Author Topic: Need Help to Configure Email Alerts with Yahoo (paid account, i.e. Plus)  (Read 5106 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Kesh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Ok, I tried searching the forum first... apologies, couldn't find an answer so here I go:

Server Address:   smtp.mail.yahoo.com
Port:   465
From Address:  I typed here my yahoo address
SMTP Server Requires Authentication:  Checked
User Name:  I typed here my yahoo address, including the @yahoo.com
Password:   I typed here my password to access Yahoo email on the web... (I do not use any local client, I always use Yahoo Mail on the web)

Then on the Alerts section I added my email account (I typed there my yahoo address, including the @yahoo.com).

Tried the "Test" and all I get is a message, in Spanish, that says:  "Se ha forzado la interrupción de una conexión existente por el host remoto"  (which translates to something like: an interruption has been forced in an existent connection by the remote host).


I am tired, have tried like a thousand times and can not get it to work.

LET ME CLARIFY THAT I HAVE USED EXACTLY THE SAME SETUP FOR EMAIL ALERTS IN ANOTHER PROGRAM (ACRONIS TRUE IMAGE) AND IT WORKED PERFECTLY. IT WORKED, AND THERE IS NO DIFFERENCE AT ALL IN THE SETUP OF SMTP.

WHAT IS GOING ON ???????????   What is that I am doing wrong?????

It did work with the other software.....






Offline Kesh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
.... and I just paid for the Family pack.....   :-[
« Last Edit: July 23, 2008, 07:42:09 PM by Kesh »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84922
  • No support PMs thanks
I guess from the port number used (465) that the yahoo account uses secure SMTP SSL connection ?
So I don't know if avast's alerts would be able to send using SSL.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Kesh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
You are right, the instructions in Yahoo help indicate "Use SSL, port 465".

So it doesn´t work then ?????

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84922
  • No support PMs thanks
I don't know, as I don't use SSL email, it seemed that this could be a possibility as the avast email scanner can't scan SSL email.

If you have another account that uses normal smtp protocol you could try that.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Kesh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
I have a free gmail account.... will that work????   If yes, what are the parameters to set it up in Avast???

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84922
  • No support PMs thanks
I don't believe so.

You have to have a email account that allows you to send from a normal smtp account that allows sending through port 25, so gmail being a webmail account won't work.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Kesh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
What I thought was a simple issue, is now a big issue for me. I need the email alerts.

Few questions:

1)  Is there any free email service out there that I register with and use just for Avast to send me a notification to my Yahoo account ?????

2) Or is it better to install and run a free smtp server in my computer and have Avast use it to send the Alerts?  This would be a waste of resources, as I would need the server to be running at all times only for this purpose...

3) Is it too difficult to have the next version of Avast capable of working with Yahoo???
« Last Edit: July 24, 2008, 05:58:32 AM by Kesh »

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8784
YPOPs! - POP3/SMTP Access to Yahoo maybe?
http://sourceforge.net/projects/yahoopops

POP Peeper maybe?
http://www.poppeeper.com
« Last Edit: July 24, 2008, 06:39:41 AM by YoKenny »
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3866
  • Just an avast user
Rather than installing extra software and understanding how to use it you might find it easier to get a free account that offers plain old fashioned port 25 SMTP sending.

One that I have is a free IMAP account from AOL but it comes with no strings attached and the SMTP side works with plain port 25 SMTP using server smtp.aim.com.

Offline Kesh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Finally got it to work.

Just created a free email account with AOL. 

The smtp setting is smtp.aol.com, the port is 587.

Thanks to all for the feedback and help.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84922
  • No support PMs thanks
You're welcome glad that you have it sorted.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security