Author Topic: Avast and Windows XP SP3  (Read 9545 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline polonus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 24628
  • malware fighter
Avast and Windows XP SP3
« on: June 07, 2008, 12:06:27 AM »
Hi malware fighters,

I can say that Avast runs smoothly on Windows XP with SP3 installed.
I just like to report that there were no hick-ups for me.
What are our other users' experiences with Avast in combination with Service Pack 3?

polonus
Cybersecurity is more of an attitude than anything else. Avast Evangelists.

Use NoScript, a limited user account and a virtual machine and be safe(r)!

crofty59

  • Guest
Re: Avast and Windows XP SP3
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2008, 08:14:36 AM »
Hi polonus

I was nervous about updating to SP3, bit the bullet and installed it and same as you no problems.

Cheers

Offline roro

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 437
Re: Avast and Windows XP SP3
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2008, 09:10:59 AM »
No Problems here either. ;D ;D ;D ;D
I also uninstalled Trend Micro through the Control Panel and installed Avast in my new Vista machine.  Both went without a hitch.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2008, 09:12:40 AM by roro »
2003 Win XP SP3, Pent4 2.4 GHz, OE, 1 GB RAM, 80GB HD, comodo firewall
2008 Windows 7 32 bit, 1,8 GHZ, 4 GB RAM,,Windows Defender, windows firewall
(all Machines Avast 8.01483, MBAM, SAS, Firefox 20.01 and IE 8

Offline kakapo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 200
  • Llamas are cool
Re: Avast and Windows XP SP3
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2008, 02:41:14 PM »
No problems here either altho' I've only updated the PC at this stage, a 64bit dual core running XP Pro. It took around 5 hours on our dial up though!

I'll let you know how it goes with the laptops.

Happy days to all
k.
All that it takes for the triumph of evil is for Good Men to do Nothing.


Offline gdiloren

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 1180
Re: Avast and Windows XP SP3
« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2008, 07:11:07 PM »
Avast has no problem either on WIN XP SP3 or Vista:it just is fantastic!!! ;D
Avast protects well!!!

Offline MikeBCda

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2216
Re: Avast and Windows XP SP3
« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2008, 07:11:42 PM »
Fine here, on XP home.  Actually went smoother than the avast upgrade to 4.8, which is unusual.
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 39.0  (default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 2015.10.3.2223 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem.,Crypto-Prevent

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 65982
Re: Avast and Windows XP SP3
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2008, 07:35:48 PM »
Two computers, XP SP3 + avast, no problems.
Oh, there is a problem... I've get infected in one of them. Still not good the avast detection rate... Kaspersky and BitDefender on-line detected the infection...
The best things in life are free.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 28139
  • 55 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast and Windows XP SP3
« Reply #7 on: June 07, 2008, 07:41:55 PM »
I've been using SP3 since beta days and haven't had any problems.  :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://www.authorstream.com/Presentation/bob3160-1425909-protecting-yourself/    -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/
My Blog: http://bob3160.blogspot.com/ - Win 8.1 Pro 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, avast!2015.10.2.2218 Free, MBAM, WinPatrol -- How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXde

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3866
  • Just an avast user
Re: Avast and Windows XP SP3
« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2008, 05:55:59 AM »
Just to keep in step ... both my XP Pro systems are on SP3 (and running with avast) and I have yet to encounter any issues with SP3.

Offline CharleyO

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7100
  • Be alert for error code - ID 10T
Re: Avast and Windows XP SP3
« Reply #9 on: June 08, 2008, 09:41:47 AM »
***

I've been using SP3 since beta days and haven't had any problems.  :)

I have the same experience ... no problems what so ever.   :)


***
Self-built desktop (8 years old) - AMD64 3200+_Gigabyte GA-K8NS Ultra-939_4 gb RAM_GeForceFX 5800w/256 ram_XP/SP3_Avast 7_MBAM_ZA Free __and__ Toshiba Satellite Laptop_W7-64bit_ 4 gb Ram_Avast 8_MBAM

Offline Rafel

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 385
  • Lluitador sense resposta
Re: Avast and Windows XP SP3
« Reply #10 on: June 08, 2008, 02:25:02 PM »
No problems here. Very smooth

Jahn

  • Guest
Re: Avast and Windows XP SP3
« Reply #11 on: June 09, 2008, 12:29:09 AM »
All is well here on Home. :)

Offline DaleRR

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Avast and Windows XP SP3
« Reply #12 on: June 22, 2008, 06:07:14 PM »
Tried twice to install SP3 with Norton but gave up restoring my computer to SP2. 

Deleted Norton(after I had paid for it for next year) and installed(paid for one year) Avast Pro. 

Now I am ready to try converting from SP2 to SP3. 

Anything I should do(for example "Stop On-Access Protection") with Avast before installing SP3?    Thanks for the help.   Dale

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 28139
  • 55 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast and Windows XP SP3
« Reply #13 on: June 22, 2008, 06:50:37 PM »
Quote
Anything I should do(for example "Stop On-Access Protection") with Avast before installing SP3?
Provided you trust the download source where you obtained SP3, disabling on-access-protection will speed up
your installation.


Hopefully prior to switching over from Norton, you used their removal tool to fully uninstall their program.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://www.authorstream.com/Presentation/bob3160-1425909-protecting-yourself/    -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/
My Blog: http://bob3160.blogspot.com/ - Win 8.1 Pro 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, avast!2015.10.2.2218 Free, MBAM, WinPatrol -- How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXde

Offline rdmaloyjr

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1864
  • The beatings will continue until morale improves!
    • The Cross
Re: Avast and Windows XP SP3
« Reply #14 on: June 22, 2008, 07:11:33 PM »
Quote
Hopefully prior to switching over from Norton, you used their removal tool to fully uninstall their program.

http://www.majorgeeks.com/Norton_Removal_Tool_SymNRT_d4749.html
"If you want to make a Conservative angry, tell him a lie. If you want to make a Liberal angry, tell him the truth." - Rush Limbaugh

avast! Free    Mbam Pro   Privatefirewll  WinPatrol Plus               Pentium Dual-Core  Windows 7 64bit SP1  8 gigs of RAM