboot and report back.

Maurice
Win7 Home 4GB RAM on HPdv7 dual HD
Office2007; Regular ERUNT
Security:-  Avast! 5 , All browsing in Sandboxie 3.46 Occasional SAS, MBAM
OS fairly stable - no malware.

Offline MauriceW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
Re: Error with avast! 4.8 [antirootkit-related]
« Reply #18 on: April 01, 2008, 02:51:09 AM »
Hello again,
especially Doug, whose thread we seem to have stolen - sorry!

To update my experiences:
With raw disk access in avast! boot-time scan disabled
and rootkit scan enabled:

Reboot (no chkdsk) - winPatrol, Avast!, Online Armour and Sandboxie Control all have correct icons in Tray and seem OK.
IE and OE ok in Sandbox.

So, in my case at least, the problem lies with the Avast! raw disc access module, although Event viewer / Antivirus continues to report the aswar scan function failure.

For the while, I'll keep Avast! 4.8 with rootkit scan and raw disk access disabled and await developments.

Hope this helps improve Avast! 4.8

Maurice
Win7 Home 4GB RAM on HPdv7 dual HD
Office2007; Regular ERUNT
Security:-  Avast! 5 , All browsing in Sandboxie 3.46 Occasional SAS, MBAM
OS fairly stable - no malware.

Offline -Doug-

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Error with avast! 4.8 [antirootkit-related]
« Reply #19 on: April 02, 2008, 04:20:45 PM »
In another topic Vlk said that the problem should be solved at last VPS update but unfortunately I still have this problem. Only change is that the error message is little bit different:
2.4.2008 17:13:27   SYSTEM   1520   Internal error has occurred in module aswar scan function failed!, function 00000001. 

As you can notice the function is changed.

EDIT: Well, I noticed that when I start On-Demand scan it doesn't cause error messages anymore so it works little bit better.
« Last Edit: April 02, 2008, 04:26:02 PM by -Doug- »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84759
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Error with avast! 4.8 [antirootkit-related]
« Reply #20 on: April 02, 2008, 05:38:27 PM »
The error number hasn't changed for me it remains the same.

Internal error has occurred in module aswar scan function failed!, function A000010E. 
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.2.2455 (build 21.2.6096.648) UI 1.0.608/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline acapulco08

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Error with avast! 4.8 [antirootkit-related]
« Reply #21 on: April 02, 2008, 06:14:24 PM »
Same to me. Error has remained even with VPS updated (=080401-0).

Offline Tin_W

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Error with avast! 4.8 [antirootkit-related]
« Reply #22 on: April 02, 2008, 07:46:14 PM »
Well everything works fine for me now on my Xp sp2 machine   :)

Offline ZZZ7

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Say no to War.
Re: Error with avast! 4.8 [antirootkit-related]
« Reply #23 on: April 02, 2008, 08:24:33 PM »
I'm getting the same error........

I don't even see any option to disable or manage this new rootkit scan..........where is it supposed to be?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84759
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Error with avast! 4.8 [antirootkit-related]
« Reply #24 on: April 02, 2008, 09:08:59 PM »
Program Settings, Troubleshooting, but there really is nothing to worry about. If it isn't working, it isn't effecting anything else so there is no need to disable it, I haven't.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.2.2455 (build 21.2.6096.648) UI 1.0.608/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline ZZZ7

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Say no to War.
Re: Error with avast! 4.8 [antirootkit-related]
« Reply #25 on: April 03, 2008, 07:24:33 AM »
Thx.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84759
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Error with avast! 4.8 [antirootkit-related]
« Reply #26 on: April 03, 2008, 01:33:53 PM »
Your welcome.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.2.2455 (build 21.2.6096.648) UI 1.0.608/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline acapulco08

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Error with avast! 4.8 [antirootkit-related]
« Reply #27 on: April 03, 2008, 05:02:23 PM »
Error continues remaining the same but since yesterday, after I've updated to VPS 090402-0, the function number indicated in Error Log has changed from A000010E to 00000001. I'm a Neswbie on the forum/matter, in any case is there any possibility of a conflict with other program installed on my PC such as Mail Washer Free 5.1.0 o Spy Sweeper 5.5.7.124 (in any case without antivirus)?
Thanks.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84759
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Error with avast! 4.8 [antirootkit-related]
« Reply #28 on: April 03, 2008, 05:31:31 PM »
They are working on this in the labs trying to replicate the problem and then resolve it.

One important bit of information you don't say is What is your OS and are your Hard Disk partitions FAT32 format, as that seems to be the common link for those with the problem. So bearing that commonality it isn't conflict with other applications.

My error number remains the same, no change there, nothing to do really but wait for the resolution from avast.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.2.2455 (build 21.2.6096.648) UI 1.0.608/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Rick F

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 419
  • _______
Re: Error with avast! 4.8 [antirootkit-related]
« Reply #29 on: April 03, 2008, 05:55:05 PM »
Hi DavidR,

Question... are you FAT32?  Don't see it in your sig line.

Thanx.
Dell Dimension; Intel-core2 duo; WinXP Media Ctr; 2.8ghz - NTFS; 1-Gig Ram; NVIDIA GeForce 7300LE; Firefox 19.0.2; OE-6; ZA-7.0.302; avast 6.0.1367; / DropMyRights / MalwareBytes-Free / Symantec LiveState Recovery Desktop 6.0 / (using WOT), MVPS HOSTS file, SpywareBlaster, WinPatrol PLUS,