Author Topic: Network Shield Not Working  (Read 12470 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ioyuioynx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Network Shield Not Working
« on: April 18, 2008, 03:17:17 AM »
I'm using Avast Home 4.8.1169. The Network Shield seems to not be working. It shows the following:

Last scanned:
Last infected:
Scanned count: 0
Infected count: 0
Task Name: Resident protection
Run time: 2:53:24

I hear others saying that its OK, its working as it should and will pop up when it detects an attack. I'm not satisfied with that statement, because I had the Web Shield doing this same thing until I found, by luck, instructions on how to set up a proxy in Firefox.

So before I actually entered the required settings for Web Shield, it too was showing the same stats as Network Shield is now, and at the time, I thought Web Shield too was working as it should, but it obviously it wasn't.

Can you guys see my reason for concern?

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3867
  • Just an avast user
Re: Network Shield Not Working
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2008, 03:22:39 AM »
Please tell us the operating system you are using.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: Network Shield Not Working
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2008, 03:27:36 AM »
Which firewall do you use?
The best things in life are free.

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3867
  • Just an avast user
Re: Network Shield Not Working
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2008, 03:29:46 AM »
ioyuioynx,

you have posted the same thing in four different threads.  Please stay in this one now.

Offline ioyuioynx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: Network Shield Not Working
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2008, 03:38:43 AM »
Please tell us the operating system you are using.

Windows XP Pro SP3.

Offline ioyuioynx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: Network Shield Not Working
« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2008, 03:39:40 AM »
Which firewall do you use?

Online Armour 2.1.0.130

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: Network Shield Not Working
« Reply #6 on: April 18, 2008, 03:41:20 AM »
Online Armour 2.1.0.130
Network Shield is a protection against known Internet worms/attacks. It analyses all network traffic and scans it for malicious contents. It can be also taken as a lightweight firewall (or more precisely, an IDS (Intrusion Detection System).

Basically, it covers all Internet worms. Such as Win32.CodeRed, Win32.SQLSlammer, Win32.Blaster, in32.Welchia (Nachi) and Win32.Sasser.

Messages like:
If you use a firewall and, most important, if your operational system is updated you won't probably receive warnings from NetShield.
The best things in life are free.

Offline ioyuioynx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: Network Shield Not Working
« Reply #7 on: April 18, 2008, 03:42:12 AM »
ioyuioynx,

you have posted the same thing in four different threads.  Please stay in this one now.

My apologies. I just wanted to be sure that the right people would get my post.

I'll redirect all other discussion to here.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: Network Shield Not Working
« Reply #8 on: April 18, 2008, 03:43:43 AM »
My apologies. I just wanted to be sure that the right people would get my post.
Your post is never lost here in avast forums.
The best things in life are free.

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3867
  • Just an avast user
Re: Network Shield Not Working
« Reply #9 on: April 18, 2008, 03:44:02 AM »
Quote
Windows XP Pro SP3.

Then you should not need any kind of proxy to be set up for the Webshield.

Offline ioyuioynx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: Network Shield Not Working
« Reply #10 on: April 18, 2008, 03:46:17 AM »
Quote
Windows XP Pro SP3.

Then you should not need any kind of proxy to be set up for the Webshield.

Not so. The Web Shield was not working until i set up the localhost 12080 proxy.

Offline ioyuioynx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: Network Shield Not Working
« Reply #11 on: April 18, 2008, 03:47:30 AM »
Online Armour 2.1.0.130
Network Shield is a protection against known Internet worms/attacks. It analyses all network traffic and scans it for malicious contents. It can be also taken as a lightweight firewall (or more precisely, an IDS (Intrusion Detection System).

Basically, it covers all Internet worms. Such as Win32.CodeRed, Win32.SQLSlammer, Win32.Blaster, in32.Welchia (Nachi) and Win32.Sasser.

Messages like:
If you use a firewall and, most important, if your operational system is updated you won't probably receive warnings from NetShield.

I get that, but why this:

Last scanned:
Last infected:
Scanned count: 0
Infected count: 0

Why are these always blank or 0?
It certainly doesn't instill confidence.

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3867
  • Just an avast user
Re: Network Shield Not Working
« Reply #12 on: April 18, 2008, 03:49:14 AM »
Then it implies that something else in your system is blocking the intercept that avast sets for port 80.

Are you using any other proxy for Web browsing?

Perhaps VPN software or any kind of browsing "accelerator"?

Offline ioyuioynx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: Network Shield Not Working
« Reply #13 on: April 18, 2008, 03:50:41 AM »
Then it implies that something else in your system is blocking the intercept that avast sets for port 80.

Are you using any other proxy for Web browsing?

Perhaps VPN software or any kind of browsing "accelerator"?

Ad Muncher is all I'm using.

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3867
  • Just an avast user
Re: Network Shield Not Working
« Reply #14 on: April 18, 2008, 03:51:12 AM »
You need to worry when the counts are not zero and something has been scanned.  avast cannot scan anything that does not get through your firewall (and/or router).