Author Topic: problems with avast home 4.1  (Read 3003 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ingenuo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
problems with avast home 4.1
« on: March 25, 2004, 04:31:03 PM »
I´ve installed avast 4.1 home but i have 2 problems :-\:

1º) the resident protection has some kind of problem or something like that, because when the os (win98) is loaded and everything is working fine, the resident protection icon (the blue "a") does not appear but the files "ashserv.exe" and "ashmaisv.exe" are loaded (i´ve checked this with TC Active! that comes with The Cleaner) so it doesn´t scan the e-mails it saids "X-Antivirus-Status: Not-Tested" in the properties of the mails.
But then magically and i have no idea why after like 20 min the blue icon appears and the resident protection activates and then it scan the e-mails ???

2º) It changes my connection with internet (i use a 56k modem), and set it to "No marcar nunca una conexion" ("Never dial a conection") so when i open IE or Outlook i have to change the properties of the connection every time i start the pc.
I did everything to change this that i´ve found but nothing worked. I checked the option that says i use a dial-up connection and in avast4.ini
[InetWD]
UseRAS=1
AssumeAlwaysConnected=0
but nothing change.
Is there any solution?

 ;D ;D ;D 8) ;D ;D ;D

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31302
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:problems with avast home 4.1
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2004, 04:48:09 PM »
Remove Avast, reboot and reinstall. Make sure only Avast, firewall( if you have any) and the things realy needed to use the system are loaded at boot time.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:problems with avast home 4.1
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2004, 12:25:50 AM »
Before you try what artras said, could you test this:

1. Right-Click the 'a' blue icon in the system tray.
2. Run avast! antivirus.
3. Right-Click the skin and choose Settings.
4. Go to Update (Advanced) tab.
5. Select the way you connect the Internet (dial up or DSL).
6. Go to your browser and configure 'Never dial a conection' or 'Use the default connection' or anything you want.
7. Boot.

Must work  :-\
The best things in life are free.

Offline Ingenuo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re:problems with avast home 4.1
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2004, 04:24:14 AM »
I did what you told me both and now i dont have the connection problem but my biggest problem is the first one because a lot of times i just use the pc to check my e-mails but i can´t wait 20 min until avast gets activated.




 ;D ;D ;D  8) ??? 8) ;D ;D ;D

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:problems with avast home 4.1
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2004, 01:12:17 PM »
I did what you told me both and now i dont have the connection problem but my biggest problem is the first one because a lot of times i just use the pc to check my e-mails but i can´t wait 20 min until avast gets activated.

You mean 20 minutes ?!?  ::) :o
At least it must be only 20 seconds  :-\

Did you try uninstalling and installing again?
Maybe if you run scandisk and a defragmentation utiliy we can see if is there any trouble in your file system...
The best things in life are free.