Author Topic: move to the chest and delete  (Read 4023 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

XINLAI-A

  • Guest
move to the chest and delete
« on: August 16, 2008, 05:42:53 PM »
Hello, Tech,

I still have a qustion why we should move the virus in the chest first before deleting it when there's a virus detected, although I find one answer here-http://discussions.virtualdr.com/showthread.php?t=231675

I was wondering if you could account it for me in the more detailed way.  The answer I found tells me that moving it to the chest would be the choice if there's any possibility that it's a false positive.  But I sill do not get it, if it is fasle positive, then I delete it, is there something wrong with it?  What is gonna happen?

Thanks for your help.

 ;D

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67198
Re: move to the chest and delete
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2008, 05:46:46 PM »
But I sill do not get it, if it is fasle positive, then I delete it, is there something wrong with it?  What is gonna happen?
False positive is a CLEAN file that is missdetected as being infected.
You're deleting a CLEAN file if you do not send it to Chest.
Chest allow further investigation, restore, scan again, etc. There is no rush to delete a file sent to Chest. Chest (quarantine) is the wiser decision.
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 88759
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: move to the chest and delete
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2008, 06:26:49 PM »
It is simply best practice to send to the chest - Deletion isn't really a good first option (you have none left), 'first do no harm' don't delete, send virus to the chest and investigate.

There is no rush to delete anything from the chest, a protected area where it can do no harm. Anything that you send to the chest you should leave there for a few weeks. If after that time you have suffered no adverse effects from moving these to the chest, scan them again (inside the chest) and if they are still detected as viruses, delete them.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.1.6099 (build 24.1.8821.762) UI 1.0.796/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

wyrmrider

  • Guest
Re: move to the chest and delete
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2008, 08:22:16 PM »
Hey- if it's a FP and it might just be a file you NEED
and you DELETE it...
OOPS

XINLAI-A

  • Guest
Re: move to the chest and delete
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2008, 05:03:32 PM »
It is simply best practice to send to the chest - Deletion isn't really a good first option (you have none left), 'first do no harm' don't delete, send virus to the chest and investigate.



Hello, DavidR,

Thank you, your reply is pretty clear to me.

Then I have a another question.  In the chest, there's "Infected files",  and "User files", "System files",  and then I find three files in the "System files", which are "kernel32.dll", "winsock.dll", "wsock32.dll",  what are they? I mean, these three files also belong to "Infected files",  I should delete them after all ?

Thanks for your help.

 ;D

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 88759
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: move to the chest and delete
« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2008, 05:10:01 PM »
They are backup copies of important system files (used by avast) should the original file become infected, leave them alone.

The Infected Files section is self explanatory.

The User Files section allows a user to import suspect files (where they can do no harm) that avast doesn't detect. From here they can be sent for analysis.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.1.6099 (build 24.1.8821.762) UI 1.0.796/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

XINLAI-A

  • Guest
Re: move to the chest and delete
« Reply #6 on: August 19, 2008, 09:39:57 AM »
They are backup copies of important system files (used by avast) should the original file become infected, leave them alone.

The Infected Files section is self explanatory.

The User Files section allows a user to import suspect files (where they can do no harm) that avast doesn't detect. From here they can be sent for analysis.


Thank you, DavidR.   :)

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 88759
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: move to the chest and delete
« Reply #7 on: August 19, 2008, 03:35:02 PM »
You're welcome.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.1.6099 (build 24.1.8821.762) UI 1.0.796/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security