Author Topic: ashserv CPU burst  (Read 6046 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline robust

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
ashserv CPU burst
« on: July 17, 2008, 10:19:41 AM »
avast 4.8 Home
winxp pro sp2

Symptoms:
usually happens at 12am - 1am
ashserv.exe occupies 99% of CPU resource,
which is severe enough to cause the screen fails to update (even only using PC for typing or web page scrolling)

Depending on what program I'm using, the symptoms can last from a few seconds to many minutes ( I hard rebooted)

Possible active component: standard shield,
Other components have no change in scan count

I've read a bit from here
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=35172.0

And I've updated to 4.8 for a few weeks because of similar symptoms in older version
But it seems to happen again.

The problem is quite annoying...
Is there a way to alter its priority?
Task Manager won't work. I am using process tamer but still expericencing the symptoms from time to time.

Offline olddog

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 566
Re: ashserv CPU burst
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2008, 10:30:03 AM »
What software do you have on your PC that is set to auto update? :)
3.4Ghz Intel i7, 8Gb Ram, GeForce GTX560, Win 7 Pro 64 bit, Dual 1920x1080 monitors, Avast 2014, Firefox 26, Malwarebytes Pro, Paragon 14

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: ashserv CPU burst
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2008, 09:17:07 PM »
Are you using the trial version? Or Pro?
The best things in life are free.

Offline robust

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: ashserv CPU burst
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2008, 05:46:05 AM »
Hi, I'm using the trial version.
I do have Windows autoupdate but I think it was not active during that time.
It'd notify me normally to download anything.

ashserv remains high even I stopped the online protection all together and added some exclusion folders which I thought it may be scanning (but safe).
« Last Edit: July 23, 2008, 06:02:36 AM by robust »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: ashserv CPU burst
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2008, 04:59:08 PM »
Is there any scanning scheduled to run at that time?
You can check into Sessions if anything is running at that time...
The best things in life are free.