Author Topic: Trying to reach Mcafee on Firefox  (Read 14072 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Trying to reach Mcafee on Firefox
« Reply #15 on: August 15, 2008, 05:37:00 PM »
Finjan does not detect almost anything, I try to webs xxx , cracks, and green mark, it is rare, scandoo and siteadvior detected more quantity ... I believe it is not very effective ...
Thanks for posting your experience. I'm using WOT but I'm not able to compare the effectiveness with other web scanners.
The best things in life are free.

gdiloren

  • Guest
Re: Trying to reach Mcafee on Firefox
« Reply #16 on: August 15, 2008, 11:10:49 PM »
Matter of fact, I'm totally lost with McAfee SiteAdvisor extension! It sometimes appears in my searchs, sometimes not (when it is most needed!!) and on my user account browser FF it won'y simply install!! It's a pity!!! :'(

avast08

  • Guest
Re: Trying to reach Mcafee on Firefox
« Reply #17 on: August 15, 2008, 11:58:31 PM »
a question: Is that the best anti-virus detected almost 500000 viruses, they are created 5475000 per year? ..
that would be infected constantly ...

gdiloren

  • Guest
Re: Trying to reach Mcafee on Firefox
« Reply #18 on: August 16, 2008, 02:37:13 AM »
a question: Is that the best anti-virus detected almost 500000 viruses, they are created 5475000 per year? ..
that would be infected constantly ...
Give a reference we can verify to your data, link or something. ;D

Offline polonus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 33437
  • malware fighter
Re: Trying to reach Mcafee on Firefox
« Reply #19 on: August 16, 2008, 02:50:23 AM »
Hi gdiloren,

A av-engine can only hold a specific amount of detection, this could be a problem because a dropped older and "revamped" virus could form a new threat.

pol
Cybersecurity is more of an attitude than anything else. Avast Evangelists.

Use NoScript, a limited user account and a virtual machine and be safe(r)!

gdiloren

  • Guest
Re: Trying to reach Mcafee on Firefox
« Reply #20 on: August 16, 2008, 04:29:04 AM »
So, the only way is still to use Sandboxie or keep a serious watch where we surf...! ::)
Is Sandboxie truly 100% malware infection proof after all. It's hard to believe someone would not pierce the mystery on how to break down Sandboxie to infect Sandboxie protected pcs one day or the other. :(
« Last Edit: August 16, 2008, 04:32:16 AM by gdiloren »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86124
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Trying to reach Mcafee on Firefox
« Reply #21 on: August 16, 2008, 03:32:29 PM »
There is no such thing as 100% when it comes to security. There are I believe some malware variants that avoid the sandbox so it isn't a 100% guarantee.

If you totally isolate the sandbox, no saved browser cache (not very good on dial-up) favourites, etc. and not save anything back to the non-sandbox area when you close it, then it would contribute greatly to your overall security, but nothing is 100%.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.11.2500 (build 21.11.6809.528) UI 1.0.683/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

gdiloren

  • Guest
Re: Trying to reach Mcafee on Firefox
« Reply #22 on: August 16, 2008, 04:02:51 PM »
I agree! I see! :D

gdiloren

  • Guest
Re: Trying to reach Mcafee on Firefox
« Reply #23 on: August 16, 2008, 05:28:29 PM »
Finjan has also FP. It is now flagging red the searchs about the web site of a Canadian newspaper, The Globe and mail, on GOOGLE,  while WOT says it's OK. This is annoying. I also scanned the URL with Dr. Web Link Checker and it says CLEAN there! :o

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Trying to reach Mcafee on Firefox
« Reply #24 on: August 16, 2008, 05:41:57 PM »
I'm using WOT but I'm not able to compare the effectiveness with other web scanners.
Seems that the experience is going toward WOT against other web scanners ::)
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86124
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Trying to reach Mcafee on Firefox
« Reply #25 on: August 16, 2008, 06:21:09 PM »
I like WOT because it isn't a pain when you are on a dial-up connection, it just seems lighter on my pathetic bandwidth.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.11.2500 (build 21.11.6809.528) UI 1.0.683/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

gdiloren

  • Guest
Re: Trying to reach Mcafee on Firefox
« Reply #26 on: August 16, 2008, 09:40:29 PM »
Caution must be used with those link scanners results in BOTH ways. Use your judgment.  ;D They can break your surfing pleasure for nothing or make you download malware while telling you it's safe. There is no safe  heaven for us on Earth, web surfers! :P

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46565
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Trying to reach Mcafee on Firefox
« Reply #27 on: August 16, 2008, 09:44:00 PM »
There is no such thing as 100% when it comes to security. There are I believe some malware variants that avoid the sandbox so it isn't a 100% guarantee.

If you totally isolate the sandbox, no saved browser cache (not very good on dial-up) favourites, etc. and not save anything back to the non-sandbox area when you close it, then it would contribute greatly to your overall security, but nothing is 100%.
At our Senior Center I use a program called Deep Freeze For Windows
Since the computers used there are public access and we place now browser restrictions on their use,
this is the only way to make absolutely sure the systems never remain infected.
Once rebooted, they always return to a clean, un-infected state.

Granted, the average user can't save any information for future use but, that's a small price to pay for your guaranteed system integrity.  :)
« Last Edit: August 16, 2008, 09:47:21 PM by bob3160 »
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast One 21.11, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Trying to reach Mcafee on Firefox
« Reply #28 on: August 16, 2008, 09:48:03 PM »
At our Senior Center I use a program called Deep Freeze For Windows
Other options for free are Windows SteadyState and Returnil.
The best things in life are free.

gdiloren

  • Guest
Re: Trying to reach Mcafee on Firefox
« Reply #29 on: August 16, 2008, 10:13:46 PM »
At our Senior Center I use a program called Deep Freeze For Windows
Other options for free are Windows SteadyState and Returnil.
Fact is I fear it will be living HELL for me:I spent most of my time on internet updatiing and upgrading my various security softwares (AVAST HOME, Malwarebyte, SB, Asquare antimalware, Windows Update, WD, SAS, ST). But I'll study the matter. ;D