Author Topic: Newbie wants some assurance  (Read 3715 times)

sydac

Newbie wants some assurance
« on: August 07, 2008, 05:20:48 AM »
I am not a techie, I just want to work on my computer and make money. I was using AVG 8 and hate it. I decided to google free antivirus and came up with Avast.

Have downloaded it and scanned. I have done the basic things to get it to work but don't want to do a whole lot of technical stuff.

My question is, after looking at the forum and not understanding much:

Can I safely rely on Avast to scan my computer, find what it needs to find, let it do its work, remove, identify, vault, etc., etc. without having to know a whole lot as most of you seem to be very savvy on this program.

Like I said, I just want something to protect my machine.

I use Spybot, Ad-Aware, Windows Defender and AVG8 which I am thinking of deleting although if it is safe to keep it on I will do so. I use Windows XP, Word 2003 and various other programs to do my work. I have had problems with slowness but upgraded my computer for more memory which helped a lot.

Any answers would be greatly appreciated.

sydac

Libra

Re: Newbie wants some assurance
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2008, 06:37:27 AM »
Hi Sydac,
  Avast was recommended very highly to me and I've been using it for three months now, and I like it.
  You mentioned that you are running Avast along with AVG 8.  It's not good to run two antiviruses at the same time.  (they can fight eachother and impair their ability to catch viruses)
  I have the feeling that you probably would be better off to remove both and then reinstall Avast.  Don't delete any program, you usually use add/remove.
  AVG has always used it's installation .exe to remove the program.  I would check with their forum to see if there are any special steps in view of the additional features of AVG.