Author Topic: Outlook 2007 - No signature  (Read 2999 times)

UncleJohnsBand

Outlook 2007 - No signature
« on: June 07, 2008, 04:59:12 PM »
I am new to Avast....moving from AVG.  I am not seeing any Avast signature in my outgoing e-mails in Outlook 2007.  I have searched the forum and nothing seems to help me.

When Outlook 2007 starts up I see the pop-up for Avast Outlook/Exchange plug-in window appear.  If I look in tools/trust center/add-ins there is no Avast info in the com-plugins....there is an Avast 4 in the Exchange Client area and it is checked and there is nothing in the disabled add-ins.

Looking at many posts it tells me to look in the add-ins to make sure that the ashoutxt.dll is loaded....if I try to load this as an add-in Outlook 2007 indicates it is not a valid add-in.

I found the ashpopwz.exe file so I thought I would try that...it indicates not need to run since I am already protected.

I am assuming since I see the pop-up when outlook starts I am protected....incoming and outgoing.....is this a good assumption?

I would really like to have my outgoing e-mail stamped with a signature about the virus scanner....it is important to people I correspond with.

I have a mix of pop and IMAP accounts on my PC.  I am also running the MS Office Outlook Connector add-in that connects me to my Office Live e-mail.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

UJB

Windows XP SP2 (32 bit)
1 GB Ram
AMD Athlon 64 3200+

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Outlook 2007 - No signature
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2008, 05:30:05 PM »
The ashpopwz.exe is for setting up pop3 email clients under win9x and winME so as it rightly siad it isn't needed.