Author Topic: Web Shield blocks internet inbound, intermittently.  (Read 22064 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: Web Shield blocks internet inbound, intermittently.
« Reply #15 on: August 07, 2008, 10:29:45 PM »
From the last few posts, QED (if you know what that means) relative to my last post.
"Quod Erat Demonstrandum" (literally, "that which was to be demonstrated").
I think we don't have to demonstrate anything... the facts, your computer, is showing that... I mean, that disable is not enough...
The best things in life are free.

Offline Killingen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Web Shield blocks internet inbound, intermittently.
« Reply #16 on: August 08, 2008, 10:36:49 AM »
Great, now I have a new problem. I cant find the button uninstall -.-  and when I go to find the files in my drive, it says I need permission to delete them -.-  I so hate computers sometimes...  EDIT: I found it! Yay me! I found out stuff! >.<

Anyway, I found out that if I disable the webshield, I can use Internet Explorer.
So, my next question is, what does webshield do? Does it completely stop checking of viruses coming in from the web, or something else?
« Last Edit: August 08, 2008, 10:53:07 AM by Killingen »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: Web Shield blocks internet inbound, intermittently.
« Reply #17 on: August 08, 2008, 03:17:15 PM »
So, my next question is, what does webshield do? Does it completely stop checking of viruses coming in from the web, or something else?
Yes, it scans the Internet traffic (http) before any file is saved in your computer.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Killingen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Web Shield blocks internet inbound, intermittently.
« Reply #18 on: August 08, 2008, 11:12:22 PM »
So, not having it running is kinda a bad idea, unless you have it do a scan everytime you shut down the system, no? (just trying to get an idea of what is really going on. The build-in help thingy isn't making much sense to me ^^")

Offline shavkat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Web Shield blocks internet inbound, intermittently.
« Reply #19 on: August 28, 2008, 10:47:07 PM »
Hi
I have the same problem, and I did what was suggested by Tech. I noticed that the web shield blocks all www addresses, and it partially allows local addresses. I.e. I was able to open my router's web interface (192.168.1.1), but JS didn't function in it...
After all suggested manipulations I have AshWebSv.ws empty and AshWebSv.log contains following:

29.08.2008 0:21:17,"http://www.google.com/search?q=avast+web+shield+blocks+all+connections&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a","text/html; charset=UTF-8","GET",HTTP Status: 302,0,357,664,920,920,666,\Device\HarddiskVolume1\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox 3\firefox.exe,PID: 4836,CON: 127.0.0.1:12080->127.0.0.1:1164 <--> 192.168.1.33:1165->74.125.39.103:80,SEQ: 1
29.08.2008 0:21:23,"http://yandex.ru/","text/html; charset=iso-8859-1","GET",HTTP Status: 301,0,237,506,722,722,508,\Device\HarddiskVolume1\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox 3\firefox.exe,PID: 4836,CON: 127.0.0.1:12080->127.0.0.1:1166 <--> 192.168.1.33:1167->213.180.204.11:80,SEQ: 1
29.08.2008 0:21:23,"http://www.yandex.ru/","text/html; charset=windows-1251","GET",HTTP Status: 200,0,10774,11167,726,726,11169,\Device\HarddiskVolume1\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox 3\firefox.exe,PID: 4836,CON: 127.0.0.1:12080->127.0.0.1:1168 <--> 192.168.1.33:1169->93.158.134.3:80,SEQ: 1
29.08.2008 0:21:28,"http://192.168.1.1/","","GET",HTTP Status: 302,0,196,378,404,404,357,\Device\HarddiskVolume1\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox 3\firefox.exe,PID: 4836,CON: 127.0.0.1:12080->127.0.0.1:1170 <--> 192.168.1.33:1171->192.168.1.1:80,SEQ: 1
29.08.2008 0:21:28,"http://192.168.1.1/home.asp","text/html","GET",HTTP Status: 200,0,562,701,412,412,703,\Device\HarddiskVolume1\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox 3\firefox.exe,PID: 4836,CON: 127.0.0.1:12080->127.0.0.1:1172 <--> 192.168.1.33:1173->192.168.1.1:80,SEQ: 1
29.08.2008 0:21:28,"http://192.168.1.1/rpPanel.asp","text/html","GET",HTTP Status: 200,0,5146,5285,453,453,5287,\Device\HarddiskVolume1\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox 3\firefox.exe,PID: 4836,CON: 127.0.0.1:12080->127.0.0.1:1174 <--> 192.168.1.33:1176->192.168.1.1:80,SEQ: 1
29.08.2008 0:21:28,"http://192.168.1.1/status.asp","text/html","GET",HTTP Status: 200,0,10041,10180,452,452,10182,\Device\HarddiskVolume1\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox 3\firefox.exe,PID: 4836,CON: 127.0.0.1:12080->127.0.0.1:1175 <--> 192.168.1.33:1177->192.168.1.1:80,SEQ: 1
29.08.2008 0:22:23,"http://www.google.com/search?q=avast+web+shield+blocks+all+connections&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a","text/html; charset=UTF-8","GET",HTTP Status: 302,0,357,1328,1840,1840,1332,\Device\HarddiskVolume1\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox 3\firefox.exe,PID: 4836,CON: 127.0.0.1:12080->127.0.0.1:1164 <--> 192.168.1.33:1165->74.125.39.103:80,SEQ: 1

I'm using AVAST for several years now, and this is the first time such a disaster has happened...  :(