Author Topic: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashQuick.exe  (Read 7728 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline fedora1953

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashQuick.exe
« on: March 23, 2004, 12:58:10 AM »
I have set Avast to scan downloads made by my Download Manager - FreshDownload
After Avast scans the download this error message appears: Scan was completed with error.  Error: The system cannot find the path specified.
This is the path I used:
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashQuick.exe

Are my downloads being properly scanned?  How do I eliminate the error message?

Offline trigger

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 205
  • To air is human, to scuba divine
    • My website on cichlids and diving
Re:C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashQuick.exe
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2004, 08:59:49 AM »
I have had that problem once. Do you rename files in the "save as" box? If so, try it without doing so. Also, are you using the latest freshdownload version?

Peter

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashQuick.exe
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2004, 09:33:50 AM »
ashQuick.exe requires full path name of the file to be scanned passed on the command line.

E.g.

ashQuick.exe possiblevirus.exe

does not work even if ashQuick.exe and possiblevirus.exe were in the same directory. You'd have to use

ashQuick C:\somepath\possiblevirus.exe

instead. This behavior is by design.

Hope this helps,
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline fedora1953

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re:C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashQuick.exe
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2004, 12:43:07 PM »
I don't think you quite understood.  I'll try to make myself clearer.  When I was using AVG anti-virus for scanning downloads I had made with my download manager -
FreshDownload, the path for their integration was
C:\Program Files\Grisoft\AVG6\avgse.exe

I obtained this info from http://www.zipgenius.it/other/avlist.htm and it has always woked without a hitch.  In like manner, Avast should follow the same rule of thumb by using the path:C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashQuick.exe

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11765
    • AVAST Software
Re:C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashQuick.exe
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2004, 12:46:55 PM »
I think Vlk understood - and it really should work this way.
The question is what the download manager passes as the "%s" argument.

Offline fedora1953

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re:C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashQuick.exe
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2004, 12:54:24 PM »
ZipGenius http://www.zipgenius.it/other/avlist.htm
Shows the same argument "%s" for Avast as it does for AVG.  If it's not the same I sure would appreciate the correct one.  Thanks

Offline trigger

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 205
  • To air is human, to scuba divine
    • My website on cichlids and diving
Re:C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashQuick.exe
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2004, 01:00:36 PM »
I have nothing in the parameter box and things work fine with me.

Peter

Offline fedora1953

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re:C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashQuick.exe
« Reply #7 on: March 24, 2004, 01:11:05 PM »
Great...  Thank you sir, that corrected the problem!

Offline trigger

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 205
  • To air is human, to scuba divine
    • My website on cichlids and diving
Re:C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashQuick.exe
« Reply #8 on: March 24, 2004, 01:14:47 PM »
Hey, a lot of people together have a lot of experience... We just have to share it  ;)

Peter