Author Topic: Does Avast Block Game Ports  (Read 15419 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

DragonComplex

  • Guest
Does Avast Block Game Ports
« on: May 08, 2008, 03:34:29 AM »
Yesterday i was playing a game called WarCraft3. there are 2 parts it needs in order for u to host an internet game TCP 6112-6119 the next day i started up my computer did a few scans check for any virus or stuff and then i tried to host an internet game on Warcraft3 and no one was joining it it had stopped working was not working

so does Avast block any ports because all of a sudden no one is joining my games and the ports are correctly forwarded.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: Does Avast Block Game Ports
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2008, 02:32:12 PM »
Will this thread help?
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=34347.0
Sorry, it's a quite big (long) one.
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86671
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Does Avast Block Game Ports
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2008, 02:38:00 PM »
avast isn't a firewall so doesn't block ports, if those ports are using http protocol over port 80 then the web shield would scan it, other than that it wouldn't be scanned.

If the ports used are commonly used as exploit (DCOM, etc.) entry points for viruses/worms (but those given don't appear to be) then the network shield might monitor those ports, but again it is scanning not blocking.

What is your firewall?
What other security based software do you have installed ?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

DragonComplex

  • Guest
Re: Does Avast Block Game Ports
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2008, 10:13:22 PM »
I have (Avast!) (Spybot S&D) (Lavasoft: Ad-Aware 2007) and (Windows Defender)

but even with those programs i was still hosting games fine until i did a virus scan (found nothing btw.) and it just stoped working i also did a scan with Spybot but nothing found and that is all
« Last Edit: May 08, 2008, 10:18:05 PM by DragonComplex »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: Does Avast Block Game Ports
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2008, 10:31:28 PM »
it just stoped working
What? The game?
Isn't it a problem with the game itself?
Do you use any firewall?
If you disable avast, does the problem persist?
The best things in life are free.

DragonComplex

  • Guest
Re: Does Avast Block Game Ports
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2008, 11:26:25 PM »
The game is called "Warcraft3: Reign of chaos" there are plenty of people hosting games online and people join to play. In order to host a game you need to forward port 6112 TCP (Port range is 6112-6119)

and for some reason i cant host games anymore right after i did a scan on my computer just to see if everything was running ok and now i cant host anymore its like something is blocking my ports.

I tryed to disable everything i had firewalls anti-virus programs all that stuff and still nothing.
« Last Edit: May 08, 2008, 11:32:49 PM by DragonComplex »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: Does Avast Block Game Ports
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2008, 11:32:13 PM »
Well, David already said...

avast isn't a firewall so doesn't block ports

But you're not answering us which firewall do you use?
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86671
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Does Avast Block Game Ports
« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2008, 11:41:52 PM »
Try a forum search for something like "host game port" without the quotes and see what comes up, I believe this has cropped up before and I can't recall the resolution.

Are you getting any error messages ?

Is there anything in your firewall logs (you still haven't said which you are using) blocking inbound ports in the range you gave ?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

DragonComplex

  • Guest
Re: Does Avast Block Game Ports
« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2008, 11:50:33 PM »
I dont know i just use the Windows firewall i guess but its not the firewall i know that for a fact!

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86671
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Does Avast Block Game Ports
« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2008, 11:58:10 PM »
Vista has a firewall in the same way as XP had however, the vista firewall has outbound protection, but it is disabled by default. So it probably isn't responsible for blocking, but again we need confirmation.

Whatever you do you need to make a decision which resident AV to keep and uninstall the other as this 'could' be the cause of the conflict.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security