Author Topic: Scanning Internet Mail  (Read 8854 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ler329

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • I'm a llama!
    • VISIONwerx PR
Scanning Internet Mail
« on: March 24, 2004, 04:54:50 AM »
I've used Mail Wizard as I'm using a non-Ms Outlook email client. I also have internet accounts (Yahoo) setup as well as my POP accounts.

My question....how do I setup the scanner to check the incoming mail of the internet based accounts?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re:Scanning Internet Mail
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2004, 01:27:54 PM »
I've used Mail Wizard as I'm using a non-Ms Outlook email client. I also have internet accounts (Yahoo) setup as well as my POP accounts.

My question....how do I setup the scanner to check the incoming mail of the internet based accounts?

Right click on the 'a' blue icon in the system tray.
Choose 'On-Access Protection...'
Choose the Internet Mail provider at left side of the screen
Click on Customize
Here are the settings for Inbound and Outbound mail.

Hope this help  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline ler329

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • I'm a llama!
    • VISIONwerx PR
Re:Scanning Internet Mail
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2004, 05:37:43 PM »
Okay...but this doesn't work for internet mail. When I watch the scanner there is no "icon" when its checking the internet accounts.

Offline HTilburgs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Freeware rulez!
    • Freeware
Re:Scanning Internet Mail
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2004, 06:28:39 PM »
When you would like to scan your internetbased e-mail like yahoo, msn or hotmail, you have to make sure your e-mail application gets them through a pop-proxy, like HotPopper of FoxPop (part of FoxMail 5)

For use with this application you have to make your configuration something like this.

Example with FoxMail 5:
Smtp Server: localhost
Pop3 Server: localhost
Account login: name@yahoo.com#localhost:8110 (8110 is port of FoxPop)

FoxPop config:
Pop3 port: 8110

Now Avast! sees your  internetbased mail as popmail and the Internet Mail Scan function of Avast should work (test with "add note to message")

Offline ler329

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • I'm a llama!
    • VISIONwerx PR
Re:Scanning Internet Mail
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2004, 06:47:17 PM »
HTilburgs...thanks for the help. When you refer to "local host" do you mean "127.0.0.1" or "pop.mail.yahoo.com"?

Offline HTilburgs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Freeware rulez!
    • Freeware
Re:Scanning Internet Mail
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2004, 08:01:12 PM »
localhost normaly referes to 127.0.0.1
In Windows XP it's defined in \windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts file.

You also have to check for the next lines in avast.ini:

[MailScanner]
Trust=127.0.0.1
[DefaultSmtpServer=127.0.0.1:25]
[DefaultPopServer=127.0.0.1:110]

I hope you'll succeed, otherwise we here from you  ;)
« Last Edit: March 24, 2004, 08:08:40 PM by HTilburgs »

Offline ler329

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • I'm a llama!
    • VISIONwerx PR
Re:Scanning Internet Mail
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2004, 08:16:19 PM »
Okay, not working for me. (It's been a long day!). This is what I've done:

SMTP server: 127.0.0.1
POP server: 127.0.0.1
account login: xxx@yahoo.ca#127.0.0.1:8110
POP server port: 8110 (was 110)

When I check mail, I get an error saying can't find server.

Am I over-looking something?


Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re:Scanning Internet Mail
« Reply #7 on: March 24, 2004, 08:54:48 PM »
Okay, not working for me. (It's been a long day!). This is what I've done:

SMTP server: 127.0.0.1
POP server: 127.0.0.1
account login: xxx@yahoo.ca#127.0.0.1:8110
POP server port: 8110 (was 110)

When I check mail, I get an error saying can't find server.

Am I over-looking something?



Ier, you said my solution is not for Internet Mail? It's only for Internet Mail...
Maybe I have to explain better:

SMTP server: 127.0.0.1
POP server: 127.0.0.1
account login: xxx#yahoo.ca:8110

If you are using the port 811):
POP server port: 8110 (was 110) (into your email account settings)

and into avast4.ini file at section [MailScanner]:
PopListen=127.0.0.1:8110

Can you see this into the help file at section Manual setting of Mail Protection...

Which is your email client?  ;)
« Last Edit: March 27, 2004, 10:14:31 PM by Technical »
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re:Scanning Internet Mail
« Reply #8 on: March 27, 2004, 10:17:16 PM »
Okay, not working for me. (It's been a long day!). This is what I've done:

SMTP server: 127.0.0.1
POP server: 127.0.0.1
account login: xxx@yahoo.ca#127.0.0.1:8110
POP server port: 8110 (was 110)

When I check mail, I get an error saying can't find server.
Am I over-looking something?

Ier, you did not come back to this thread  :'(
The best things in life are free.

Offline ler329

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • I'm a llama!
    • VISIONwerx PR
Re:Scanning Internet Mail
« Reply #9 on: March 27, 2004, 10:44:26 PM »
Technical....thank you for the help (and your concern!). I think I may have it now, but want to confirm.

When the Avast Online scanner checks POP email, the blue icon in the system tray spins, PLUS a new icon appears in the tray. Now when I check my internet account, only the Avast icon spins.

Does this mean its checking the account? Why doesn't the other icon appear?

Offline Datagg

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 219
  • Perceive things that you cant see
    • Girlfriends Lingerie
Re:Scanning Internet Mail
« Reply #10 on: March 27, 2004, 11:40:34 PM »
You have 2 icons that sit in tray, 1 is the vrdb database generator, the other is the access scanner. When email is received, another one will pop in tray, to confirm email scans being performed, once done it will leave tray till next email checks.  
« Last Edit: March 27, 2004, 11:41:09 PM by Datagg »
X64
GA-K8N-SLI
AMD 64 3500+
Nvidia Nforce4
e-Geforce 6800GT - PCI-E 256M
Gig of PC3200 DDR2

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re:Scanning Internet Mail
« Reply #11 on: March 28, 2004, 03:36:48 PM »
Technical....thank you for the help (and your concern!). I think I may have it now, but want to confirm.

When the Avast Online scanner checks POP email, the blue icon in the system tray spins, PLUS a new icon appears in the tray. Now when I check my internet account, only the Avast icon spins.

Does this mean its checking the account? Why doesn't the other icon appear?

If for 'internet account' you mean 'web mail' it's ok.
The second icon is only showed when you check Internet Mail (pop3/smtp).

To be sure that avast! is scanning the emails:

1) You can add a note at the end of each email (Inbound and/or Outbound)

2) You can check if in the email header there is two lines like these:

X-Antivirus: avast! (VPS 0403-19, 03/26/2004), Inbound message
X-Antivirus-Status: Clean
The best things in life are free.

Offline HTilburgs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Freeware rulez!
    • Freeware
Re:Scanning Internet Mail
« Reply #12 on: March 28, 2004, 07:22:23 PM »
Ier329,

Quote
When I check mail, I get an error saying can't find server.

Am I over-looking something?

I saw you on the FoxMail Forum, so I suppose you're using Foxmail.
In that case, don't forget to set the port in Foxmail-Hotmail proxy according to my earlier message.