Author Topic: restarts  (Read 12693 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4143
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: restarts
« Reply #30 on: May 05, 2008, 09:56:44 AM »
No good bob, can't boot from usb.

Tonight I tried something. Went on pogo for 4 hours. CPU stayed at 100% the entire time. So I started opening browsers and just for the fun of it, checked my mail. The lowest the resouces good was 32%, cpu was still at 100. That was while I was typing this. Pogo was still going on in the background.

If nothing else, I think I ruled out cpu, ram, psu and fans.

Thanks for the reply. If you think of anything else I can try, let me know. I just hate mysteries.

Oh yeah, avast even checked for an up date.

edit: this was with win98se

« Last Edit: May 05, 2008, 10:01:32 AM by oldman »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43102
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: restarts
« Reply #31 on: May 05, 2008, 05:03:54 PM »
I would resign myself to 98SE on that computer since it seems to rum well
and gives you nothing but problems when attempting to upgrade to XP.

How much memory do you have and what kind of graphics card are you using?
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4143
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: restarts
« Reply #32 on: May 05, 2008, 05:47:10 PM »
Hi bob

384mb and it's an ATI magnum. When I got it, it had xp 128mb and the video card. That's what's strange, it used to work with less ram.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43102
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: restarts
« Reply #33 on: May 05, 2008, 10:29:16 PM »
The specs are ok provided there isn't to much running at any one time.
Have you tried Everest or one of the other programs to give you a report of your system?
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4143
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: restarts
« Reply #34 on: October 24, 2008, 09:10:41 PM »
Well, I think I may have solved it. The wife forced me into it. She said I couldn't play with, not even take it out of the box, the new computer (got it in May) untill I put the other 2 back together.

To recap, so you don't have to go back to the begining. Xp runs fine on this computer, except it took a dislike to pogo. It would just shut down and restart. 98se, no problem.

So, since I'm not working right now, I figured it would be a good time to see what I could do.

Problem computer finally threw a BSOD error
0x0000009c (0x00000001) (0x8054d5s0) (0xb2000000) (0x00000115)
and I had to do it again to see if it would give the same error
0x0000009c (0x00000001) (0xf2000100) (0x00000800) (0x00000800)
not quite the same but same type. These point at ram or hardware, so you'd think it would happen regardless of OS.

Google wasn't much help, lot's of similar problems, game playing related, but no solution.

Memtest would stall at the same point with a Unexpected Intercept_Halting error. Same code each time. Both pieces of ram or just single piece.

Ran memtest on the ram in the Compaq (yes, it's going again, just needs it's hard drive). It was ok. So I put the ram from the problem computer into the compax, it was ok. At the same time I put the 133mhz 256 (compaq's other one is 100) from the compaq into the one with the problem, it stopped at the same point in memtest.  ???

Again, no solution on the net for the code.

A check with Intel's processor Id tool tells me this CPU is overclocked by 33%.   8) So the logical thing would be to back it off a bit.   ::) But knowing the computer ran xp on pogo with no problems before, instead I looked for something else.

My theory was xp made the cpu work harder than 98se. I was close. To carry on, it seems xp can listen to and act upon "commands" from the cpu, were as 98se can't. That explains the shutdowns with one OS and not the other.  :D

Solution, cleaned the cpu heatsink. Ran memtest, this time it made it to the end. Immediatley pogoed for half an hour while things were still "hot". It seemed fine.

To tie it all together, it seems the cpu was complaining about a heat problem that both xp and memtest would respond to but not 98se.

I tried Fanspeed, but it would only report the HD temp, but for others, with a newer system this program should help.

So if anyone has a similar problem, especially game playing this may help.

The wife can drive it around for awhile and we'll see.


edit ti add: btw, I left it overclocked.
« Last Edit: October 24, 2008, 09:17:08 PM by oldman »

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8788
Re: restarts
« Reply #35 on: October 24, 2008, 11:18:33 PM »
I like SpeedFan:
http://www.almico.com/speedfan.php
Quote
SpeedFan is a program that monitors voltages, fan speeds  and temperatures in computers with hardware monitor chips. SpeedFan can even access S.M.A.R.T. info and show hard disk temperatures
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4143
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: restarts
« Reply #36 on: October 25, 2008, 06:14:46 AM »
Yes it does all YoKenny says. I should have phrased it a bit better. In my case it would only report the HD temp.

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3867
  • Just an avast user
Re: restarts
« Reply #37 on: October 25, 2008, 06:22:30 AM »
In my 2 year old Dell system it reports only my 2 internal HD temperatures.  No different from other products.  Why should I be impressed or grateful?
« Last Edit: October 25, 2008, 06:32:25 AM by alanrf »

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4143
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: restarts
« Reply #38 on: October 25, 2008, 09:39:03 AM »
Hmm.. you'd think a system that new would have the onboard sensors. Anyway this is where I got the lead on the program. There a screenshots.

http://forums.whatthetech.com/Computer_shuts_down_t95690.html

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4143
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: restarts
« Reply #39 on: October 25, 2008, 06:46:07 PM »
Okay. A 2 hour and a 3.5 hour stint on pogo, cpu was at 100% most of the time. No problems. I'd like to thank everyone who commented on this. The answer was way back on page 1. I just didn'e see it.

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8788
Re: restarts
« Reply #40 on: October 25, 2008, 06:56:59 PM »
Okay. A 2 hour and a 3.5 hour stint on pogo, cpu was at 100% most of the time. No problems. I'd like to thank everyone who commented on this. The answer was way back on page 1. I just didn'e see it.
What Reply # was that?

Over time the Silicone thermal compound dries out and it helps to replace it:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thermal_grease

It can be purchased at a PC repair shop for about $1.00 for a small tube.

I always replace it on older systems when I am cleaning them.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2008, 07:04:27 PM by YoKenny »
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4143
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: restarts
« Reply #41 on: October 25, 2008, 09:07:52 PM »
Quote
What Reply # was that?
DavidR's first reply, Reply #2

Quote
You could also try one of the RAM testers as that could have the dual purpose of also being cpu intensive and see if the heat rises, etc.
and http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=35176.msg296085#msg296085

It was a matter of putting it all together, without actually being able to record the temp.

BTW darth_mikey did suggest Fanspeed, I didn't see that before.