Author Topic: Avast 4.8 skips "System Volume Information"  (Read 25497 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Malkor

  • Guest
Re: Avast 4.8 skips "System Volume Information"
« Reply #30 on: April 12, 2008, 08:06:22 PM »
I guess you forgot the post that stated that 2.1GB cannot be scanned instantly.

Why does yours say AshSimp2?

Can't you follow simple instructions? If you want help,then follow Igor's instructions, if you don't then stop complaining.

I did, I got a 32MB log file.  Not to mention the instructions did not state what to do with the file.  What, just leave it on my hard drive platters for me to stare at?
« Last Edit: April 12, 2008, 08:09:44 PM by Malkor »

Offline calcu007

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 482
  • I'm lamma!
Re: Avast 4.8 skips "System Volume Information"
« Reply #31 on: April 12, 2008, 08:09:29 PM »

Using this fact, just because your FileMon reads the directory does not mean Avast! actually scans the files.

Why not? FileMon clearly shows that AshSimp2.exe accessed (see the process column) the files. You even don't understand the program. Why you argue with Avast developers? You think that you know more than them.
Asus Intel i7 8GB RAM , Win 8.1 64 bit, Avast IS

Offline calcu007

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 482
  • I'm lamma!
Re: Avast 4.8 skips "System Volume Information"
« Reply #32 on: April 12, 2008, 08:10:25 PM »
I guess you forgot the post that stated that 2.1GB cannot be scanned instantly.

Why does yours say AshSimp2?

Can't you follow simple instructions? If you want help,then follow Igor's instructions, if you don't then stop complaining.

I did, I got a 32MB log file.  Not to mention the instructions did not state what to do with the file.  What, just leave it on my hard drive platters for me to stare at?

Then make a screen shot like Alan made
Asus Intel i7 8GB RAM , Win 8.1 64 bit, Avast IS

Malkor

  • Guest
Re: Avast 4.8 skips "System Volume Information"
« Reply #33 on: April 12, 2008, 08:16:24 PM »
I should have the screen shot ready in 45 minutes.

Malkor

  • Guest
Re: Avast 4.8 skips "System Volume Information"
« Reply #34 on: April 12, 2008, 09:05:00 PM »
Here is the screen shot, the error can be duplicated on six computers.

« Last Edit: April 12, 2008, 09:07:05 PM by Malkor »

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11809
    • AVAST Software
Re: Avast 4.8 skips "System Volume Information"
« Reply #35 on: April 12, 2008, 10:01:01 PM »
Well, I can say that this doesn't really make much sense to me... I mean, the fact that the System Volume Information content cannot even be enumerated certainly means that it won't be scanned (let's put aside the reason why for now) - but the percentage certainly shouldn't "jump" here, because even the estimation wouldn't know about the files inside...

Anyway, I'd be interested in the "ashQuick" scan of the System Volume Information folder only (the File Monitor log), as I wrote in my original post... it's rather unnecessary to scan the whole drive using Simple UI,,,

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3866
  • Just an avast user
Re: Avast 4.8 skips "System Volume Information"
« Reply #36 on: April 12, 2008, 11:23:28 PM »
I am able to reproduce the error seen by Malkor (access denied) by performing a scan as a limited account user. 

The other tests I conducted were as an administrator.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Avast 4.8 skips "System Volume Information"
« Reply #37 on: April 12, 2008, 11:34:41 PM »
Error: Email attachments can only be up to 10MB.  The log is 32MB.
Did you zip it?

The best things in life are free.

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3866
  • Just an avast user
Re: Avast 4.8 skips "System Volume Information"
« Reply #38 on: April 12, 2008, 11:47:21 PM »
Tech,

I think that sending the filemon log is probably unnecessary now since the relevant section was posted above and I suspect that the "access denied" is occurring for the reason I gave above.

If the file is really needed then I am sure the team will advise.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Avast 4.8 skips "System Volume Information"
« Reply #39 on: April 12, 2008, 11:51:26 PM »
Tech,

I think that sending the filemon log is probably unnecessary now since the relevant section was posted above and I suspect that the "access denied" is occurring for the reason I gave above.

If the file is really needed then I am sure the team will advise.
Ok. My question remains... did the user zip the log? I'm impressed with a zipped file of 32Mb...
The best things in life are free.

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3866
  • Just an avast user
Re: Avast 4.8 skips "System Volume Information"
« Reply #40 on: April 12, 2008, 11:55:25 PM »
I doubt that the user had zipped the file.  My equivalent log (for scanning just my C: drive) was 76.5Mb and zips down to just less than 5Mb.

Malkor

  • Guest
Re: Avast 4.8 skips "System Volume Information"
« Reply #41 on: April 13, 2008, 03:48:41 AM »
My email provider bans the use of zip and exe files.  I should be able use rar and other formats if memory serves.

Out of all of the machines, two of them are logged as "the Administrator" account and still has this bug.

It only occurs whenever I use the full system scan option, as it also double scans files as well (no other scan does this to my knowledge).  However on Windows Vista I am totally banned (even on "the Administrator" account, the people who built the machine had it set up that way despite Microsoft not recommending it) from accessing the data in System Volume Information.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2008, 03:52:58 AM by Malkor »

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3866
  • Just an avast user
Re: Avast 4.8 skips "System Volume Information"
« Reply #42 on: April 13, 2008, 06:15:16 AM »
In "double scanning" do you have the avast report log that shows the files being scanned twice or are you relying on the numbers that you see appearing in the interface?

As I mentioned earlier the number of files scanned as reported by avast in a thorough scan with archives can give numbers that include the files scanned within an archive file.

If you have not set the report to include the scanned files then the filemon log you have created would also serve to show any files that have been scanned more than once.   

Malkor

  • Guest
Re: Avast 4.8 skips "System Volume Information"
« Reply #43 on: April 13, 2008, 06:20:31 AM »
I use both numbers I see in the interface as well as the Filemon log.

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3866
  • Just an avast user
Re: Avast 4.8 skips "System Volume Information"
« Reply #44 on: April 13, 2008, 06:25:13 AM »
As I have tried to explain - the numbers in the interface are not reliable.

Can you post the screenshots of the log showing the same files being scanned please?