Author Topic: Newbie here again - skin questions??  (Read 8171 times)

writerguy

Newbie here again - skin questions??
« on: March 25, 2004, 12:56:39 AM »
Hi,

You forum people have been a great help, so here I am with another question.  ;D

How do I install one of the skins available for download? When I click on the download link, it simply opens another browser screen and displays a screen full of odd symbols. If I right-click on the download link and use the "Save link as" or "Save target as" or whatever that command -- the file I download is a text file. Even if I download it into avasts' "Skin" folder, it never shows up as a skin when I try to change to a different skin within avast.

Anybody tell me what I'm doing wrong?? Thanks!

Gary Speer

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
Re:Newbie here again - skin questions??
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2004, 02:18:47 AM »
Strange!? The download links seem to be hosted at

http://download?.avast.com//files/skins/ (where ? is a number)
http://www.iavs.net/files/skins/
http://files.avast.com/files/skins/

To open a new browser and display odd things the links must be other than the *.aswcs files above. Seems to be an issue of your browser configurations...

Do you use any download manager?
The best things in life are free.

writerguy

« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2004, 02:42:42 AM »
Strange!? The download links seem to be hosted at

http://download?.avast.com//files/skins/ (where ? is a number)
http://www.iavs.net/files/skins/
http://files.avast.com/files/skins/

To open a new browser and display odd things the links must be other than the *.aswcs files above. Seems to be an issue of your browser configurations...

Do you use any download manager?

Nope. I don't use a download manager. When I tried downloading a skin in IE and with Avant (a tabbed IE-based browser), I got the behavior I told you of above.