Author Topic: Avast & Vista  (Read 5577 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Avast & Vista
« on: April 12, 2008, 09:40:24 PM »
Hi There I get the error message "Application cannot load skin. Function usiGetSkin Failed".  but I don't know how to introduce the solution I've found in the FAQ section in Vista... Does anybody knows How can I fix this?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Avast & Vista
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2008, 12:17:07 AM »
For some reason, ActiveSkin (the 3rd party library avast uses for skinning) does not seem to be working on your system. As a workaround, you may disable skinning in avast or use the skinless version.

Or you will have to register ACTSKIN4.OCX
Follow the instructions:

Select START > RUN...
Enter the following command:

If you have Windows XP/Vista:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\REGSVR32.EXE ACTSKIN4.OCX

If you have Windows XP/Vista x64:
C:\WINDOWS\SysWOW64\REGSVR32.EXE ACTSKIN4.OCX

Press OK (or Enter).
A message saying that the file was successfully registered should appear...
The best things in life are free.

Offline kan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Avast & Vista
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2008, 12:57:25 AM »
Thanks a lot for answering Tech!! I already read that solution in the FAQ section but my problen (kinda stupid boy I am) is that I don't know where in the hell is the start > run command

Offline kan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Avast & Vista
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2008, 12:58:38 AM »
Thanks a lot for answering Tech!! I already read that solution in the FAQ section but my problen (kinda stupid boy I am) is that I don't know where in the hell is the start > run command

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Avast & Vista
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2008, 01:01:33 AM »
I don't know where in the hell is the start > run command
The bottom left of your screen is the start (menu) button.
The run command should be there too, at right.
Or just open a DOS (command) window and write down the command there.
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85960
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast & Vista
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2008, 01:05:30 AM »
Windows Start button and select Run, or press and hold the Windows key on your keyboard, and press the R key, that will open the Run command window.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline kan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Avast & Vista
« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2008, 12:01:11 PM »
Thank you guys! It worked, I run the command but then I got the error message 0x80020009... any clue?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85960
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast & Vista
« Reply #7 on: April 13, 2008, 02:37:09 PM »
What was the full text of the error, I guess it was more than just an error number ?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline psw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
Re: Avast & Vista
« Reply #8 on: April 13, 2008, 02:54:55 PM »
This error is named DISP_E_EXCEPTION. Possible reason is unsufficient rights for operation requested. Do you call regsvr32 under Administrative account?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Avast & Vista
« Reply #9 on: April 13, 2008, 04:55:22 PM »
This error is named DISP_E_EXCEPTION. Possible reason is unsufficient rights for operation requested. Do you call regsvr32 under Administrative account?
Hey... we forgot he's on Vista with UAC.
Better will be open a cmd command with elevated privileges. To launch an elevated command prompt, simply press the Win key; type cmd; press Ctrl+Shift+Enter; and then hit Alt+C to confirm the elevation prompt.
The best things in life are free.

Offline kan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Avast & Vista
« Reply #10 on: April 13, 2008, 05:37:32 PM »
Hi guys, I really appreciate your efforts in helping me (needless to say that hy my lower jaw is at my heels height for your knowlegde) but once I hit the win key I retrieve the main menu back (you know something like the pic that DavidR posted) and no way to "type cmd; press Ctrl+Shift+Enter; and then hit Alt+C"... sorry to be so disgusting but... a helping hand again?

Offline Marc57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1944
  • KISS Rules The World!!!
    • KISS Army
Re: Avast & Vista
« Reply #11 on: April 13, 2008, 05:45:38 PM »
Try this: click on start, all programs, accessories, right click on command prompt and choose run as administrator. Then follow Techs instructions on how to register the DLL.


For some reason, ActiveSkin (the 3rd party library avast uses for skinning) does not seem to be working on your system. As a workaround, you may disable skinning in avast or use the skinless version.

Or you will have to register ACTSKIN4.OCX
Follow the instructions:

Enter the following command:

If you have Windows XP/Vista:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\REGSVR32.EXE ACTSKIN4.OCX

If you have Windows XP/Vista x64:
C:\WINDOWS\SysWOW64\REGSVR32.EXE ACTSKIN4.OCX

Press OK (or Enter).
A message saying that the file was successfully registered should appear...

You can just copy and paste  C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\REGSVR32.EXE ACTSKIN4.OCX  into the command prompt.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2008, 05:49:26 PM by marc57 »
You Wanted the Best You Got the Best the Hottest Band in the World KISS!!!

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Avast & Vista
« Reply #12 on: April 13, 2008, 05:46:32 PM »
(you know something like the pic that DavidR posted)
Are you using XP or Vista?
The best things in life are free.

Offline kan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Avast & Vista
« Reply #13 on: April 13, 2008, 05:53:31 PM »
a) I'm using Vista (better Vista is abusing me)

b) Where in hell is after clicking on start, all programs, accessories, the right click on command prompt and choose run as administrator.???

c) Can I suit Gates for all this?

Offline Marc57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1944
  • KISS Rules The World!!!
    • KISS Army
Re: Avast & Vista
« Reply #14 on: April 13, 2008, 05:59:24 PM »
When you get to command prompt put the mouse pointer on command prompt then click the right mouse button,  A menu will appear, click the left mouse button on run as administrator. then copy and paste


C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\REGSVR32.EXE ACTSKIN4.OCX

into the command prompt, then hit enter on the keyboard.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2008, 06:02:17 PM by marc57 »
You Wanted the Best You Got the Best the Hottest Band in the World KISS!!!