Author Topic: Avast! version 4.8 Professional  (Read 3830 times)

Stewart Fluney

Avast! version 4.8 Professional
« on: May 25, 2008, 04:46:27 PM »
I'm new to your program and brand new to your forum and would appreciate your co-operation, advice and indulgence in answering the following questions:

1.  After running Avast!, I took the recommended advice and isolated the two infected files.  May I presume the system doesn't require them and I can  remove completely?  They are:   
(1) A0053961.exe, location - C:\System Volume Information\_restore, Virus - Win 32: Adware-g...
(2) kmd133_en.exe, location - C:\Program Files\KaZaA\My Shared Folder, Virus - Win 32: Adware-g...

2.  Can I run Avast! in the Normal and Thorough scan modes instead of just "Quick" scan?  How do I do this?  I cannot see or find a place to enable!

3.  I have only scanned the Hard Drive.  Need I do CDs as well?

4.  How ofter should I scan the Hard Drive?

I have a Dell Dimension 4100 Desktop computer with Windows XP Home Edition operating system, Service
Pack 2, Pentium 111 processor with 930 MHZ, 20 GB Hard Drive and 512 MB of RAM.  The file system is FAT 32.   

I would be grateful for your response.  Many thanks.

Stewart Fluney   

sanctuaryforever

Re: Avast! version 4.8 Professional
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2008, 04:51:53 PM »
When files are quarantined (sent to chest) they are isolated there is no need to hastily delete them, this allows for further analysis before you take any action (in some cases there can be false positives so you should always err on the side of caution)

2. There is a slider within the scan function that allows you to adjust the scan strength, this detailed in the Avast help file

3. No need to scan them unless you use them regularly plus even if the files were infected your resident protection would pick them up

4. I would suggest every 2-4 weeks or whenever you suspect your system maybe behaving strangely