Author Topic: restarts  (Read 12690 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4143
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
restarts
« on: May 01, 2008, 11:00:24 PM »
I'm trying to get my xp going. When I first hooked up the HD with xp on, avast updated to 4.8, current version.
 
Everything seems to be fine, except after about 5-10 minutes on pogo, the computer just restarts. No BSOD, nothing in the event logs. I turned off auto restart, still no error. I seem to be able to stay on up and running otherwise.

I used this os with avast about a year ago. No such problem. The only thing that has changed at all on the entire hard drive is the version of avast.

Any ideas?


Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82692
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: restarts
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2008, 11:18:15 PM »
Well restarts with out a BSOD (black screen) when you have the auto restart turned off I think are normally hardware related, exactly what is the 64000 dollar question. Have you got the option to write an event to the system log on the system failure section (I think that is a default option though) ?

If this is pogo.com games I don't know how cpu intensive they might be to cause a heat issue. Or enough to stress your RAM, though that does usually end up with a BSOD as a failure to read from RAM, etc. Or if it might be PSU on its way out.

I don't know if you have any tools to monitor temperatures I use Everest, there are others. You could also try one of the RAM testers as that could have the dual purpose of also being cpu intensive and see if the heat rises, etc.

I don't know any way to test a psu or the motherboard for that matter other than to swap with a known good one.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.1.2397 (build 20.1.5069.558) UI-1.0.460/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4143
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: restarts
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2008, 11:32:50 PM »
Hi DavidR

Here's the thing though. I'm using the exact same machine, just  different HD. 98se no problems.

I used it for about a week, while I was tracking down some 98 drives for sound/video card. Pogo was fine then.

Hd seems ok, fast acces, no errors. Maybe, I'll remove one ram and see if it helps.

See why I'm on 98se. less problems.  ;)

Do you know a way I can have both HDs hooked up and boot to either one. It may make searching for the problem if I don't have to keep changing the drives.

I should have mentioned, even with auto restart off, it still restarts.
« Last Edit: May 01, 2008, 11:36:54 PM by oldman »

Offline polonus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 32245
  • malware fighter
Re: restarts
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2008, 11:48:34 PM »
Hi oldman,

Go to Start menu- Run type, eventvwr.exe, check your Application and System log files for errors.

It might tell you what is causing this problem.


In Start Menu Type msconfig <enter>
Click On advanced
Uncheck The option enable Fast Shutdown

Or install this patch: http://www.microsoft.com/windows98/downloads/contents/WURecommended/S%5FWUFeatured/Win98SE/


It could be the bios, it could be UPS overload, if it is hardware related check how everything is connected (do not touch with bare fingers, OK), could be a tracer about to crack..

polonus
« Last Edit: May 01, 2008, 11:55:18 PM by polonus »
Cybersecurity is more of an attitude than anything else. Avast Evangelists.

Use NoScript, a limited user account and a virtual machine and be safe(r)!

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: restarts
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2008, 12:57:45 AM »
I turned off auto restart, still no error.
I should have mentioned, even with auto restart off, it still restarts.
Are the fans working?

98se no problems.
Does Windows 98 have 'Events' recorded? I just don't remember...

How can we trace back the error and troubleshoot?
The best things in life are free.

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4143
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: restarts
« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2008, 05:29:27 AM »
Hi guys. This is my xp that I'm having problems with.   ;)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: restarts
« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2008, 02:00:53 PM »
Hi guys. This is my xp that I'm having problems with.   ;)
So, you've disable automatic restart, it restarts anyway and you've set to log this event and it doesn't?
The classical questions: any other antivirus before avast, which firewall...?
The best things in life are free.

Offline polonus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 32245
  • malware fighter
Re: restarts
« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2008, 02:47:11 PM »
Hi "oldman",

This must be hardware-related, because I cannot imagine you encountered Blaster there.
In that unlikely case for:

Windows XP

Select Start|Run and type
dcomcnfg.exe.
Select Console Root|Component services.
Open the Computers subfolder.
Right-click on My Computer|Properties.
Click the Default Properties tab.
Deselect 'Enable distributed COM', click Apply then click OK.
Restart the computer.
Set the options back to normal after applying relevant patches and IDEs.

pol
« Last Edit: May 02, 2008, 03:07:37 PM by polonus »
Cybersecurity is more of an attitude than anything else. Avast Evangelists.

Use NoScript, a limited user account and a virtual machine and be safe(r)!

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82692
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: restarts
« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2008, 02:59:03 PM »
Also doesn't Blaster give you a countdown to reboot anyway.

Black screen reboots are normally hardware (especially if the auto reboot is disabled) as I have said. Even though nothing has changed other than the HDD but things get old and can fail.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.1.2397 (build 20.1.5069.558) UI-1.0.460/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43087
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: restarts
« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2008, 03:42:21 PM »
Quote
Even though nothing has changed other than the HDD but things get old and can fail.
Something all of us old timers need to remember. (Just trying to add a little humor to a not so funny situation.)
David is however quite right.  :'(
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Marc57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1944
  • KISS Rules The World!!!
    • KISS Army
Re: restarts
« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2008, 05:29:59 PM »
One small thing, Make sure the power supply connector to the motherboard is seated firmly.

I worked on a computer a few months ago that had the same problem and it turned out that the connector was loose.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2008, 05:31:58 PM by marc57 »
You Wanted the Best You Got the Best the Hottest Band in the World KISS!!!

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4143
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: restarts
« Reply #11 on: May 02, 2008, 07:22:39 PM »
thanks for the replies guys.

Sasser was the first thing I looked for, no countdown screen. I'm on the same computer right now, with win98se. Wife was popoing with no problems.

The Hd is fairly new, in terms of use. It sat on my desk for a year. All that's on it is xp, True image and QT.

I checked the events log, nothing there related to this, just some info on different things statring.

I'm going to hook it up again, with some ram removed. Maybe xp is more fussy on ram type.

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4143
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: restarts
« Reply #12 on: May 03, 2008, 10:52:43 AM »
Quote
Even though nothing has changed other than the HDD but things get old and can fail.
Something all of us old timers need to remember. (Just trying to add a little humor to a not so funny situation.)
David is however quite right.  :'(

No problem bob3160. I try to keep things light when helping. Makes things go better. Actually it is kinda humorus. This all started with an internet problem, The ISP blamed my win 98se, so I put in the xp. Modem still craps out. So I guess I proved my point, not a problem on my end. But now xp has an issue. I think I'll go get an umbrella.  ::) or a drink....

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: restarts
« Reply #13 on: May 03, 2008, 02:06:29 PM »
Any hardware device is shown as not fully installed (with a ? into Devices manager)?
The best things in life are free.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43087
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: restarts
« Reply #14 on: May 03, 2008, 04:31:53 PM »
Quote
The ISP blamed my win 98se, so I put in the xp
Are you sure that this computer is actually capable of running XP ?
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq